Ar tonelico: Melody of Elemia OST

[back cover]
Catalog Number: N/A
Released On: February 6, 2007
Composed By: Ken Nakagawa, Daisuke Achiwa, Akira Tsuchiya, Takashige Inagaki
Arranged By: Ken Nakagawa, Daisuke Achiwa, Akira Tsuchiya, Takashige Inagaki
Published By: NIS America
Recorded At: SameCreative inc.
Format: 1 CD

01 - Singing Hill
02 - Melodies of a Requiem
03 - Land of Fresh Greens
04 - Morning Dew, Melt Away
05 - A Song of Peace
06 - Counting the Past
07 - Over the Hardships
08 - Vidarr
09 - Scars
10 - Your Feelings
11 - Brave Beat
12 - Crimson Sunset Skies
13 - Airport Paradise
14 - Screaming Seagull
15 - Singing Girl
16 - Beyond the Memories
17 - My World is My Wish
18 - Beat ~Elemia Arrange~
19 - Ancient Memories
20 - Dokkoi 50%-Off Sale!
21 - City in the Sky
22 - Flowing Clouds
23 - AT inside ~incident~
24 - AT inside ~resonance~
25 - Tower of Ar tonelico
26 - Tunes of Paradox
27 - Music of the Echoing Horn
28 - Valhalla
29 - Rumble
30 - Imperatrix
31 - Genetic Chronicle
32 - Song of the Breeze ~Music Box~
33 - Voices of Paired Lives
34 - Epilogue ~Fantasy DNA~
35 - Phantasmagoria
Total Time:

If you're a regular reader at RPGFan, there are three things that you have probably figured out by now: 1) I really like Gust (developers of the Atelier series and, of course, Ar tonelico); 2) we at RPGFan keep tabs on virtually every NIS America release; 3) NIS America almost always prints a bonus soundtrack to go with preorders of their games.

Knowing these three things, is it any surprise that this soundtrack exists and is being reviewed?

The American release of the OST is a hand-picked selection of the 2 disc Japanese OST, compressed into a sort of "best of" collection. The first thing I noticed when reading over the tracklist: where are the songs from the Hymmnos Concerts? These songs, though left intact in the US version of the game, are absent on this disc. It's really a shame, because they are some of the best songs the game had to offer.

Two vocal tracks did make it onto this disc: the opening and ending, of course. These were on the OST, so it was good to see them both put on this album.

Otherwise, the album is packed with great BGM tracks from the game. And when I say "packed," I mean it: nearly 80 minutes! NIS America did a good job at picking the most memorable songs from the game; having heard the Japanese OST many times in the last year, and now having played the game through, I thought the song selection on this album was great.

The tracklist, an issue all its own, was touched up a fair bit in the transition from the Japanese version to the US version. Names like "Chornicle of Gene" and "Expressive Hill" have been changed to "Genetic Chronicle" and "Singing Hill." That works for me!

If you didn't get this album with your copy of Ar tonelico: Melody of Elemia, you have probably already missed your chance. Thus, your options are eBay or the Japanese version. Either way, this was one of my favorite soundtracks of this new millenium, so I highly recommend it.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, September 23
Dragon Quest VIII • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Sunday, September 30
Final Fantasy XIV Patch 4.4 • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Lufia II: Rise of the Sinistrals • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Star Ocean: Till The End of Time • 3:00pm PDT/5:30pm EDT
Wild ARMs 2 • 5:30pm 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Wild ARMs 2 • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Kingdom Hearts - Re:Chain of Memories • 2:30pm PDT/5:30pm EDT
Wild ARMs 2 • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Final Fantasy IX • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Friday Super Variety Night • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Week in Review: Live Edition • 11am PDT/2pm EDT
Wild ARMs 2 • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

CrossCode Giveaway

CrossCode Giveaway

Retro Encounter 154

Retro Encounter 154

CrossCode Review


428: Shibuya Scramble Review

428: Shibuya Scramble

History of the RPGFan Logo ~ An RPGFan 20th Anniversary Feature

History of the RPGFan Logo

An RPGFan 20th Anniversary Feature