Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
December 22, 2014, 11:22:37 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Congratulations to Andrew Barker! RPGfan Editor of the Year and now Chief News Editor!
341258 Posts in 13945 Topics by 2222 Members
Latest Member: XanTehMan
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  RPGFan Message Boards
|-+  The Rest
| |-+  The Helper Monkey
| | |-+  LCD HDTV Resolution question
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: LCD HDTV Resolution question  (Read 1424 times)
Fei
Posts: 1336


!?

Member
*


View Profile

Ignore
« on: May 29, 2011, 10:49:05 PM »

Unless I'm mistaken, the Xbox 360 outputs 720p as 1280x 720 pixels.  My TV's native resolution is 1360x768, and is considered 720p. 

If I order HD cable from the cable company, am I getting 1280x720, or 1360x768?  I probably wouldn't notice the upscale, but when did this happen?

I read something about 1360x768 being a better multiple of 256, for people who use HDTV's as their computer monitor... but that makes 720p more of a 'range' than a hard statistic.

Most people have 720p televisions I'd wager, but would that mean 1280x720, or 1360x768?
Logged

If you re-spec your elduhz and own a Vita - http://twitter.com/BSNursery
Parn
Posts: 2363


Member
*


View Profile

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2011, 08:43:55 AM »

Regarding your cable, you'd be getting either 720p or 1080i.  It depends on the station that's broadcasting since they vary.  If the channel is 720p, the picture is upscaled to fit your TV's 768p resolution.  If it's 1080i, it's downscaled.  This is one of the wonderful parts of the HDTV industry... the bit of deception that they employ.  HDTVs that claim to be 720p are usually 768p.

BTW, there IS a way to get 768p out of your Xbox 360 to your LCD HDTV.  You need to buy an Xbox 360 VGA cable to do it though.  This resolution is not available through HDMI or component.  You'll have a cleaner picture if you buy one since you'd be running a native resolution.  Just make sure your LCD HDTV has a VGA input and supports that resolution first.
Logged
Fei
Posts: 1336


!?

Member
*


View Profile

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2011, 08:23:03 PM »

Thanks Parn.  768p... what the hell.
Logged

If you re-spec your elduhz and own a Vita - http://twitter.com/BSNursery
Eusis
Administrator
Posts: 11824


Member
*


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2011, 09:25:50 PM »

HDTVs that claim to be 720p are usually 768p.

At least you get a little more rather than a little less, not that it helps much when you want the pixels to be exact. Never bothered me though, usually when it's that close it's only vaguely fuzzy at worst to my eyes.

The Xbox suggestion shows why (as I recall) this happens actually: I BELIEVE it was done to comply with XGA standards, though I see 1280x720 there so it's somewhat baffling.
Logged
Parn
Posts: 2363


Member
*


View Profile

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2011, 09:38:04 PM »

That wouldn't make any sense.  XGA is 4:3 aspect ratio.  720p is 16:9.
Logged
Eusis
Administrator
Posts: 11824


Member
*


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: May 31, 2011, 12:25:49 AM »

Whoops, on a closer look it's WXGA.

Edit: Whoops again, an even closer look shows that 1366x768 is HD, and 1280x720 is WXGA. I'm definitely going to need to see how this makes sense.
« Last Edit: May 31, 2011, 12:53:34 AM by Eusis » Logged
Darklight
Posts: 547


Member
*


View Profile

Ignore
« Reply #6 on: May 31, 2011, 01:38:39 AM »

Set your Xbox to 1080p, the tv will probably say 1080p but display 768p. The 360 is very user friendly for the resolution setting's in comparison to the "other" companies current gen console. Make sure you set the image on your panel to "Fit screen" or something similar instead of 16:9
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  



Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!