Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 19, 2014, 01:23:35 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
RPGFan Community Quiz
Next Quiz Date: January 11, 2014
Subject: 999 (Nintendo DS)
For more information click HERE!
319157 Posts in 13033 Topics by 2145 Members
Latest Member: aew0
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  RPGFan Message Boards
|-+  Media
| |-+  The Soundroom
| | |-+  Children's Stories.
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Children's Stories.  (Read 830 times)
Degolas

sickforbrains200@yahoo.co.uk sickforbrains200@yahoo.co.uk
View Profile WWW Email

Ignore
« on: June 12, 2006, 08:03:35 AM »

Thought it was about time for a new thread relating to the 'books' part of the forum. Sadly, it's just a recommend me stuff thread :P

As many of you know I'm an amateur writer, studying it at uni. My main ambition in life is to write children's books. However, I haven't really read any for a few years, and feel that maybe I should to get an idea of what's popular these days.

So, anyone with kids, or who just enjoys reading kids books (:P), recommend me some!

Really, they don't have to be recent, any are good. Just think of ones you enjoyed when you were younger.

Thanks!

I had a stupid dream
that I could change things.

Check out my YouTube videos!: http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=Degolas
Dincrest
RPGFan Editor

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2006, 11:15:05 AM »

Oh ho!  I love children's books.  I still read 'em sometimes just so I can finish them and have a sense of completion.  

What age group do you particularly want to write for?  Younger kids obviously have shorter attention spans and may not want to listen to lengthy stories.  Older kids may want something chewier.  

Big difference between a 3 vs. 13.  

Here are great books that I enjoyed circa ages 5-8 and ones that I've seen kids enjoy during my time as an early ed teacher's aide.  

Neal's picks from his youth: