- RPGFan Music - Ar tonelico II: Melody of Metafalica RQ Exclusive Soundtrack

Ar tonelico II: Melody of Metafalica RQ Exclusive Soundtrack

[back cover]
Catalog Number: N/A
Released On: January 20, 2009
Composed By: Ken Nakagawa, Daisuke Achiwa, Akira Tsuchiya, Akiko Shikata
Arranged By: Ken Nakagawa, Daisuke Achiwa, Akira Tsuchiya, Akiko Shikata
Published By: NIS America
Recorded At: D-Sound
Format: 1 CD

01 - Oath
02 - Forest of Hallucinations
03 - Tunes of Reincarnation
04 - Girl of Destiny
05 - Girl at the Sky Ports
06 - Flip Flap Run
07 - Love Sights ~Spring~
08 - Like Sand and Wind
09 - Dream Sights ~Light~
10 - A Sunlit Room
11 - Rowdy Musical March!!
12 - The Slums
13 - Darkness and Voices
14 - Reisha's Lullaby
15 - Midnight Secrets
16 - Conspiracy
17 - Agni
18 - Mechanical Maze
19 - Red Scratch
20 - Foreign Carnival
21 - Infelsphere
22 - Flower Sights ~Illusion~
23 - Panty War
24 - Indra
25 - Love Sights ~Winter~
26 - Dream Sights ~Shadow~
27 - Flower Sights ~Actual~
28 - Communicating with Truth
29 - Tower to the Heavens
30 - Artillery
31 - Warmth
Total Time:

Though still a fair number of tracks shy from a full OST, this second "RQ Exclusive" disc for Ar tonelico II from NIS America was the disc that you didn't get via limited edition. The CD was available only to people who preordered the game from the RosenQueen store (hence "RQ").

I think I had forgotten what makes this soundtrack so endearing. There isn't a lot of powerful, epic music (battle themes, emotional event themes) like there were on the first Ar tonelico, at least not ones that stuck with me. But the day-to-day music: cosmosphere, town, and shop music all stand out now, months after playing the game, and years after having first heard the OST.

My guess as to why this is, is because the "every day" music feels so exotic, and so foreign, to my ears. There's really something special to these soundtracks. I think a lot of it has to do with Akiko Shikata, the vocalist who also has a hand in composition. Just her influence on the franchise (as well as that of Akira Tsuchiya, who is the creative lead on Ar tonelico as a whole) helps to shape the soundscape, regardless of who composes which individual tracks.

The import OST, in all its "fullness," is still the best way to go if you're trying to locate this game's music for the first time. But if you own this CD alongside the other disc that NIS America released, you basically have the full body of work. Also, this RQ Exclusive Soundtrack comes with a whole bunch of snazzy character art (Cloche, Luca, and Jacqli in different outfits) in the liner notes. Now if only I could convince NIS America to bundle full, two disc soundtracks with their games, we'd all be set for life!

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann