Dragon Force II -When the Gods Abandoned the Earth-

[back cover]
Catalog Number: MJCA-00019
Released On: April 17, 1998
Composed By: Hayato Matsuo, Kouhei Tanaka (1, 54)
Arranged By: Takayuki Negishi (1, 54)
Published By: Marvelous Entertainment
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 1 CD

01 - Opening Theme ~ Invitation to Fight Alongside the Hero
02 - Main Theme
03 - Select Your Leader
04 - Personal Combat
05 - Game Over
06 - Battle Preparation Screen
07 - Highland Theme 1
08 - Highland Theme 2
09 - Highland Theme 3
10 - Fandalia Theme 1
11 - Fandalia Theme 2
12 - Fandalia Theme 3
13 - Moon Palace Theme 1
14 - Moon Palace Theme 2
15 - Moon Palace Theme 3
16 - Izumo Theme 1
17 - Izumo Theme 2
18 - Izumo Theme 3

<Movie Part>
19 - Teiris' Image
20 - Teiris Appears
21 - Awakening Ceremony
22 - The Spirit's Flight
23 - Prayer
24 - Izanami, Izanagi
25 - Blood Relative
26 - The Robot's Soul
27 - Two People
28 - King of Darkness
29 - CG Movie

30 - Traddonoa Theme 1
31 - Traddonoa Theme 2
32 - Traddonoa Theme 3
33 - Topaz Theme 1
34 - Topaz Theme 2
35 - Topaz Theme 3
36 - Bozack Theme 1
37 - Bozack Theme 2
38 - Bozack Theme 3
39 - Tristan Theme 1
40 - Tristan Theme 2
41 - Tristan Theme 3
42 - Dungeon
43 - Underground Empire Theme
44 - Estan Theme
45 - Olvo Theme
46 - Mydia Theme
47 - Lasbos Theme 1
48 - Lasbos Theme 2
49 - Epilogue 1
50 - Epilogue 2
51 - Epilogue 3
52 - Epilogue 4
53 - Epilogue 5
54 - Ending Theme ~ Between Dream and Sleep...
Total Time

After reviewing the Dragon Force Original Soundtrack I went on to review the sequel's soundtrack as well, and while I've never played Dragon Force II, everything I've ever read about it says that it's mostly a rehashing of the original with a roster update and some new features. However, one of the big changes was obviously the fact that for the second game they surprisingly decided not to go with composer Tatsuyuki Maeda for the soundtrack. Instead, they enlisted the services of Hayato Matsuo, Kouhei Tanaka, and Takayuki Negishi. So while listening to this particular soundtrack, I imagined how the original Dragon Force might sound with this music while also judging the music on its own merit. That said, this official soundtrack release suffers from a couple of the same drawbacks that the original did, namely tracks not looping and the whole soundtrack being jammed all onto one disk again, which is even more noticeable this time as instead of 24 tracks being put onto one CD, there are 54 tracks on one CD, with each track averaging one minute and twenty-three seconds about. Considering the Opening Theme and Ending Theme are longer than 4 and 5 minutes respectively and that no other track even reaches 3 minutes, you get the idea of how abrupt each song feels when listening. Also, I'm betting that once again a lot of the little musical cues and such were left off this CD, although I'm not certain seeing as I haven't played the game.

By now, you're probably wondering how the actual music of the game is. Well, to be honest, it's almost entirely forgettable. I've listened to this soundtrack several times now and I think the only tracks worth mentioning (I guess) are the Opening Theme, Two People, Epilogue 4, and the Ending Theme. Speaking in general about the soundtrack, all of the tracks are very generic sounding and they don't seem to have any life to them at all, sounding very, very flat. The compositions tend to be minimalist and they slowly evolve but never seem to develop into anything memorable or noteworthy, leaving my ears completely bored.

I was so completely disappointed with this soundtrack I don't even have many words to describe it, sadly. It lacks the kind of brilliant vivacity that the original tracks had, using the same sound samples over and over in a method that I'm sure only the composers and arrangers were excited by. I imagine this soundtrack is hard to find, and unlike the original, there has been no Complete Album re-release featuring extended tracks or minor tracks, which, as I said before, I'm not sure of minor tracks even existing. Even if there was a re-release, the question I ask is ‘Who would want it?' The bulk of the work here, as stated, is dull and decidedly subdued, and I can't say I'd recommend it to anyone in fear of them being bored to tears and hating me forever.

Reviewed by: Helmholz


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, December 16th
Rogue Galaxy w/Maxx • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Darksiders w/Maxx • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT
Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth - Hacker's Memory w/Kat • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Kingdom Hearts: Dream Drop Distance w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Dragon Quest XI w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Dragon Quest XI w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Kingdom Hearts: Dream Drop Distance w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Dragon Quest XI w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Fire Emblem: Path of Radiance w/Kat • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Friday Super Variety Night w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Dragon Quest XI w/Scott • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

Games of the Year 2018: Readers' Choice

Games of the Year 2018: Readers' Choice

Vote now!
Fallout 76 Review

Fallout 76

Book of Demons

Book of Demons

Retro Encounter Final Thoughts ~ Nine Hours, Nine Persons, Nine Doors

Retro Encounter Final Thoughts ~ Nine Hours, Nine Persons, Nine Doors

Podcast Feature
RPGFan Founders Roundtable ~ An RPGFan 20th Anniversary Feature

RPGFan Founders Roundtable

An RPGFan 20th Anniversary Feature
Crowdfunding Chronicles Volume 3

Crowdfunding Chronicles Volume 3