Record of Agarest War OST

[back cover]
Catalog Number: SRIF-1001/2
Released On: November 2, 2007
Composed By: Kenji Kaneko
Arranged By: Ayako Saso (2-27)
Published By: SuperSweep
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 2 CDs

Disc One
01 - Agarest War Suite
02 - Awakening
03 - Choose The Way
04 - An Adventure Story
05 - Wild Life
06 - City Life
07 - King Of Terrors
08 - Password
09 - The 1st Generation Theme
10 - The 2nd Generation Theme
11 - The 3rd Generation Theme
12 - The 4th Generation Theme
13 - The 5th Generation Theme
14 - Breeze Of Time
15 - The Hunt
16 - Pantheon
17 - View Of Valley
18 - Under The Delusion
19 - Don't Wait For Me
20 - Shall I Help?
21 - In Your Face?
22 - Minor Event
23 - Faster Chase
24 - The End Dew
25 - The Priest
26 - Final Chase
27 - The Earth Memories
Total Time:

Disc Two
01 - The Grand Chance
02 - With Light Steps
03 - Wheel Of Fortune
04 - The Eye
05 - Main Event
06 - Sub-Event
07 - Face The Truth
08 - Never Surrender
09 - Illusions
10 - Sword Chase
11 - Youthful season
12 - 7th Ave.
13 - The Oracle
14 - On Your Mind
15 - From The Depths
16 - The Great Victory
17 - Visionary
18 - Lost Faith
19 - Game Over
20 - Tension And Anger
21 - Calm Forest
22 - Tears In My Eyes
23 - Astron
24 - Our Future
25 - Truth Chase
26 - New Eternity Day
27 - Record of Agarest War Arrange Version
Total Time:

Kenji Kaneko is Idea Factory's in-house composer. He writes nearly as much music as Motoi Sakuraba per year, but Kaneko doesn't get as much exposure. After all, many of his scores don't get soundtrack releases, and those that do are for games that generally don't reach American audiences. Also, Kaneko isn't quite the veteran that Sakuraba is, and many of Kaneko's early compositions demonstrate his "rookie" status. But now, it's clear that Kaneko is starting to grow. The soundtrack for Agarest Senki (Record of Agarest War) is the proof.

This two disc set is three parts orchestral, two parts hard rock, and one part bouncy-pop fun. The biggest surprise for me was the extremely high quality battle themes, which sound like something you'd expect from the Atelier Iris arrange albums, or (in some cases) the battle themes from Legend of Mana. Yes, some of the battle themes on here are that good.

In contrast, I did think that many of the orchestral pieces were bland. There are enough decent orchestral songs on the OST to keep the soundscape afloat, but as I said earlier, about half of the soundtrack uses classical orchestra and chamber music styles. The worst, IMO, are the marches. But then, I've never been fond of marches in general, or any sort of "military" theme song in a videogame.

Ayako Saso, long-time member of the "SuperSweep" label, did an arranged track at the end of the disc. It, too, is excellent. Just listen to the sample. Heck, listen to all of the samples. This album is top notch.

At this point, Record of Agarest War is not scheduled to come to North America, which is a shame considering it is Idea Factory's first outing on the PS3 and considering how much Kaneko has matured in the last few years. I can only hope for even more high-quality soundtracks from Kaneko-san and the Idea Factory / Compile Heart crew.

This album was printed directly by SuperSweep, and as such, it is difficult to find. The usual spots (Play-Asia, VGMWorld) do not have this album. Do what you can to find it, especially if you want a choice sampling of Kenji Kaneko's work. I truly enjoyed this album.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann