Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 25, 2014, 12:27:58 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
RPGFan Community Quiz!
Persona 3 FES Quiz is now OVER!
Winner was user: Monsoon!
334794 Posts in 13711 Topics by 2200 Members
Latest Member: Rgeneb1
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  RPGFan Message Boards
|-+  The Rest
| |-+  The Helper Monkey
| | |-+  Wii issues
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Wii issues  (Read 2843 times)
GrimReality
Dark Lord of Nostalgia
Posts: 2851


OK, options aren't SO bad

Member
*


View Profile

Ignore
« on: December 26, 2011, 01:41:40 PM »

Alright, so my son was playing Twilight Princess, gamecube version, on the Wii and the screen kept flashing on and off. At first I thought it was my Tv(Samsung HDtv), but it works just fine when the Wii isn't on. Then I thought it was some weird compatibility issue with the Wii playing gamecube games. Or even just Twilight Princess. I guessed wrong, as right after I started up Skyward Sword last night, the screen started flashing again. Now I'm wondering if there is something wrong with my Wii(insert joke here). Anyone ever hear of, or deal with, such an issue? I'd hate to have to go buy a new Wii, but I will do it to play Zelda and Xenoblade.
This is really pissing me off. I've never had an issue with any Nintendo console, so I'm a bit mystified.
Logged

Playing: TWD Season 2, Alan Wake
Reading: Mistborn #2 by Brandon Sanderson
John
Administrator
Posts: 7256


Member
*

DeceptiJohn
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2011, 01:57:33 PM »

Before you go to the "it's the wii", you might want to check and make sure it's not the cabling.  Buy new cables off of Monoprice and test them.  I'd say that's more than likely the core issue, rather than the system.
Logged

THROW PICKLE IN BURGER TO SPEED UP COMMERCIAL
Yoda
Son of Dad
Posts: 7736


Darkness is Void; Juffo-Wup is light

Member
*


View Profile

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2011, 03:33:14 PM »

yeah sounds like a loose cable
Logged
GrimReality
Dark Lord of Nostalgia
Posts: 2851


OK, options aren't SO bad

Member
*


View Profile

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2011, 04:01:51 PM »

Do you mean the cables connecting the system to the TV? I've got it connected with the component cables that I bought just a year ago. Could any other cable go bad? The power cable or the motion bar cable? I'll check it all over. maybe I should just buy new component cables and see if that solves the problem.
Thanks.
Logged

Playing: TWD Season 2, Alan Wake
Reading: Mistborn #2 by Brandon Sanderson
John
Administrator
Posts: 7256


Member
*

DeceptiJohn
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2011, 05:29:32 PM »

Yeah, the component cables.  Just make sure all connections are tight.  If they are, like I said, Monoprice has fantastically cheap cabling so you can check that out.
Logged

THROW PICKLE IN BURGER TO SPEED UP COMMERCIAL
Klyde Chroma
Lvl. 7 Fruity Ninja and Dincrest groupie
Posts: 1581


If Hitler was an introvert, he'd be me.

Member
*


View Profile Email

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2011, 03:34:02 PM »

I've had the worst luck with my component cables this year..... had to get new ones for my old PS2 (expected...) my wii (unexpected...) and 2 freakin' sets for my psp (completely ridiculous to kill 2 sets in a year...)

But yea.... I'd bet my nuts its your cables.... If it were your system other stuff than a flicker would more then likely be occurring.
Logged

Klyde Chroma / XBox Live Network
Triscal-Goddess / PSN
 Remember, DON'T do drugs... an owl will tear your face off.
GrimReality
Dark Lord of Nostalgia
Posts: 2851


OK, options aren't SO bad

Member
*


View Profile

Ignore
« Reply #6 on: December 27, 2011, 11:32:22 PM »

Went out and bought new component cables. The flicker/flashing screen remains. I'm mega pissed, and am not sure what to do. I can still play games, but it's very frustrating to have the screen suddenly start flashing. Especially if your in the middle of a battle or something.
Logged

Playing: TWD Season 2, Alan Wake
Reading: Mistborn #2 by Brandon Sanderson
Yoda
Son of Dad
Posts: 7736


Darkness is Void; Juffo-Wup is light

Member
*


View Profile

Ignore
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2011, 12:32:24 AM »

did you try it on another tv?

Logged
GrimReality
Dark Lord of Nostalgia
Posts: 2851


OK, options aren't SO bad

Member
*


View Profile

Ignore
« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2011, 10:02:52 AM »

did you try it on another tv?


Yeah, this was my next thought. I'll move the Wii down to my other Tv and see how it works. Thanks
Logged

Playing: TWD Season 2, Alan Wake
Reading: Mistborn #2 by Brandon Sanderson
D-Rider
Former God of RPGFan
Rainbow Club Member
Posts: 3682


Solitary One

Member
*

ChlamydiaBlues
View Profile

Ignore
« Reply #9 on: December 28, 2011, 11:56:25 AM »

Just so you know, my TV started doing something very similar right before the HDMI port my PS3 was hooked up to died.  Thank God I had more than one. :P
Logged

GrimReality
Dark Lord of Nostalgia
Posts: 2851


OK, options aren't SO bad

Member
*


View Profile

Ignore
« Reply #10 on: December 28, 2011, 04:32:52 PM »

So I moved my Wii setup to my downstairs tv(which is actually bigger and nicer), and played for about an hour. No problems so far. I wonder if the component port on the back of the TV is going bad or something. How odd. Too bad the Wii isn't HD and I could hook it up with an HDMI cable. Oh well, I guess my Wii gets to play with my 360 and PS3 now. I always had it on the upstairs TV because it's more of a "family" console. Now I'm stuck playing Skyward Sword and Xenoblade on the big screen. How...unfortunate. ; - )
Logged

Playing: TWD Season 2, Alan Wake
Reading: Mistborn #2 by Brandon Sanderson
Yoda
Son of Dad
Posts: 7736


Darkness is Void; Juffo-Wup is light

Member
*


View Profile

Ignore
« Reply #11 on: December 28, 2011, 05:05:03 PM »

On our new tv the component hookups are a little twitchy. You kind of have to jimmy them until the connection is good. Try a little jimmy shimmy
Logged
GrimReality
Dark Lord of Nostalgia
Posts: 2851


OK, options aren't SO bad

Member
*


View Profile

Ignore
« Reply #12 on: January 02, 2012, 10:53:00 AM »

I have finally found what the problem was! It was the connection of the component cable to the Wii itself. Not very tight, and would wiggle and cause the screen to flash. I propped it up to be tighter, and had no problems afterwards. Thanks, guys!
Logged

Playing: TWD Season 2, Alan Wake
Reading: Mistborn #2 by Brandon Sanderson
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  



Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!