Author Topic: Internet Dating, A.K.A. How to Scar Yourself Forever

D-Rider

• Former God of RPGFan
  • Rainbow Club Member
  • Giant Paraplegic Cock
    • View Profile
Internet Dating, A.K.A. How to Scar Yourself Forever
« on: July 29, 2011, 11:21:07 PM »
Greetings, bitches.  I know it's been a fucking age since I made a topic, but if I don't vent somewhere then I might explode.  Whether I explode out of laughter or horror is still up in the air.

Maybe I've just been lucky all this time.  I've been doing this internet socializing thing for damn near ten years now, much of it right here on these boards.  I met some of my favorite people in the world right here at RPGFan, many of whom I still maintain contact with even though I've stopped posting here regularly.  Even talked to a couple of them on the phone, and they were normal, when I was secretly expecting the worse. :P  It built up a lot of faith in me, faith that the internet can be used for something more heartfelt than just shopping or as some sort of information dump.

That faith is all but gone.

To make a really long story short, I recently decided to dabble in internet dating.  When you work odd hours like I do AND have the misfortune of living way the fuck out in the woods and away from anything remotely resembling a social scene, you don't have as many dating options as someone in an urban setting.  So I went to a popular dating site (which will remain nameless, because I don't want your fuckers seeing my profile. :P) and prostituted myself out like those places tend to make you do.  About a month after I did this, I started getting messages from someone who lived relatively close to me.  We got to sending private messages back and forth to one another about baking of all things, which in turn led to emails, which in turn led to instant messaging sessions which in turn lead to tonight:  the phone call.

My God.