Dragon Quest on Piano Vol. II

[back cover]
Catalog Number: APCG-4005
Released On: August 10, 1990
Composed By: Koichi Sugiyama
Arranged By: Tomoyuki Hayashi
Published By: Apollon
Recorded At: Taihei Studio
Format: 1 CD

Dragon Quest III
01 - Rondo of the Royal Palace
02 - Street
03 - Jipang
04 - Pyramid
05 - Village
06 - Adventure
07 - Dungeon
08 - Tower
09 - The Phantom Ship
10 - Requiem
11 - Small Shrine
12 - Crossing the Sea
13 - Flying in the Great Sky
14 - Theme of Battle ~ Alefgard ~ Challenge of the Heroes
15 - Into the Legend
Dragon Quest II
16 - Dragon Quest March
17 - LOVE SONG: Searching
18 - Royal Castle
19 - Town
20 - Fright in Dungeon~Devil's Tower
21 - Requiem
22 - Evil One
23 - Endless World
24 - Beyond the Waves
25 - Deathfight~Dead or Alive
26 - My Road, My Journey
Total Time:

Piano CDs have always been known in the VGM community as some of the most refined, beautiful soundtracks out there. Always arranged in a beautiful style, Piano arrangements usually are a favorite in people's sets. However, there are always exceptions to the rules. Dragon Quest is that exception.

Now, I do not know about the other CDs yet, but I am told that every Dragon Quest on Piano CD is pretty pathetic...As of now there are five...Dragon Quest on Piano vol. 1 and 2 which cover DQ1-4, then a separate CD for DQ5, and another one "DQ6 on Piano," and in January of 2001 comes DQ7 on Piano. Again, I don't know how bad first hand these CDs are, but I can get a pretty clear picture based on this CD.

What people must understand about this CD is that it doesn't sound bad at all...It's not some grating experience for your ears, it sounds fine. However, there is no arrangement involved here at all. Some of you might know about the publishing company "Do-Re-Mi" that makes pretty easy sheet music for many game soundtracks? Well, this CD is like having a piano recital where all the kids bought these books for Dragon Quest II and III and played out of the book. While this wouldn't be bad for a kid, Koichi Sugiyama and some other lady (cannot find the name) are playing it. It's a direct rendition of what you hear on any other DQ CD, but very boring because it's just on piano.

The CD does have some redeeming qualities; some of these songs just sound pretty good on the piano. I tried to sample the best tracks on here, but I'm not sure they're all that good. If you refuse to call this CD bad, you must say that it's mediocre at best. I have to contemplate whether I'd rather listen to this or the OSS (with it's completely annoying sound effects). Overall, a simple CD, great for simple people and DQ soundtrack collectors only. I'd recommend you not pay any more than $15 for it (I paid $20...I should be shot). You cannot find this CD anywhere anymore, just keep an eye out on eBay for some desperate person to get rid of what is probably the dullest CD in their collection.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann