Dark Cloud OST

[back cover]
Catalog Number: SVWC-7072
Released On: January 11, 2001
Composed By: Tomohito Nishiura
Arranged By: Tomohito Nishiura
Published By: SME Visual Works
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 1 CD

01 - Dark Cloud Main Theme
02 - The Ceremony
03 - The Village Festival
04 - The Resurrection of Norn Village
05 - The Destruction of Norn Village
06 - Open Your Eyes
07 - Norn Village
08 - The Cave of Djinni
09 - The Spirit King
10 - The Djinni Doran
11 - Matatagi Village
12 - Battle!
13 - Reminiscence
14 - Blaunpou
15 - Legend of Hunter
16 - Owl Forest
17 - The Guardians of the Forest
18 - Queens
19 - Broken Promise
20 - A Sinking Ship
21 - DUEL
22 - Factory
23 - The Ice Queen
24 - Broken Promise
25 - The Daily Life
26 - Standup!!
27 - Masca Rakka
28 - Departure
29 - If You Strain Your Ears...
30 - The Palace of the Sun and Moon
31 - Takeoff
32 - The King's Curse
33 - Aero Drop
34 - Mission!!
35 - Ocean and Moon
36 - The Land of Hope
37 - The Rowdy
38 - Memories
39 - Black Shadows
40 - The Corridor of Time
41 - Castle of Dark Heaven
42 - Time of Destiny
43 - Last Battle
44 - Emergency
45 - Two Moons
46 - Main Theme (Bossa Nova Version)
Total Time:

Sony's PS2 RPG, Dark Cloud, was a game that did not focus on complex characters. Instead, the title's main draw was its engrossing gameplay. This changed the focus of the music as well. In the absence of emotional characters or storylines, the music focused on helping immerse the player into the game environment.

The Dark Cloud soundtrack is successful in creating just the right atmosphere for the particular area of the game. Whether it was traversing corridors of an ancient palace, exploring a sunken ship, fighting through overgrown jungles, or rebuilding a desert village, the music fit the area perfectly. Certainly, this made for an immersive gameplay experience, but it also makes for good listening outside of the game.

Composed by Tomohito Nishiura, this soundtrack uses the Playstation 2's hardware well. However, the real magic of this soundtrack is its ability to create mood. I bought this CD after playing the game, so I may be a bit biased about this. But, I think the music stands well on its own. I find it to be high quality outside of the game, but I can understand how others may disagree.

Some may be displeased at how quickly the songs change as you listen through the CD. This CD is about seventy-two minutes long, and there are forty-six tracks, so the average length is about a minute and a half. Another very small complaint that some may have is that the acoustic guitar is a bit overused by Nishiura in this soundtrack

Personally, I really enjoyed this CD, and I hope to hear more of Nishiura's work in the future. As of the date of this review, Otaku still has this album for around $20, or you can go to GMO for a slightly higher price. So, if you liked the music to this game, pick it up while you still can.

Editor's Note: This soundtrack is now obsolete.

Reviewed by: SrBehemoth


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, November 25th
TBA • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Darksiders w/Maxx • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT
Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth - Hacker's Memory w/Kat • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Threads of Fate w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Zero Escape Trilogy w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE w/Nathan • 10:30am PDT/1:30pm EDT
Zero Escape Trilogy w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Kingdom Hearts II Final Mix w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Zero Escape Trilogy w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Fire Emblem: Path of Radiance w/Kat • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Friday Super Variety Night w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Zero Escape Trilogy w/Scott • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

The Council Episode 4 Review

The Council Episode 4

Top 20 PlayStation Vita Games

Top 20 PlayStation Vita Games

Crowdfunding Chronicles Volume 1

Crowdfunding Chronicles Volume 1

Square Enix Reveals Final Fantasy XIV: Shadowbringers

Square Enix Reveals Final Fantasy XIV: Shadowbringers

Retro Encounter 162

Retro Encounter 162