Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 02, 2014, 04:30:58 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
RPGFan Community Quiz!
Subject: Persona 3: FES
Prize: $20 eShop, PSN or Steam code
Date: 3rd October 2014 Time: 16:00 EST
332943 Posts in 13642 Topics by 2191 Members
Latest Member: Zaltys
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  RPGFan Message Boards
|-+  Media
| |-+  Single-Player RPGs
| | |-+  Ys fans- I need your help
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Print
Author Topic: Ys fans- I need your help  (Read 789 times)
deathsaber

View Profile Email

Ignore
« on: April 10, 2014, 09:55:21 AM »

OK, here I am- a complete newbie to the series- never played ANYTHING in the series, but I'm interested in doing so to find out what I have been missing.  My only exposure to it at all, was from my super privileged buddy I had in Junior high whose rich relatives bought him every console at launch (this is a guy who had an actual Neo Geo at launch, and numeorus games) , who showed me Y's book 1 & 2 on his Turbo Graphx CD back around 1990 or so (I was still just a chump with an NES at the time, saving up for an eventual SNES)- I just remember there being amazing music to my young gaming ears (I vaguely recall him showing me a final boss, which had an awesome rock tune, and of course voice acting- which just floored me back in these days.)

So, I want to get into this series, but it seems to be on endless formats, and it appears there are even games being released now now which are remakes of the numbered originals.  

Now this is important- I don't play games on PC at all, so don't recommend anything to play on that- what I have is a Vita (and hence access to PSN PSP games), PS4, PS3, and Wii U (which can play Wii virtual console games).  Also I don't import, or care to play anything that isn't localized and in english.  I have no interest in buying foreign software and having to follow some kind of guide to help things make sense.