Chocobo's Mysterious Dungeon OST

[back cover]
Catalog Number: SSCX-10014 (reprint SQEX-10064)
Released On: December 21, 1997 (reprint February 1, 2006)
Composed By: Masashi Hamauzu
Arranged By: Masashi Hamauzu
Published By: DigiCube (reprint Square Enix)
Recorded At: Sound City, Tokyo
Format: 2 CDs (1 + 1 8cm bonus disc)
Buy this CD from VGM World

Disc One
01 - Prelude
02 - Beginning of a Trip
03 - Chocobo's House
04 - The First Dungeon
05 - A Mystery
06 - In Search of the Rare Item
07 - Whisper of the Water
08 - Chocobo Village
09 - Fat Chocobo
10 - Store Man
11 - I Don't Know Which Way to Go
12 - Wooden Room
13 - Scythe Man is Coming!
14 - Let's Go Underground
15 - Challenge
16 - After the Battle
17 - A Brief Rest
18 - Searching for You
19 - The Unknown Space
20 - Unresting Wings
21 - Atora's Theme
22 - Your Subject of Research?
23 - Let's Have a Dream
24 - God's Errand
25 - The World of Darkness
26 - Iron Warrior
27 - Where we Reached
28 - Courage
29 - Fight, Chocobo!
30 - Finale
Total Time:

Bonus Disc
01 - Chocobo's Happy Christmas
02 - C/W: Dreams on Wings
Total Time:

The first print came with this outer slipcover case.

Chocobo's Mysterious Dungeon, the game that didn't make it to America...for a reason. Most people will let you know that the game was downright horrible. However, most people never finish the game and neglect to appreciate what could be some of the most creative musical work to come from Squaresoft.

Ever since purchasing the SaGa Frontier 2 OST, I have become a big Hamauzu fan. However, he really hasn't done much with Squaresoft yet. It's just SF2, this, and a couple tracks from other Square CDs. This soundtrack, while not the same style as SF2, retains the composer's feel and the composer's synth usage. Not only that, but there are some GREAT orchestrated tracks going on here.

The opening and ending tracks are orchestrated, as well as both tracks on the bonus 8cm. The songs on the 8cm disc are AWESOME! I love these songs! The best part is that Chocobo's theme and a Christmas feel really go well together. These two little tracks make this CD a worthwhile purchase on its own, but then there's a whole OST that comes with it! At least, that's the way I like to see it.

Some of the OST tracks are bland, but most of them are very upbeat and fun-lovin' light-hearted goodness from Hamauzu. Let's just put it this way: If you like the way SaGa Frontier 2's music sounds, you're gonna like this at least as much, if not more! This soundtrack is (in my opinion) MUCH better than the Chocobo's Mysterious Dungeon 2 OST, and thus worth a purchase for at least $30.

And then the bad news: This soundtrack is very hard to find anywhere. I now give you my standard answer: wait for it on eBay. I encourage you to listen to these samples and take these words to heart...This is some GREAT GREAT music!

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann