Chrono Trigger OST
Catalog Number: SQEX-10167~70
Released On: July 29, 2009
Composed By: Yasunori Mitsuda, Nobuo Uematsu, Noriko Matsueda, Tsuyoshi Sekito
Arranged By: Tsuyoshi Sekito
Published By: Square Enix
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 4 CDs (3 CD, 1 DVD)
Buy this album from Play-Asia

Disc One
01 - Premonition
02 - Chrono Trigger
03 - Morning Sunlight
04 - Peaceful Days
05 - Green Memory
06 - Guardia Millenial Fair
07 - Gato's Song
08 - A Mysterious Event
09 - Longing of the Wind
10 - Good Night
11 - Secret of Forest
12 - Battle 1
13 - Guardia Castle ~Courage and Pride~
14 - Huh!?
15 - Manoria Abbey
16 - A Prayer for Travellers on the Road
17 - Silent Light
18 - Boss Battle 1
19 - Frog's Theme
20 - Fanfare 1
21 - The Royal Trial
22 - The Hidden Truth
23 - By a Hair's Breadth
24 - Crono & Marle - A Distant Promise (Arrange Version 1)
25 - Chrono Trigger (Arrange Version)
26 - Ayla's Theme (Arrange Version)
27 - Frog's Theme (Arrange Version)
Total Time:

Disc Two
01 - A Ruined World
02 - Riddle of the Past
03 - Number 16's Ruins
04 - People Who Cast Away the Will to Live
05 - Lavos' Theme
06 - The Day the World Ended
07 - Berserk Robo Biker Gang Johnny
08 - Bike Chase
09 - Robo's Theme
10 - Factory Ruins
11 - Battle 2 (UNRELEASED TRACK)
12 - Fanfare 2
13 - The Brink of Time
14 - The Merry Spekkio
15 - Fanfare 3
16 - Underground Waterway
17 - Boss Battle 2
18 - Primeval Mountain
19 - Ayla's Theme
20 - Rhythm of Wind, Sky and Earth
21 - Burn! Bobonga!
22 - Maou's Castle
23 - Melody of Confusion
24 - Decisive Battle with Maou
25 - Chrono Trigger (Arrange Version 2)
26 - Chrono Trigger (Arrange Version 3)
27 - Schala's Theme (Arrange Version 3)
Total Time:

Disc Three
01 - Singing Mountain (UNRELEASED TRACK)
02 - Tyran Castle
03 - At the Depth of Night
04 - Chrono Corridor
05 - Zeal Palace
06 - Schala's Theme
07 - Sealed Door
08 - Undersea Palace
09 - Crono and Marle ~A Faraway Promise~
10 - Epoch ~Wings that Cross Time~
11 - Black Omen
12 - Determination
13 - World Revolution
14 - Last Battle
15 - The Star Festival
16 - Epilogue ~To Beloved Friends~
17 - Outskirts of Time
18 - Ending ~ Burn! Bobonga! Burn! ~ Frog's Theme ~ Outskirts of Time (Arrange Version)
19 - Crono & Marle ~ A Distant Promise (Arrange Version)
20 - One Sunny Day When We Met
21 - Scattering Blossoms
22 - A Meeting with Destiny
23 - Time to Rest - After the Battle
24 - Extras Mode - Frog's Theme
Total Time:

Disc Four: DVD
01 - Yasunori Mitsuda Special Interview
02 - Chrono Trigger - Orchestra Version Music Video
03 - Chrono Trigger Medley - Orchestra Version Music Video
Total Time:

Note: "Maou" was renamed "Magus" in the American release of the game. When you see "Maou" in the tracklist, know that it is synonymous with "Magus."

Hey, it's another version of the Chrono Trigger soundtrack! As if we needed another one.

Before we get to the music (which is, of course, completely awesome), let's take a step back and ask ourselves why this soundtrack exists. Is the music any different because this is the soundtrack to the DS port of an SNES game? Nope, it's the exact same. There are some bonus tracks tacked on that were arranged by Tsuyoshi Sekito for the PlayStation version (and released on a one-disc print of the OST in 1999). So, yes, this is a more complete printing. But let's get to the real reason why this soundtrack exists. That and, I suppose, to flaunt more video content on the bonus DVD. And to get those five previously-unreleased bonus tracks from Sekito out there (see end of disc three). So, okay, there may have been more than one reason. But the Square Enix ownership thing is, I would argue, still the primary reason.

The full, three disc "Chrono Trigger Original Sound Version" was printed by NTT Publishing in 1995. And NTT reprinted this same album, along with dozens of other Squaresoft soundtracks, a decade later (in the "NTTP" catalog series). NTT has their own version of the soundtrack, and they make money off of those sales. Square Enix, not so much. So let's ask ourselves again: why does this print of the soundtrack exist? Yes, that's right, as a way of saying "here's the best, most complete version of the music, direct from Square Enix's music publishing house." That is, in my opinion, the one and only reason why this soundtrack exists.

Now that we have that statement out of the way, let's reconfirm a simple fact for ourselves here and now. Is this soundtrack awesome? Yes, yes it is. A collaboration between two titans of VGM (Uematsu and Mitsuda), as a soundtrack for the "dream team" RPG of the 16-bit era, is something we must never forget. And it's hard to forget, indeed, with so many memorable compositions packed into one soundtrack. Even quote-unquote "generic" dungeon themes like "Light of Silence" or "Secret of the Forest" will immediately flood your mind with memories of this classic RPG. And are they not powerful and positive memories? Of course they are. The music is fantastic, as is the game.

Some quick thoughts on tracks 20 through 24 of disc three (the previously unreleased tracks from Sekito). There are a lot of melodic themes that we find in the game's official tracks that were also here. These tracks were all used in the bonus (Omake) menus, etc, for the PlayStation version. Among them, I'd argue that the best one is "Time to Rest - After the Battle." It's a bouncy, catchy track that you would not expect to hear from Sekito. The other unreleased tracks seem bland and half-thought-out. Nonetheless, They all have that Chrono Trigger feel, primarily because they use the same soundscape from the SNES FM-synth days, so it's good that they were placed on this new soundtrack.

If you have never played Chrono Trigger, or if, somehow, you didn't pay attention to it while playing the game, let me do my best to briefly explain what makes it so great. The chord progressions in most pieces, for starters, are fresh and interesting for an RPG. There's a part of you that feels like this is par-for-the-course, easy-on-the-ears stuff; and yet, another part of you says "no one's ever done it like this before, and no one ever will." The synth manipulation on the SNES sound chip was simply fantastic. Ethnic instruments like shakuhachi flutes and Indian tabla drums come out sounding crisp and clean. Everything else, I can't easily put to words (without it sounding like a fanboy rant, at any rate). You just have to hear it for yourself. It is truly a pinnacle achievement in game music.

I could easily go on and on about my favorite tracks. Of course I love every single track from ther 12,000 BC era. Of course Frog's Theme is hands-down one of the best pieces of music from a game. And, of course, I appreciate Square Enix taking the time to make this soundtrack a more complete release than any that has come before it. And what it comes down to is this: do you really want to re-purchase this album? Because, if you're the kind of person that reads soundtrack reviews, you really ought to have it in your collection already. In the strange, off chance that you don't have it, here's your latest chance to get in on the action! Otherwise, I'm not sure it's worth owning twice over. But hey, maybe it is. This is Chrono Trigger we're talking about here.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann