Author Topic: Dice relents: Vita questions

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Dice

  • I'm fart and I'm smunny
  • AMG A GIRL
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13326
  • RPGFan and Dice forever...
    • View Profile
    • My DeviantArt site!  Come, stay, laugh, cry.
Dice relents: Vita questions
« on: April 28, 2014, 11:02:35 PM »
Alright. 

SO, Vita slim is going to drop soon, and I have trades to make the damage not too damaging. 
Better yet, a bundle is coming out: The Borderlands 2 bundle is $200 with an 8gb memory card.

1) Does this sounds like an OK deal?  Skeptics and current owners welcome (and ideal) to answer
2) Is crossplay easy enough?  I won't lie I'm getting the system for mostly PSN titles right now.  Is there a lot available?
3) Is there a joint account with the PS3 system?  I cursed a great deal at the 3DS and WiiU for this... they've made it better at least.
http://society6.com/Dice963
http://www.redbubble.com/people/dice9633
http://dice963.tumblr.com/

Support your local Dice (and pitch her ideas)!
RAINBOW PIXEL POWER!!!

Blace

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3920
    • View Profile
Re: Dice relents: Vita questions
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2014, 11:15:45 PM »
1) It is a good deal because I bought the original VITA last month for 200 bucks and it did not come with a memory card or free game. I love my VITA and the slim version not having the nice OLED screen was the reason I bought the original instead of waiting. Many people agree with that sentiment. Up to you. The Slim version has better battery life and it is lighter, but honestly I think the VITA was already light enough. The slim might be too light.

2) Crossplay is different for each game. For FFX HD for example, you have to upload your file from the main screen of FFX on the VITA to the server and then login to your PS3 and download the record to the PS3 through the main screen of FFX again. You have to upload the PS3 data to the server and download it to the VITA the same way to play it on the VITA again. It can be a process sometimes. Any PSN games you have purchased on the PS3 can be downloaded to your VITA free of charge. They have the same games on their stores as far as I know. To transfer files back and forth for PSN titles for instance will be completely different than FFX. You have to use the data management tool on both systems and put a code in so they can link with each other and then transfer the data. On the VITA each PSN game makes its own memory card too so you don't have limited blocks on virtual PS1 games like on the PS3. It's annoying though because you end up with a ton of memory cards on your VITA data page.

3) Not sure what you mean about join account, but I think I covered that in the last paragraph. Once you sign into the store with your PSN account anything you have bought on the PS3 can be downloaded for free on the VITA.

Andrew

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7806
    • View Profile
Re: Dice relents: Vita questions
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2014, 12:01:58 AM »
Piggybacking off this topic... if the Wi-Fi and 3G models are at the same price (they are here pre-owned, at the moment) - is 3G the only difference? And is there any reason to not get that model, even if I'd probably never use the capability?



Klutz64

  • I Like Wacky Hats
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3215
  • Tactically Engaged in Espionage Action
    • View Profile
Re: Dice relents: Vita questions
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2014, 10:25:23 AM »
Yes. The 3G model requires that you connect it with a carrier, whereas the Wi-Fi model does not.
My Blog - It's about gaming stuff. You can read it if you want. No pressure. I mean, there's a link there you just have to click on, but... y'know... whatever.
Current Post: Grand Re-re-r-e-re-opening!

Andrew

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7806
    • View Profile
Re: Dice relents: Vita questions
« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2014, 07:10:15 PM »
Ah, glad I asked! Thanks Klutz!



Dice

  • I'm fart and I'm smunny
  • AMG A GIRL
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13326
  • RPGFan and Dice forever...
    • View Profile
    • My DeviantArt site!  Come, stay, laugh, cry.
Re: Dice relents: Vita questions
« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2014, 11:58:30 PM »
Thanks much to the both of you. :)
http://society6.com/Dice963
http://www.redbubble.com/people/dice9633
http://dice963.tumblr.com/

Support your local Dice (and pitch her ideas)!
RAINBOW PIXEL POWER!!!

PrismFlux

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 527
  • Destroy the Facade
    • View Profile
    • RPGFan
Re: Dice relents: Vita questions
« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2014, 04:12:47 PM »
Yes. The 3G model requires that you connect it with a carrier, whereas the Wi-Fi model does not.
My Vita has 3G capability and it does not require a carrier contract--I only use it with WiFi.

Agent D.

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4211
  • Agent Bewear.
    • View Profile
Re: Dice relents: Vita questions
« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2014, 06:35:22 PM »
Yes. The 3G model requires that you connect it with a carrier, whereas the Wi-Fi model does not.
Yeah this is incorrect. You do not need to have a carrier subscritpion to use your 3g vita, only if you wanna use it through a 3g service such as At&t in the US. Matter of fact, when I called them about a pricing rqte for it I was told I could just use my phone's mobile hotspot functionality which offered better connectivity and speed and didn't cost me anything extra....so yeah, fuck the 3g model.

TASTY!

Yoda

  • Fear is the Mind Killer
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8346
  • Darkness is Void; Juffo-Wup is light
    • View Profile
Re: Dice relents: Vita questions
« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2014, 01:07:07 AM »
The vita rules and I love it. The display makes my eyes hurt from the colors.