Eternal Ring OST
Catalog Number: ABCA-62
Released On: April 26, 2000
Composed By: Keiichiro Segawa, Yuji Kanda
Arranged By: Keiichiro Segawa, Yuji Kanda
Published By: Absord Music Japan
Recorded At: Riverside Music
Format: 1 CD

01 - Eternal Ring
02 - Seal
03 - Unknown Island
04 - Lamentation
05 - Transitory Quietness
06 - Congeries
07 - Hangs by a Thread
08 - Theme of Dragon
09 - Devastation
10 - A Mite
11 - Noah
12 - Nobleness
13 - Leaving Storey
14 - Sham Dead
15 - Death River
16 - Elicit
17 - Not-Being
18 - Faute
19 - The Fog is Coming In
20 - Fatalism
21 - Ilk
22 - Holy Water
23 - Emergent Evolution
24 - Alter
25 - Moan
26 - Taboo Words
27 - Juste
28 - Eternal Ring ~Album Version~
29 - Lamentation ~Album Version~
30 - Hangs by a Thread ~Album Version~
31 - Elicit ~Album Version~
32 - Theme of Dragon ~Album Version~
Total Time:

I hope I am not the only one who has noticed a certain trend about games that are released alongside a new videogame console: they're almost always terrible. This has been especially true with RPGs.

From Software, the company that decided not to pay attention to this tried and true rule of game-making, put out two horribly mediocre RPGs when the PS2 first came to this entertainment-hungry world. One of them was Eternal Ring.

Fortunately for those of us who have learned to appreciate music outside of the context of the videogame, the fate of a game need not be the fate of a game's music as well. The Eternal Ring OST has been, for me, a re-awakening to the possibility of finding good music in bad games.

(Relevant side-note: Beyond the Beyond, another gruesomely bad RPG for PS1's early years, had a pretty good soundtrack).

"Solid" is the keyword to this OST. It contains enjoyable melodies and instrumentation on almost every track. Traces of impressionist music styles blend with a more contemporary flavor, and the result is generally pleasing. The synth quality, especially on voice and piano, are fairly reminiscent of some of my favorite OSTs: Alundra and Treasure Hunter G.

As if a full-length disc of OST wasn't enough, we are also treated to six bonus tracks, higher-quality MIDI arrangements of some of the game's best songs. The change isn't too vast (take a listen to tracks 1 and 28; the differences are slight), but I found that I enjoyed both original and arranged tracks quite a bit.

I do not know the context of these songs with the respective game, and I don't have any intention of ever doing so. The music stands well on its own, and it's a shame that it does not correspond to a higher quality game, or else the soundtrack may have been more well known. Considering this soundtrack's lack of popularity, it is somewhat hard to find through online stores, but that also means that you might be able to secure it for a fairly low price. Whatever the case, I hope you have taken away some of the same insight as myself from this soundtrack: sometimes we find beauty in the most unexpected places.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, October 21
Rogue Legacy w/Kat & Kyle • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Darksiders w/Maxx • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT
Lufia II: Rise of the Sinistrals w/Kat • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Star Ocean: Till The End of Time w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Xenoblade Chronicles 2: Torna - The Golden Country w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE w/Nathan • 10:30am PDT/1:30pm EDT
Xenoblade Chronicles 2: Torna - The Golden Country w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Kingdom Hearts - Re:Chain of Memories w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Xenoblade Chronicles 2: Torna - The Golden Country w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Fire Emblem: Path of Radiance w/Kat • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Friday Super Variety Night w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Xenoblade Chronicles 2: Torna - The Golden Country w/Scott • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

Top 25 Nintendo 3DS Games

Top 25 Nintendo 3DS Games

Fatal Twelve Review

Fatal Twelve

Neverwinter Nights OST Review

Neverwinter Nights OST

Retro Encounter 157

Retro Encounter 157