RPGFan Discord Server

Symphonic Suite Dragon Quest VI ~The Dream World~

[back cover]
Catalog Number: SRCL-2737/8
Released On: December 21, 1995
Composed By: Koichi Sugiyama
Arranged By: Koichi Sugiyama
Published By: Sony Records
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 2 CDs

Disc One
Orchestra Version
01 - Overture
02 - At the Palace
03 - In the Town~Happy Humming~Inviting Village~Folk Dance
04 - Through the Fields~Wandering Through the Silence~Another World
05 - Ocean Waves
06 - Flying Bed
07 - Pegasus~Saint's Wreath
08 - Evil World~Satan's Castle~Frightening Dungeon
09 - Brave Fight
10 - Melancholy
11 - Ocarina~The Saint
12 - Devil's Tower
13 - Dungeons~Last Dungeon
14 - Monsters~Demon Combat
15 - Eternal Lullaby
Total Time:

Disc Two
Original Game Version
01 - Overture
02 - Intermezzo
03 - Going to the Castle Mudo
04 - In the Town
05 - Happy Humming
06 - Folk Dance
07 - Inviting Village
08 - At the Palace
09 - Through the Fields
10 - Wandering Through the Silence
11 - Another World
12 - Saint's Wreath
13 - Flying Bed
14 - Ocean Waves
Dungeon Series
15 - Evil World
16 - Dungeons
17 - Frightening Dungeon
18 - Devil's Tower
19 - Castle of Mudo
20 - Last Dungeon
21 - Melancholy
22 - Ocarina
23 - The Saint
24 - Pegasus
Fighting Series
25 - Brave Fight
26 - Fight Daringly
27 - Monsters
28 - Demon Combat
29 - Eternal Lullaby
Bonus Track
30 - ME Collection (Inn~Church~Friends~Level Up~Curse~Save~Item~Fanfare 1~Fanfare 2~Fanfare 3~Mystery Harp~Fever~Roll. Appearance)
Total Time:

I, in my entire life, had never played a Dragon Quest game before listening to this soundtrack. Because of this, I had no idea what to expect. Here's an in-depth re-enactment, through text, of what happened when I listened to the CD.

me: Whoa...
2 hours later
me: Whoa...

It was really, really good. Being a fan of symphonies, the first disc was heaven. But even after that, I was extremely amazed at the quality of music from the second disc which is the "Original Sound Story" (or the "OST" side). I will say, I still like its rival more for music quality (Final Fantasy VI), but that may only be because I've played FF6 and have not played DQ6. From an unbiased perspective, I wouldn't be able to decide which is better.

This is the original print of the album; many reprints and re-recordings have followed all the original prints of Dragon Quests I through VI. This is the only one, however, to include the "Original Sound Story."

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann


Twitch Schedule & Status

Tales of the Abyss
Sunday, March 18 • 10am PST/1pm EST

On Break
Mondays • 6pm PST/9pm EST

Tuesdays • 12pm PST/3pm EST

MS Saga: A New Dawn
Thursdays • 3pm PST/6pm EST

Secret of Mana Remake
Fridays • 3pm PST/6pm EST

Tales of Vesperia
Tues-Wed-Thu • 7pm PST/10pm EST
Saturdays • 5pm PST/8pm EST

Featured Content
Secret of Mana Review
Secret of Mana
Ni no Kuni II: Revenant Kingdom Hands-On Preview
Ni no Kuni II: Revenant Kingdom
Hands-On Preview
Retro Encounter 126
Retro Encounter 126
Yakuza 6: The Song of Life Review
Yakuza 6: The Song of Life
Hakuoki: Edo Blossoms Review
Hakuoki: Edo Blossoms
Glory to Metal: A Symphonic Metal Tribute to NieR: Automata Review
Glory to Metal: A Symphonic Metal Tribute to NieR: Automata