Atelier Meruru ~The Apprentice of Arland~ Arls of Music
Catalog Number: N/A
Released On: May 29, 2012
Composed By: Kazuki Yanagawa, Daisuke Achiwa
Arranged By: Kazuki Yanagawa, Daisuke Achiwa
Published By: NIS America
Recorded at: Unknown
Format: 1 CD

01 - Cadena
02 - Cloudy
03 - Little Crown
04 - Alchemy Girl Meruru's Song
05 - Metro
06 - Atelier Meruru
07 - Small Kingdom's Town
08 - Courtly Dance
09 - Estrella
10 - Forest Dance
11 - Fort Fanfare I
12 - Dance With Me?
13 - Mine!
14 - Wind-Blooming Mountain
15 - Fountainhead Greens
16 - The Lonely Inn
17 - Living Forest
18 - To the Burnt Red Land
19 - Through the Darkness of Books
20 - Princess March
21 - Everyday Me
22 - Trefoil Bookmark
23 - 2 Teaspoons of Honey
24 - Everyday Workshop
25 - Gigantic Crimson
Total Time:

Perfectly condensed.

The full import OST for Atelier Meruru consisted of three discs. The first disc was the first five tracks of this disc (all the vocals), and then various karaoke/instrumental versions of each. Disc two had most of the "standard" OST. Disc three had some special tracks, including arrangements of themes from previous Atelier titles.

On this album, we get the vocals from disc one, most of the really good stuff from disc two, and some hand-picked tracks from disc three that simply can't be missed (like "Estrella" and "Gigantic Crimson"). The NISA team really did hand-pick this guy in such a way that it makes the import Japanese OST virtually obsolete. I've actually considered getting rid of my Meruru OST and replacing it with this version.

There is one thing they could have done to make this disc better: include some music from the Japanese bonus disc ~Die Musikkiste des atelier Drei~ that came with the Visual Art Book. The tracks on that album are ridiculously good. But I won't look a gift-horse in the mouth. This album is still a great collection of music.

Of course, even as I write this, this bonus album will be hard to come by. The Limited Edition of Atelier Meruru, direct from the NIS America store (for a great price of $64.99, it includes all sorts of beautiful extras including this soundtrack!), is already sold out. So, Atelier / Gust / NISA fans, count your lucky stars if you got in on the preorder. You'd be hard-pressed to get a better LE package for the price.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann