Dragon Quest in Concert
Catalog Number: BY30-5173
Released On: October 21, 1987
Composed By: Koichi Sugiyama, Saint-Saëns (composed Le Carnaval des Animaux)
Arranged By: Koichi Sugiyama
Published By: Apollon
Recorded At: Suntory Hall, Tokyo
Format: 1 CD

01 - Overture March
02 - Château Ladutorm
03 - People
04 - Unknown World
05 - Fight
06 - Dungeon
07 - King Dragon
08 - Finale
09 - Dragon Quest March
10 - Château
11 - Town
12 - Fright in Dungeon~Devil's Tower
13 - Requiem
14 - Endless World
15 - Beyond the Waves
16 - Deathfight~Dead or Alive
17 - My Road, My Journey
18 - Introduction et Marche Royale Lion
19 - Poules et Coqs
20 - Hémoines
21 - Tortues
22 - L'éléphant
23 - Kongourous
24 - Aquarium
25 - Personnages à Longues Oreilles
26 - Le Coucou au Fond des Bois
27 - Vilière
28 - Pianistes
29 - Fossiles
30 - Le Cygne
31 - Final
Total Time:

As you can see by the release date on this CD, Dragon Quest music goes way back. If I am not mistaken, the first Dragon Quest CDs were printed in late '85 or early '86. This soundtrack brings you live, concert hall music for Dragon Quest I and II, as well as an added extra, part of the "Family Classic Concert" concept.

Confused? It's OK if you are. The concept of "Family Classic Concert" is to have music from two different things performed in one single concert. Dragon Quest, original classic music. This CD is only half Dragon Quest. The other half is of an original compisition called "Le Carnaval des Animaux" which is French for "The Parade of Animals". While this music is cool, it has nothing to do with RPGs so I won't go into much detail, all I can say is that it's good and I've given one sample from one of my favorite tracks on there (it sounds like Vagrant Story music).

The Dragon Quest tracks are great. Anyone who knows anything about Dragon Quest knows that the early music is where Sugiyama really shines as a composer. The dark, medieval type compositions on here are great, as well as the stunning fanfares and whatnot. Listen to the samples for yourself if you want to get the idea. I really have to recommend the music from Dragon Quest II: Sugiyama shines with this great composition.

Dragon Quest soundtracks are fairly hard to come by these days, but you'll always see a couple soundtracks of the MANY DQ soundtracks out there on eBay...But watch out for SonMay and Ever Anime copies! They're also around quite a bit. Just to give you an idea as to the rarity of this soundtrack, I believe I've seen it up twice on eBay (authentic) from early 2000 to when this review was written...And one of those times was the time I bought it on eBay. I've probably seen about 10 SonMay/Ever Anime bootlegs of this soundtrack on eBay as well, and people get confused sometimes (unfortunately) and pay more for the bootleg than what most pay for the original. So, again, be a smart eBay consumer if you really want this fine soundtrack!

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, October 21
Rogue Legacy w/Kat & Kyle • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Darksiders w/Maxx • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT
Lufia II: Rise of the Sinistrals w/Kat • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Star Ocean: Till The End of Time w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Xenoblade Chronicles 2: Torna - The Golden Country w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE w/Nathan • 10:30am PDT/1:30pm EDT
Xenoblade Chronicles 2: Torna - The Golden Country w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Kingdom Hearts - Re:Chain of Memories w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Xenoblade Chronicles 2: Torna - The Golden Country w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Fire Emblem: Path of Radiance w/Kat • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Friday Super Variety Night w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Xenoblade Chronicles 2: Torna - The Golden Country w/Scott • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

The Banner Saga 3 Overture

The Banner Saga 3 Overture

The Banner Saga 3

The Banner Saga 3 Soundtrack

Retro Encounter 158: Mega Man Legends 2

Retro Encounter 158

Retro Encounter Final Thoughts ~ Mega Man Legends

Final Thoughts ~ Mega Man Legends

Retro Encounter Feature
Fell Seal: The Arbiter's Mark Preview

Fell Seal: The Arbiter's Mark

Hands-On Preview