No One But You OST ~fragments~
Catalog Number: N/A
Released On: Jan 21, 2016
Composed By: Lemmonias, AnnEXE, Sebastien Skaf
Arranged By: Lemmonias, AnnEXE, Sebastien Skaf
Published By: Lemmonias
Recorded at: Unknown
Format: Digital
Buy this album from Bandcamp

Disc One
01 - Happy Tune
02 - Main Theme
03 - Sad Dream
04 - Here
05 - Ribbon
06 - Floating
07 - Jazzy
08 - Subtle Night
09 - Wake Up
10 - Sweet Memories
11 - Kokoro no Shiro
12 - Exotic
13 - March
14 - Don't Forget
15 - Ribbon 2
16 - An Albatross
17 - At the Bridge
18 - Believe in Me
19 - Desperate Situation
20 - Don't Wake Me From This Dream
21 - Walk in the Park
22 - Without You
23 - Together Forever
24 - Petals in the Grass
25 - Useless Love
26 - Whispering Rain
27 - Gone
28 - Second Dream
29 - The Plea I
30 - The Plea II
31 - This Day
32 - Waltz
33 - Yui by the Tree
34 - Za
Total Time:

Sometimes the simplest songs leave the largest impressions. The strengths of the No One But You soundtrack are lead composer Lemmonias's piano pieces and AnnEXE's guitar pieces. The rest of the soundtrack feels as if it's stumbling in its attempt to be original.

One of the ways in which Lemmonias pursues originality is through unique combinations of instruments. However, these combinations are sometimes non-cohesive and noticeably uncomfortable to the ear. For instance, "Ribbon 2," a variation of Megumi's theme, features a flute, banjo, and harpsichord. This unorthodox combination is instantly jarring. This is not to say that unusual combinations of instruments are inherently taboo, but Lemmonias doesn't complement the instruments well.

In addition to the mismatched orchestration, sometimes Lemmonias's pieces have competing tunes: harmony and melody battling for attention rather than working together. Many instruments are too active and obtrusive to act purely as support. This creates a cacophony where my ear struggles to distinguish separate tunes rather than naturally picking up a melody.

Compare these clashing combinations and tunes with AnnEXE's guitar pieces and Lemmonias's simple piano or piano/violin duet pieces. This instrumentation isn't particularly original; the creativity lies within the melodies and rhythms. These charming and moving songs are the emotional stimulants that I seek in a visual novel soundtrack.

The finishing touch on AnnEXE's guitar pieces are their high quality sound samples. It's hard to truly appreciate a great pianist if they play on a toy keyboard. Similarly, it's hard to properly judge Lemmonias's music when he uses such low-quality sound samples. Of course, I'm not asking Lemmonias to record actual musicians (like he did with piano/violin duet "At the Bridge") for every one of his songs. Simply using a higher quality sound library, like the one used by the third composer Sebastian Skaf, would better showcase Lemmonias's skills as a composer. Consistent quality here could have made some of the music feel more coherent.

Creativity comes in many forms. When trying to force too much creativity, the result can be convoluted in style and lose its original intent and appeal. A chocolate, artichoke, and salmon pizza is creative, but it sure isn't tasty. In some cases, less is more, and simple is best.

Reviewed by: Brigid Choi


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, August 19
Shadow Hearts • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Sunday, August 26
Septerra Core • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Star Ocean: Second Evolution • 2:30pm PDT/5:30pm EDT
Persona 3 (CYOA) • 5:30pm PDT/8:30pm EDT

Persona 3 (CYOA) • 5:30pm PDT/8:30pm EDT

Kingdom Hearts - Re:Chain of Memories • 2:30pm PDT/5:30pm EDT
Persona 3 (CYOA) • 5:30pm PDT/8:30pm EDT

Final Fantasy IX • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Friday Super Variety Night • 6pm PDT/9pm EDT

Week in Review: Live Edition • 11am PDT/2pm EDT
Persona 3 (CYOA) • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

Alicemare Review


Cosmic Star Heroine OST Review

Cosmic Star Heroine OST

Retro Encounter 149

Retro Encounter 149

Tiny Epic Quest Board Game Review

Tiny Epic Quest

Board Game Review