Azel -Panzer Dragoon RPG- Memorial Album

[back cover]
Catalog Number: MJCG-80066
Released On: April 21, 2001
Composed By: Saori Kobayashi, Mariko Nanba
Arranged By: Hayato Matsuo
Published By: Marvelous Entertainment
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 2 CDs

Disc One
01 - Ecce Valde Generous Ale (Behold the Precious Wings)
02 - First Battle
03 - Noble Rebel Army
04 - A Holy Nation of Deceit
05 - Solitary Battle
06 - Wings
07 - Seperated for Eternity
08 - Premonition of War
09 - Mutation
10 - Chaos Amongst the Silence
11 - Mutation II
12 - Giant Creature
13 - Rest
14 - Breath of Life
15 - The Blue Ruins
16 - Wandering
17 - Forbidden Land
18 - Pure Blood Seed
19 - The Black Fleet
20 - Rendevous with Destiny
21 - Atolm Dragon
22 - Spirit of the Dragon
23 - Forseen Encounter
24 - The Empire
25 - Shellcoof
26 - Zoah
27 - Paet's Theme
28 - Water Ruins
29 - Ancient Weapon
Bonus Track
30 - Sona Mi Areru Ec Sancitu (Re-arranged)
Total Time:

Disc Two
01 - Trapped Underground
02 - Path to the Being
03 - Sealed Spirit
04 - Elevator Chase
05 - Giant Creature II
06 - Separation
07 - Source of the Protective Flame
08 - Dream
09 - Sleeping Iron Ingot
10 - Imperial Air Force
11 - Giant Warship
12 - Fading Away
13 - Holy Chariot
14 - A Century Gone By
15 - Interception
16 - Awakening
17 - Conclusion
18 - Village of the Seekers
19 - The Forest's Cry
20 - The Red Ruins
21 - Into the Promised Land
22 - Overture to the End
23 - Tears
24 - Sestren
25 - Vision
26 - Vision II
27 - The Final Battle ~Recurrence~
28 - Sona Mi Areru Ec Sancitu (Art Thou the Holy One)
Bonus Track
29 - Sona Mi Areru Ec Sancitu (Prescription Vocal Club Mix)
Total Time:

Released 3 years after the OST (and 4 years after that accursed "mini" album), the Panzer Dragoon RPG Memorial Album was basically a reprint of the 2 disc album, but with a bonus track tacked on to the end of each disc. So let's start this review by talking about those bonus tracks.

These two tracks are different arrangements of the ending vocal theme, "Sona Mi Areru Ec Sancitu (Art Thou the Holy One)." Disc one's arrangement is just a generic "Re-arranged" version according to the title, but this remix was quite enjoyable to me. I don't know if this was the work of Marvelous, or Sega, or specifically Hayato Matsuo...all I know is I liked this remix more than the original version by a long shot. And, at 5 minutes, it's quite a lengthy song, isn't it? Take a listen to the sample to get a feel for this remix.

The second arrangement is the "Prescription Vocal Club Mix", and it's, well...long. Running past 8 minutes, the song holds to a pretty steady rhythm and sampled loop, and the vocals are queued here and there throughout the track. Compared to the other version, this one is fairly boring, and I'd say I even prefer the original to this bland dance-house remix.

As for the rest of the tracks...we have multiple reviews from staff members who basically swear their undying love for this soundtrack. Count me in with them; this is some good stuff. There's not a moment of music worth skipping on this two disc set. Everything is gorgeous, everything is worthwhile. The fact that this album got a reprint within three years proves that.

However, even this reprint quickly became unavailable, likely because it sold out so quickly. The popularity of this title makes it a hard one to find these days, but I urge you to do so nonetheless.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, July 22
TBA • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Star Ocean: Second Evolution • 2:30pm PDT/5:30pm EDT
Lunar 2: Eternal Blue Complete • 5:30pm PDT/8:30pm EDT

Octopath Traveler • 5:30pm PDT/8:30pm EDT

Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep • 2:30pm PDT/5:30pm EDT
Octopath Traveler • 5:30pm PDT/8:30pm EDT

Final Fantasy IX • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
The Legend of Heroes: Trails of Cold Steel (Speedrun) • 6pm PDT/9pm EDT

Octopath Traveler • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

Corpse Party: Haunting Melodies Review

Corpse Party: Haunting Melodies

Retro Encounter 145

Retro Encounter 145

Shining Resonance Refrain Review

Shining Resonance Refrain

Detroit: Become Human Review

Detroit: Become Human

Retro Encounter Final Thoughts ~ Lunar: The Silver Star

Retro Encounter Final Thoughts ~ Lunar: The Silver Star