Criminal Girls OST

[back cover]
Catalog Number: VGCD-0206
Released On: November 4, 2010
Composed By: Chuji Nagaoka, Junzo Yagami, Junichi Yoshida, Yuzo Koshiro, Noriyuki Kamikura, Kimihiro Abe, Mitsuhiro Kaneda, Yoshimi Kudo, Azusa Chiba, Hiroto Sasaki, Nobuyoshi Sano, Takeshi Abo
Arranged By: Chuji Nagaoka, Junzo Yagami, Junichi Yoshida, Noriyuki Kamikura, Kimihiro Abe, Mitsuhiro Kaneda, Yoshimi Kudo, Azusa Chiba, Hiroto Sasaki, Nobuyoshi Sano, Takeshi Abo, Yuzo Koshiro
Published By: 5pb.Records
Recorded At: Studio 5pb., Wonder Station, SOUND ARTS, ZERO STUDIO
Format: 2 CDs
Buy this CD from Play-Asia

Disc One
01 - Prison and Fetters
02 - Encounter in the Mud
03 - Scorched in the Joy
04 - Bewitching Labyrinth
05 - Inevitable Past
06 - Crimson Purgatory
07 - Providential Abyss
08 - Frightful Melody! Like a Dancing Paganini!
09 - Mess Around! Till the End of that World!
10 - What that Hell Offers
11 - Kizuna Battle
12 - Decisive Battle
13 - Time to Rest
14 - Punish Time
15 - Punish Time 2
16 - A Hell of Daily Life
17 - Fun Time
18 - Sweet Moments
19 - Dangerous Time
20 - Passing Sorrow
21 - The Girls' Determination
22 - The Sacred Precincts
23 - Calm Days
24 - To a New Future
Total Time:

Disc Two
01 - I Can Fly (Short ver.)
02 - Venus Mirror
03 - Everyone... Please Don't Die
04 - Love Games
05 - Notice Me...
06 - All Energy Straight
07 - One Two Three, Sir
08 - I Love It
09 - On Our Way (Short ver.)
Bonus Track
10 - Venus Mirror (Bonus Track ver.)
Original Karaoke
11 - I Can Fly (Short ver. Instrumental)
12 - Venus Mirror (Instrumental)
13 - Everyone... Please Don't Die (Instrumental)
14 - Love Games (Instrumental)
15 - Notice Me... (Instrumental)
16 - All Energy Straight (Instrumental)
17 - One Two Three, Sir (Instrumental)
18 - I Love It (Instrumental)
19 - On Our Way (Short ver. Instrumental)
Total Time:

Criminal Girls is a double-whammy of goodness. So good it should be illegal.

Seriously, almost all games like these would separate the products: sell the "OST" (disc 1) as one product, and the "character vocal collection" (disc 2) as another. Make more money, and frustrate consumers. Now that I think about it, this seems the more "criminal" option. Perhaps these girls were properly reformed?

The OST is a surprisingly strong set of pop, rock, and dance tunes, all sufficiently synthesized to a high degree. The three composers for this "standard RPG" BGM are Chuji Nagaoka, Junzo Yagami, and Junichi Yoshida. None of these names are familiar to me, but they seem to have the same quality to them as those who have come before them in games like these: Tenpei Sato, Takeshi Abo, Minako Adachi, Takashi Okamoto, and others. Just, totally solid BGM. The trio of BGM composers operate as a unit, known as "CUBE," and their most recent game before this was Konami's adventure title "Time Hollow" for DS.

The second disc has vocals composed and arranged by a variety of big-name VGM stars, including Nobuyoshi Sano, Yuzo Koshiro, Basiscape's Azusa Chiba and Yoshimi Kudo, as well as the aforementioned Takeshi Abo. These vocal tracks are, for the most part, very strong. It beats anything I heard from Growlanser or, more recently, Death Connection. I haven't heard a good collection of "character" vocal themes in awhile. It was a refreshing listen.

Most importers will ignore this soundtrack, since this game really doesn't have a chance of coming to North America. The premise is humorous, but the audio should be taken a little more seriously. I will be watching the continued careers of the folks who worked on the first disc. If you're willing to take a risk on something new, check out the Criminal Girls. They have some mighty fine music accompanying them.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann