Exodus Guilty OST
Catalog Number: MMCM-5006
Released On: February 5, 1999
Composed By: Yasuaki Ide, Ryuichi Sato, Mio Kumamoto
Arranged By: Yasuaki Ide, Ryuichi Sato, Mio Kumamoto
Published By: Marine Entertainment
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 1 CD

01 - Densetsu - Denshou
02 - Crisis
03 - Explication
04 - Death, Recollection
05 - Mother Heart
06 - Mystic - Forest
07 - Kokoro
08 - Fear
09 - Revival
10 - Starting
11 - Going in the Wilderniss
12 - Lonely Town
13 - Ur - Arc
14 - Hero
15 - Missionary
16 - Aqua
17 - Flare
18 - Quake
19 - Windy
20 - Shrine
21 - Gina = I
22 - Henmeguru
23 - Search
24 - Silence
25 - Eye
26 - Reina
27 - Phantom
28 - Riddle
29 - Treasure - Hunter
30 - Home
31 - Battle
32 - Algereach
33 - Bottom of a Lake Exploration
34 - An End
35 - Quiet Road
36 - Raraira
37 - Titi
38 - Zazan 1
39 - Zazan 2
40 - Reiruru
41 - Tatsuta
42 - Ririi
43 - Torarou Gate
44 - Village
45 - Ririnu
46 - Severity
47 - Opening Theme
Total Time:

Exodus Guilty is a video game that is truly epic in scope. It features lengthy intertwined storylines starring protagonists from current times, 1200 BC, and 13,000 AD. Revelations in one character's storyline presented clues to solving another character's conundrums in a different era. This graphic adventure was released in three parts for US audiences by the late Hirameki, though it originally was a one box game in Japan. Most visual novels are under 20 hours, and Exodus Guilty's entirety was around 40 hours so this game is epic.

Unfortunately, the soundtrack was anything but epic. 47 tracks compressed into one hour meant a bunch of very short tracks that ended before they even began. In addition, though I liked the music while playing the game, without the context of the game the MIDI-based compositions themselves were forgettable.

The music sounded a lot like generic fantasy JRPG music, which was disappointing given the game's three distinct settings. Only 1/3 of the game took place in a JRPG fantasy land. The other 2/3s of the game took place in modern times and a post-apocalyptic future. These dynamic settings lent themselves to dynamic music, but the music here lacked personality. There were many character themes throughout the soundtrack given the strong cast of unforgettable characters, but those lacked personality as well. The soundtrack ended with the opening theme, but this theme was actually unfamiliar to me, likely because it came from the original Exodus Guilty for PlayStation and not Exodus Guilty: Neos for Dreamcast which is what the Hirameki releases were based off of. This is too bad because this opening was rather atonal and the Neos opening was quite good.

It's a good thing Exodus Guilty has such a fantastic storyline and killer visuals that bolster such a flat soundtrack. I liked the music while I was playing the game, but listening to the music on its own was boring. Exodus Guilty is a dynamic visual novel with a great storyline that I highly recommend. However, I do not recommend the sountrack on its own because it felt rushed and the music does not stand on its own outside the context of the game at all.

Reviewed by: Neal Chandran


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, October 28
Costume Quest w/Maxx, Katherine & Kyle • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Darksiders w/Maxx • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT
Lufia II: Rise of the Sinistrals w/Kat • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Threads of Fate w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Resonance of Fate w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE w/Nathan • 10:30am PDT/1:30pm EDT
Resonance of Fate w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Kingdom Hearts II Final Mix w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Resonance of Fate w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Fire Emblem: Path of Radiance w/Kat • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Friday Super Variety Night w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Resonance of Fate w/Scott • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

Shenmue I & II

Shenmue I & II

The Banner Saga 3 Overture

The Banner Saga 3 Overture

The Banner Saga 3

The Banner Saga 3 Soundtrack

Retro Encounter 158: Mega Man Legends 2

Retro Encounter 158