Chrono Cross OST
Catalog Number: SSCX-10040 (reprint SQEX-10047~9)
Released On: December 18, 1999 (reprint June 29, 2005)
Composed By: Yasunori Mitsuda
Arranged By: Yasunori Mitsuda
Published By: DigiCube (reprint Square Enix)
Recorded At: Studio Greenbird
Format: 3 CDs
Buy this album from CDJapan

Disc One: Cause
01 - Chrono Cross ~ Time's Scar
02 - The Brink of Death
03 - Home Village of Aruni
04 - Time's Grasslands - Home World
05 - Lizard Dance
06 - Reminiscence ~ Feelings Not Erased
07 - Dream of the Shore Bordering Another World
08 - Another Aruni Village
09 - Song of Feeling
10 - Lost Fragments
11 - Indulging, Drowning Valley
12 - Another Telmina
13 - Leaving the Body
14 - Shadow's End Forest
15 - Snake Bone Room
16 - Victory ~ Spring's Gift
17 - Lost Child of Time
18 - Another Gardov
19 - Hydra's Swamp
20 - Dream's Creation
21 - Voyage - Another World
22 - Phantom Ship
23 - Death Volcano
24 - Ancient Dragon's Fort
25 - (Overcoming One's) Grief
Total Time:

Disc Two: Unveiling
01 - Start of the Dream
02 - (Ravine) Cleft of Dimension
03 - Home Telmina
04 - Dragonrider
05 - Voyage - Home World
06 - Home Gardov
07 - Home Mabure
08 - Zelbess
09 - The Big Admirable Mysterious Slight-of-Hand Group
10 - Nap
11 - Chronomantic
12 - Predicament
13 - Optimism
14 - Ghost's Island
15 - Death Sea ~ Tower of Ruin
16 - People Seized With Life
17 - Previously Lost, Lamp
18 - Earth Dragon's Island
19 - World's Navel
20 - Gale
21 - Victory ~ Summer's Cry
22 - Another Mabure
23 - Fairies' Way for Magic
24 - Etude 1
25 - Etude 2
26 - Magical Dreamers ~the Wind, the Stars, and the Waves~
Total Time:

Disc Three: Change
01 - Garden of the Gods
02 - Chronopolis
03 - Fates ~ Gods of Destiny
04 - Jellyfish Sea
05 - Orphan of Flame
06 - Star-Stealing Girl
07 - Time of the Dreamwatch
08 - Dragon's Prayer
09 - Tower of Stars
10 - Frozen Flame
11 - Dragon God
12 - Into a Time of Darkness
13 - Life ~ Faraway Promise
14 - Reminiscence ~Feelings not Erased~
15 - Radical Dreamers ~Without Taking the Jewel~ (Vocal)
16 - Fragments of Dreams
Total Time:

I'll preface this review by stating that Chrono Cross is THE soundtrack that brought me into the world of video game music. My head was filled with the tracks long after I put my PS1 controller away. The reason: Yasunori Mitsuda's compositions express not only how magical music can be when tied to a gaming experience, but also how that same music can be enjoyed in its own right. This album was my first real understanding of that idea, and I can do nothing but appreciate the impact it's had on my attitude toward the world of VGM.

In the beginning, Mitsuda welcomes the listener with "The Scars of Time" — a flute hints at adventure but quickly gives way to a violin navigating the terrain of tumultuous drums. There is a sense of longing and danger in the track that makes for an iconic opening song. A good portion of the other pieces have a tropical feel brought on by drum beats and an overall calm tone. These tracks often have a pairing of focal instruments that make them similar but unique. Take "The Grasslands of Time: Home World," for example. The beats provide a foundation for the interplay of guitar and steel drums to call to mind a relaxing beach shoreline. On top of that, Mitsuda incorporates themes from Chrono Trigger which adds to the enjoyment of several of these pieces for those familiar with his previous work.

Some criticize Mitsuda for being too repetitive. I agree and disagree. Mitsuda is clearly a versatile composer: you can juxtapose the whimsical "Termina: Another" with the solemn "Those Who Have Departed" or the adventurous "Time of the Dreamwatch." And what some would call repetition, I call consistency. Does "Voyage: Another World" sound similar to "On the Shores of a Dream: Another World?" Yes, the style of the guitar renders the two comparable; yet, it doesn't hinder the fact that both tracks are excellent. Chrono Cross is rife with piano, strings, and guitars, and I don't fault Mitsuda for consistently relying on these instruments to produce his style. I particularly like his heavy use of guitars in the album as seen in "Guldove: Home," "Chronomantique," and " RADICAL DREAMERS ~Le Trésor Interdit~" to name a few.

Although I've heard many great albums, Chrono Cross is one of the few soundtracks I've come back to time and time again. I listen to it to relax, to get me through long flights across the country, or to get lost in the emotions of the music. It's an album that continues to endure in my life and in others I know as well. I don't see that presence fading anytime soon.

Reviewed by: Brad Hayes-Raugh

If you read my previous soundtrack reviews, you will read about how it is close to my favorite, but that it's position in my "favorites" listing would change with this soundtrack. This way, you knew that I had VERY HIGH expectations for this soundtrack. Just so you know, this thing DOES live up to my expectations. It is now my FAVORITE soundtrack of all time, and I don't know if any soundtrack will be changing that for a very long time.

This soundtrack, comprising of three discs, has some of the most haunting melodies known to man. The main theme to this game is a mix of the old Chrono Trigger theme and the "Radical Dreamers" theme (Radical Dreamers was a primitive-type sequel to Chrono Trigger). Along with that theme, there's also the first track, "Time's Scar". I ask that you all check out this song and the other samples to find out how good this CD is. I purposefully chose many different songs of many different styles in my samples, because giving you more of the same would be boring. And yes, there is a LOT of the same, though it is still GREAT! Many themes are just tweaked in different ways to make a new song, and it's good they put both versions on the CD because both versions are stupendous.

I really can't say more about how much I like this soundtrack...I can tell you that Disc 3 is my favorite though. It's the best of the discs by far. It contains the vocal track done by Noriko Mitose and her band "Kirche". That is another GREAT track on here. Now that you want it so bad (And I know you do), where should you buy it? It's out of print now, so just keep your eyes out, and go for it!

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann