Author Topic: Tales of Symphonia (post Gamecube)

Annubis

• ee yan~☆
    • View Profile
Tales of Symphonia (post Gamecube)
« on: April 17, 2017, 01:00:08 PM »
What are you opinions on ToS for those that played it later than when it was only available on Gamecube?

I know that back in the Gamecube era, people were really positive on the game.
That said, people playing it now are mostly disappointed with it.

For those that played it later, what was your opinion on it?

--

For myself, I bought the HD edition (and got the Steam version with the Zesty pre-order), which I started playing but ended up dropping it.
My general opinion was that the gameplay felt like a bad Vesperia.

Story wise, I quickly came to despise Colette and I don't understand the whole human farm / elf thing which the game seems to forget about right after the very beginning (although I didn't finish it, so maybe it comes back?)

Rucks

• RPGFan Survey Hero
  • Salvum est Vita!
    • View Profile
Re: Tales of Symphonia (post Gamecube)
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2017, 01:14:37 PM »
I didn't much experience with Tales outside of Destiny 2/Eternia until 5 or 6 years ago.

Anyhow, I'm running through the PS3 version of Symphonia now and I definitely don't hate it but it still seems to me that Eternia did Symphonia better. 

More likable characters, essentially the same gameplay and almost exactly the same gimmick 3 years earlier. 

Though, for whatever it's worth, Sheena is the most interesting character in either game.

Der Jermeister

• Journey of the Cursed Fur
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2017, 02:21:16 PM »
I liked the gameplay and soundtrack, but the plot was too clichéd for my tastes.

Aeolus

• This is the Monado's Powerbomb!
  • Little did he know, the fall damage would KO him.
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2017, 02:55:04 PM »
I liked it better playing it multiplayer rather than singleplayer.