Climax Landers OST
Catalog Number: MJCA-00053
Released On: August 18, 1999
Composed By: Hiroshi Kondo, Yasutaka Hatade, Michihiro Nomura, Chamy
Arranged By: Hiroshi Kondo, Yasutaka Hatade, Michihiro Nomura, Chamy
Published By: Marvelous Entertainment
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 1 CD

01 - Sword's Theme (Title Screen Arrange)
02 - Sword's Theme (Field Arrange)
03 - Something Flourishes
04 - Rapid
05 - Ancient House
06 - Dungeon (Mountain Cave)
07 - Battle
08 - Church
09 - Item Shop
10 - Rail's Theme (Field Arrange)
11 - Friday
12 - Zealous Siblings
13 - Dr. Alan
14 - Dungeon (Tomb of Ou)
15 - Lao's Theme (Field Arrange)
16 - Gang Dounatterunda
17 - Dungeon (Phantom Zone)
18 - The Yogurt is Transforming!
19 - Dungeon Boss Appearance
20 - Lao's House
21 - Lady's Theme (Field Arrange)
22 - Zukkoke Trio
23 - Dungeon (Downtown)
24 - Marlin's Theme (Field Arrange)
25 - Inside the Shop
26 - Oh, the Stupidity of Yatsura
27 - Dungeon (Holy Temple)
28 - Dandy
29 - True Citizen Day
30 - Marion's Theme (Field Arrange)
31 - Inclination of the Rabbit
32 - Dungeon (Doll House)
33 - Master's Theme
34 - Crisis Draws Near
35 - Last Dungeon
36 - Last Battle
37 - Rail's Theme
38 - Lady's Theme
39 - Marlin's Theme
40 - Lao's Theme
41 - Marion's Theme
42 - Sword's Theme
Total Time:

This is the soundtrack to the Dreamcast game "Climax Landers", known in America as "Time Stalkers". From what I'm told by friends who have played through the game, there aren't any tracks missing from this OST, making it by all means *complete*. I believe that this soundtrack is by all means a good one, and any fan of the Climax adventure games should check this soundtrack out.

One of the big advantages to this soundtracks is the fact that there are multiple composers: four, to be exact. I am a real believer in soundtracks with multiple composers...Look at all the great soundtracks with multiple composers! Chrono Trigger OST, Final Fantasy Tactics, Ogre Battle 64, and Treasure Hunter G, just to name a few. All of these stand out as great soundtracks...Even when the music genre seems similar, there is a definite diversity. While not as dramatic as the previously-listed soundtracks, this one does benefit with its diversity. It's more comparable to something like the Chocobo's Dungeon 2 OST. Also, like the CD2 OST review, samples from each composer are found below.

The synths used on this soundtrack are great. A lot of good piano is put in here, and some of the battle tracks are just hardcore, comparable to some Sakuraba tracks (track 7 is one such example, an amazing piece). The slower tracks come together as somewhat dramatic...All-around solid soundtrack. And though most people hate this game, anyone who has played through a good bit of it with the sound on will tell you that the soundtrack is a fine one. Editor Commodore Wheeler has been quoted by me as saying "The music is probably the best part of the game". That's saying something. Also, a note on the packaging. The liner notes are made of a different fiber than normal glossy paper...I don't really know what it is, but I would definitely call it "higher quality" than what normal CD booklets are made of; less flimsy.

This CD is a tough find, indeed. There was a time when offered it for a mere $13, but they have since cleared out everything they once had, and so your best bets are online auctions. I've never seen it for sale. It's not the best album in the world, but you may want it. Make your choice, friends.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann