Super Famicom Edition Symphonic Suite Dragon Quest II

[back cover]
Catalog Number: SRCL-2734
Released On: February 21, 1994
Composed By: Koichi Sugiyama
Arranged By: Koichi Sugiyama
Published By: Sony Records
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 1 CD

London Philharmonic Orchestra Version
01 - Dragon Quest March
02 - Love Song ~ Only Lonely Boy
03 - Pastoral ~ Catastrophe
04 - Château
05 - Town
06 - Fright in Dungeon ~ Devil's Tower
07 - Requiem
08 - Endless World
09 - Beyond the Waves
10 - Deathfight ~ Dead or Alive
11 - My Road My Journey
Original Game Sound
12 - Love Song
13 - Pastoral ~ Catastrophe
14 - Château
15 - Town
16 - Fright in Dungeon
17 - Devil's Tower
18 - Requiem
19 - Small Shrine
20 - Distant Journey
21 - Endless Universe
22 - Ocean Journey
23 - Fight
24 - Risk Death
25 - My Road My Journey
26 - ME Sound Collection (Inn ~ Encounter ~ Won the Lottery ~ Victory ~ Level Up ~ Mantra ~ Church ~ Important Item Discovery ~ Echoing Flute ~ Charm of Rubiss)
Total Time:

Though you can get the London Philharmonic recording of Dragon Quest I and II on the same disc, the option also exists to purchase Dragon Quest II Symphonic Suite, with the Super Famicom OST tracks, as a separate disc from Sony Records.

If you like Super Famicom synth, that's an excellent reason to pick up this album. I was actually surprised by how much I enjoyed the Music Effect Collection (track 18) on this disc. Classic noises, but 16-bit subdued instead of 8-bit grainy.

The OST half of the album breaks down a number of "medley" tracks into separate tracks, and they (the OST tracks) are given red carpet treatment. They are looped, and as a result, the total time for the disc exceeds the one hour mark. In terms of sheer quantity, this is the most Dragon Quest II you can get in a single disc!

I don't particularly think the London Philharmonic recording of DQII Symphonic Suite is strong, and am much more attracted to the Tokyo Metropolitan recording. However, the inclusion of the Super Famicom OST makes this album a worthwhile addition for collectors.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann