Blaze Union OST
Catalog Number: COCX-36235
Released On: June 23, 2010
Composed By: Shigeki Hayashi
Arranged By: Shigeki Hayashi
Published By: Nippon Columbia
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 1 CD
Buy this CD from Play-Asia

01 - The Story of One Day [Opening Music]
02 - Blaze Union [Title Screen Music]
03 - The Gathered [Demo Scene Music]
04 - Unreasonable Devils
05 - Signs of Strife
06 - Now Sortie!
07 - I Believe in These Bonds
08 - Triumphant Return
09 - The Smell of Peace
10 - Firm Convictions
11 - Sworn Enemy
12 - Violated Tranquility
13 - Tears Spilling Forth...
14 - In the Midst of History
15 - Sparks [Advance Theme]
16 - Breakthrough Plan [Advance Theme]
17 - Peril [Advance Theme]
18 - Power For Whom [Advance Theme]
19 - A Soldier Values Swiftness [Advance Theme]
20 - At the Utmost Limits [Advance Theme]
21 - Solid Fortress [Advance Theme]
22 - The Time of Conclusion Has Come [Advance Theme]
23 - Excited Relatives [Enemy Advance Theme]
24 - Greedy Impetus [Enemy Advance Theme]
25 - never [Enemy Advance Theme]
26 - The Way Providence Shows [Enemy Advance Theme]
27 - Angry Flames [Garlot's Theme]
28 - At Least Flowers for the Heart [Siskier's Theme]
29 - The Whereabouts of Wit [Jenon's Theme]
30 - Strong Resolution [Medoute's Theme]
31 - Immaturity Knows no Sin [Emilia's Theme]
32 - Reasons to Wield a Sword [Aegina's Theme]
33 - The Stage in His Hands [Nessiah's Theme]
34 - A Problem of Values [Cerica's THeme]
35 - Violent Bravery [Leon's Theme]
36 - Fluttering Battle Flags [Pandra's Theme]
37 - Night Rushes In [Zilva's Theme]
38 - War Cry [Baldus's Theme]
39 - Betting on Dignity [Rapis's Theme]
40 - The Top [Thortie's Theme]
41 - Everything Settled With This!? [Mizer's Theme]
42 - The Strongest Drunkard Legend [Sleip's Theme]
43 - Dance of the Witch [Pamela's Theme]
44 - NanTutTe [Byff's Theme]
45 - Strong, Fleeting and Vividly [Iita's Theme]
46 - Insatiable Searching Heart [Eudy's Theme]
47 - Victim of Avarice [Alanjame's Theme]
48 - The Astral Sword Gets Cold [Russel's Theme]
49 - The Ambition of a Monarch [Ordene's Theme]
50 - Infallible Intelligence [Baretreenu's Theme]
51 - Corrosion [Brongaa's Theme]
52 - Opposition Is Sin [Imperial Army Theme]
53 - Harm [Rebel Army Theme]
54 - An Offering to the Homeland [Royal Army Theme]
55 - The Attraction of Evil [Divine Order Theme]
56 - The Meaning This Power Held [Ending Theme Music]
57 - A Story to Reach the Future [Ending Theme Music]
58 - The Battle Continues... [Staff Roll Music]
59 - Ephemeral Feelings [Bonus Track]
Total Time:

Sting's latest PSP title, "Blaze Union" is a prequel to Yggdra Union. That means Shigeki Hayashi is back. And since it's PSP and not DS, we don't have to worry about ugly sound compression problems. Are you ready for sheer awesomeness?

I was ready. I was nervous too, however, as Hayashi is quickly becoming Sakuraba-lite with his recent works. You know what I mean: it all sounds the same, and it all relies on a driving beat and crazy leads.

Well, it is more of the same in terms of style. But there's a surprising amount of new melodic composition here, and it is without question the best sound quality we've yet heard from Shigeki Hayashi's discography. In other words, it's a surefire victory.

I'm still frustrated that this soundtrack, and others like it, are packed into a single disc, forcing many tracks to just barely scratch the one minute mark. I'd like to see some full arranged albums for the Dept Heaven series. Anyone with me on that?

Whatever the case may be, if you haven't picked up any other albums from Shigeki Hayashi, this is a great place to start. And if you've been collecting, I think this one will stick to you better than even Riviera and the PSP version of Yggdra Union. But then, that's speculation on my part. Let the audio samples guide you!

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann