[eM] -eNCHANT arM- OST

[back cover]
Catalog Number: RZCD-45343
Released On: February 22, 2006
Composed By: Yuki Ichiki, Tsukasa Saitou, Ayako Minami, Shouhei Tsuchiya, Daisuke Matsumoto, Sizk (1)
Arranged By: Yuki Ichiki, Tsukasa Saitou, Ayako Minami, Shouhei Tsuchiya, Daisuke Matsumoto, Sizk (1)
Published By: rhythm zone, Avex
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 1 CD

01 - Reborn (Instrumental)
02 - Day at the Academy
03 - Yokohama City Foundation Festival
04 - Wild Running Golem
05 - Revival of the Queen
06 - Battle with the QoI
07 - Enchant Arm
08 - Go to the Dam Sector
09 - Rondinus Forest
10 - Investigating the Ragau Beach
11 - The City is Quietly Exhausted
12 - Magical Research Facility of Kou
13 - The People of London City
14 - Magnificent Castle
15 - Noodonia Tunnel
16 - Resistance Hideout
17 - Escape Battle
18 - Sorrowful London Castle
19 - Temple of the Flaming Emperor
20 - Prayer
21 - Battle with the Flaming Emperor
22 - Towards Reconstruction
23 - Passing Through the Yarutsanpu Canyon
24 - This is Junk City
25 - Promise
26 - The Sound of the Golem Flute
27 - Zuiraaya Desert
28 - Mountain Lake
29 - Iwata Village
30 - The Shogun of Kyoto
31 - Meeting with the Sacred Tree
32 - Battle with the Fortress General
33 - Assault of the Oboro Clan
34 - Escape from the Veovis Volcano
35 - Tower of the Wise Man
36 - The Farthest Village
37 - Ancient Castle of Ice
38 - Battle with Touya
39 - QoI's Final Moments
40 - Awakening
41 - Battle with the BoH
42 - Yokohama City Foundation Festival -Reborn Acoustic Guitar Ver.-
Total Time:

From Software. That lovely, small, strange company that has a history of releasing mediocre games early in a system's life and then keeping quiet for a few years. That's right, the company that brought you Eternal Ring and Evergrace for PS2 is now releasing one of Xbox360's earliest RPGs: "eNCHANT arM."

The new title's soundtrack features work from five composers (unfortunately, Kota Hoshino isn't a part of the list) in a total of 42 tracks. Though I can't speak for the game itself, I find myself saying yet again that From Software has created another strange and unique soundtrack. Not every track is pleasing to the ear, and some tracks may be downright boring: but you haven't heard anything like this soundtrack in any other videogame on the market.

The opening track, "Reborn," is a 5 minute techno theme. It's the longest track on the album, and it's definitely one of my favorites. It has a sound different from most techno tracks; I can't explain it. Just listen.

Among the first ten tracks, about half of them are my favorites from the album. The first three tracks are all extremely unique, track 7 "Enchant Arm" features massive choir vocals, and track 9 "Rondinus Forest" is an interesting environment piece.

Things begin to go downhill from there, particularly because of the many "filler" tracks that just have weird echo-y noises and nothing more. However, there are still plenty of catchy and upbeat tracks throughout. Sampling, looping, and other weird/interesting rhythmic stuff happens along the way.

Though I'm assuming all of these sounds are originally synthesized, some of the percussion sounds very life-like. Take a listen to track 27: don't those drums sound great? As the song builds, the drums take on more complex rhythms; it's simply glorious. Many songs work in this same pattern, I am just using this one as an example.

The Acoustic version of Reborn at the end of the album was a bit of a letdown for me: it's slow and boring, not at all what I was expecting.

I know there's a small circle of From Software fans who already picked up this album. For the rest of you, it's definitely something worth checking out. So, go ahead and check it out! If you like what you hear, go get it. Play-Asia and CD Japan both stock it.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, November 18th
World of Final Fantasy MAXIMA w/Kat • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Darksiders w/Maxx • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT
Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth - Hacker's Memory w/Kat • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Threads of Fate w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Zero Escape Trilogy w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE w/Nathan • 10:30am PDT/1:30pm EDT
Zero Escape Trilogy w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Kingdom Hearts II Final Mix w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Zero Escape Trilogy w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Fire Emblem: Path of Radiance w/Kat • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Friday Super Variety Night w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Zero Escape Trilogy w/Scott • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

Crowdfunding Chronicles Volume 1

Crowdfunding Chronicles Volume 1

Square Enix Reveals Final Fantasy XIV: Shadowbringers

Square Enix Reveals Final Fantasy XIV: Shadowbringers

Retro Encounter 162

Retro Encounter 162

The Swords of Ditto Review

The Swords of Ditto

Call of Cthulhu Review

Call of Cthulhu