Author Topic: SRPGs for a Newbie

TurnerBasedXP

• View Profile
SRPGs for a Newbie
« on: December 05, 2016, 10:53:25 AM »
Hello all,

So I have always been a fan of JRPGs since Final Fantasy VII. I also love Kingdom Hearts, Tales series, and Pokemon. The past few years I have basically been playing more Western RPGs mainly from Bethesda and Bioware.

So all this time spent playing games, but I have never picked up and played a strategy or tactics RPG. I have heard the many praises of FF Tactics, Fire Emblem, and Disgaea. I really want to give this genre a shot so I can see if I enjoy it or not. The problem is I feel a bit intimidated by the genre which is probably why I've never played one.

So my question is, what is a good SRPG for a newbie. Something perhaps with an extensive tutorial. A game that defines the genre well, and is inviting for a new player. I have a PS Now subscription and was contemplating Disgaea 3 or 4, but I wanted to hear opinions from experienced gamers. Appreciate any feedback. Thanks everyone.

NickRansbottom

• RPGFan Editor
    • View Profile
Re: SRPGs for a Newbie
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2016, 10:58:07 AM »
Disgaea 4 is my favorite in the series, and imo, that series does a good job of explaining how to play it and access its numerous features. The problem is, Disgaea games can be overwhelming with their amount of content and systems. I think FF Tactics would be a really great choice, as would Fire Emblem Awakening.

What systems do you own, outside of your PS4? That info will help us find the right game for ya! :) 

Aeolus

• This is the Monado's Powerbomb!
  • Little did he know, the fall damage would KO him.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2016, 11:52:00 AM »
Shining Force 1 and/or 2 are very newbie friendly and fairly available to boot.