- RPGFan Music - Chrono Trigger OSV

Chrono Trigger OSV

[back cover]
Catalog Number: PSCN-5021~3 (reprint NTCP-5021~3)
Released On: January 21, 1995 (reprint October 1, 2004)
Composed By: Yasunori Mitsuda, Noriko Matsueda, Nobuo Uematsu
Arranged By: Yasunori Mitsuda, Nobuo Uematsu
Published By: NTT Publishing
Recorded At: Sunrise Studio
Format: 3 CDs
Buy this album from CDJapan

Disc One
01 - Premonition
02 - Chrono Trigger
03 - Morning Sunlight
04 - Peaceful Days
05 - Green Memory
06 - Guardia Millenial Fair
07 - Gato's Song
08 - A Mysterious Event
09 - Longing of the Wind
10 - Good Night
11 - Secret of Forest
12 - Battle 1
13 - Guardia Castle ~Courage and Pride~
14 - Huh!?
15 - Manoria Abbey
16 - A Prayer for Travellers on the Road
17 - Silent Light
18 - Boss Battle 1
19 - Frog's Theme
20 - Fanfare 1
21 - The Royal Trial
22 - The Hidden Truth
23 - By a Hair's Breadth
Total Time:

Disc Two
01 - A Ruined World
02 - Riddle of the Past
03 - Number 16's Ruins
04 - People Who Cast Away the Will to Live
05 - Lavos' Theme
06 - The Day the World Ended
07 - Berserk Robo Biker Gang Johnny
08 - Bike Chase
09 - Robo's Theme
10 - Factory Ruins
11 - Battle 2 (UNRELEASED TRACK)
12 - Fanfare 2
13 - The Brink of Time
14 - The Merry Spekkio
15 - Fanfare 3
16 - Underground Waterway
17 - Boss Battle 2
18 - Primeval Mountain
19 - Ayla's Theme
20 - Rhythm of Wind, Sky and Earth
21 - Burn! Bobonga!
22 - Maou's Castle
23 - Melody of Confusion
24 - Decisive Battle with Maou
Total Time:

Disc Three
01 - Singing Mountain (UNRELEASED TRACK)
02 - Tyran Castle
03 - At the Depth of Night
04 - Chrono Corridor
05 - Zeal Palace
06 - Schala's Theme
07 - Sealed Door
08 - Undersea Palace
09 - Crono and Marle ~A Faraway Promise~
10 - Epoch ~Wings that Cross Time~
11 - Black Omen
12 - Determination
13 - World Revolution
14 - Last Battle
15 - The Star Festival
16 - Epilogue ~To Beloved Friends~
17 - Outskirts of Time
Total Time:

Note: "Maou" was renamed "Magus" in the American release of the game. When you see "Maou" in the tracklist, know that it is synonymous with "Magus."

Although he was originally hired by Squaresoft as a game music composer, Yasunori Mitsuda spent the first few years working there as a sound engineer and other various small jobs. Eventually, he grew tired of not having a chance to actually compose music and brought his complaint to the bigwigs of Square, who agreed to let him compose the soundtrack for their next big project. The result is the Chrono Trigger OSV, with a little help from Nobou Uematsu (I personally found that Uematsu's eight contributions generally weren't the best compositions here, with the exception being 'Sealed Door', Belthasar's Theme.)

The Chrono Trigger OSV is three CDs (64 tracks) long, and even with its outdated sound, it still remains a favorite in my collection. Many of the tracks are simply memorable whether or not it's because it coincides with a memorable scene from the game itself. Maybe it could be the game as well, but this album has a lot of charm and personality to it. The OSV even includes two unreleased tracks, "Battle 2" and "Mountain Song," and to this day I don't understand why they weren't actually used in the game, especially "Mountain Song." They're two very awesome tracks just like the rest of the album, "Mountain Song" being one of my favorites.

Even though Mitsuda never originally intended to be a game music composer before joining Square, and Chrono Trigger's didn't exactly sound like typical game music at the time, the music still fits very well without going over the top. The title track is one of the best opening tracks I've heard in a game, and "Silent Light" just makes your 'Game Over' all the more depressing. The album has a perfect blend of simple, light-hearted tunes, ("Spekkio"), upbeat tracks (Lucca and Robo's themes), sad themes ("At The Bottom of Night"), and darker themes (Magus' Castle, Ocean Palace) - not to mention a few that can't really fit into a category (Gato's theme). Mitsuda even experimented with lesser-used instruments ("Time Circuits", "Schala"), which turned out rather well, if not unforgettable. "Schala," in particular, feels like a mix of sadness and mystery when you listen to it. The music seems to always fit the mood in the game, a very good example being, "Battle with Magus" (guess when that one plays).

The downside to Chrono Trigger is the less than great tracks, but what album doesn't have these? "People Without a Hope" drifts without going anywhere, and the regular battle theme is less than motivating. Still, overall, that's nothing compared to the rest of the album, which is still very well worth its price. I know most of you have this in your game music collection already, but if you don't, what are you (still) waiting for?

Reviewed by: Liz Maas

The Chrono Trigger OSV soundtrack is a 3-CD set containing all the songs from Square's hit RPG Chrono Trigger, as well as a few songs that were not present in the game. Since this is an OSV soundtrack, the music is exactly the same as it is in the game. Chrono Trigger had a great deal of music, and there is a total of 64 tracks on these 3 CDs. Most of the tracks on this soundtrack are about 2 to 4 minutes long, and each track lasts long enough for the song's main chorus to repeat 2 or 3 times. The music in Chrono Trigger was spectacular, and it was filled with many great songs reflecting the many moods of Crono's time traveling adventure. Copies of this soundtrack can be purchased at most import merchandise stores, and supplies should still be ample.

Reviewed by: Musashi