Monster Hunter World: Iceborne came out on PC recently, and while this is exciting news for fans of the acclaimed monster-slaying action title, there may be a rather serious catch. Some players have reported incidents of Iceborne prompting some players to inadvertently delete their Monster Hunter World save data, resulting in lost progress.
According to Kotaku, this appears to be primarily affecting older players who are returning to the game after a hiatus. What happens is the game fails to detect the player's existing save date, prompting them instead to create a new safe file which, if agreed to, will overwrite the old save. This already happened to one of our editors, Scott Clay, so be forewarned!
Hopefully, Capcom does something to remedy this situation. In the meantime, stay tuned to RPGFan for more information on Monster Hunter World, and check out our review of Iceborne.