Falcom Special Box '91

[back cover]
Catalog Number: KICA-9001~4
Released On: December 21, 1990
Composed By: Sound Team JDK
Arranged By: Etsuko Yamakawa, Keiichi Oku, Naoki Watanabe, Yuzo Hayashi, Tomohiko Kishimoto
Published By: King Records
Recorded At: King Studio 1/2
Format: 4 CDs (3 + 1 video single disc)

Disc One: Vocal Version
Falcom Excellent Selection
01 - Long Long Time Ago (Sorcerian "Peaceful Forest")
02 - The Prince of the Wind (Dragon Slayer ~ The Legend of Heroes "Town")
03 - Starshine Lullaby (Sorcerian "Travelers' Inn")
04 - The Wind's Monologue (Dragon Slayer ~ The Legend of Heroes "Ending I")
05 - Shadow of Vanburlan (Sorcerian "Cave II")
06 - Dream Dreamer (Sorcerian Additional Scenario Vol. 1 "Beautiful Day")
Total Time:

Disc Two: Super Arrange Version
Falcom Unknown Music
01 - Pirate Island (Dragon Slayer ~ The Legend of Heroes)
02 - Boss Battle (Ys III)
03 - Goodbye, Adol (Ys II)
04 - Theme of Adoru (Ys)
05 - Departure (Ys)
06 - Crossroad of Sadness (Ys)
Total Time:

Disc Three: Original Version
Falcom Unknown Music
Ys - The Lost Tracks (PC-9801 Ys II)
01 - Departure
02 - Crossroad of Sadness
03 - Battleground
04 - Mysterious Moment
05 - Theme of Adoru
06 - Dead-End Street
07 - Sub-Mission
08 - Fair Wind
09 - Shining Star
10 - Dreaming
11 - Chase of Shadow
12 - Over Drive
13 - Church
Dragon Slayer Family - Game Soundtrack (MSX/MSX2)
14 - Opening Theme
15 - Inn & Residence Theme
16 - Select Screen
17 - Overworld Theme
18 - All Together Now
19 - Shop Theme
20 - Theme of Xemn
21 - Battle with Tarantuness
22 - Theme of Pochi
23 - Battle with Erebone
24 - Theme of Lyll
25 - Battle with Archwinger
26 - Theme of Meia
27 - Battle with Rock Gaia
28 - Dragon Showdown
29 - Ending Theme
30 - Teatime Melody
31 - Death Theme
32 - Treasure Chest
Xanadu - Game Soundtrack (MSX/MSX2)
33 - Opening
34 - Dungeon
35 - I'm Starving
36 - Battle
37 - Ending
Dragon Slayer ~ The Legend of Heroes - Game Soundtrack (MSX/MSX2 FM Synthesis)
38 - Opening
39 - User Disc Creation
40 - Field
41 - Dungeon
42 - Agunija
43 - Ending I
Unreleased Tracks
44 - Lair's Poem (PC-9801 Ys II)
45 - Boss Battle (Ys III)
46 - Pirate Island (Dragon Slayer ~ The Legend of Heroes)
47 - Goodbye, Adol (Ys II)
Total Time:

Disc Four: Video Single Disc
JDK Band Visual Version
01 - To Make the End of Battle
Total Time:

Falcom's third special box, like the two before it, is the ultimate "mixed bag". Four discs: vocal arrangements, jazz/rock/fusion arrangements, original synthesized tracks, and even a music video! To mix things up even more, the vocal disc contains different vocalists and arrangers, so even the vocal tracks have widely varying styles.

With so many different options, there has to be something for everyone to love in this box, right? Well, maybe not.

Of the four discs, my favorite is without a doubt the vocal disc. Falcom vocals are always charming and fun, especially their earlier vocal tracks (from '89 to '93, I'd say). "Long Long Time Ago" is bouncy and catchy, "Dream Dreamer" has a notable use of vocal harmonies in the chorus, "Wind's Monologue" is sophisticated and enigmatic. The only song I don't like is "Starshine Lullaby", namely because it's too slow and drawn out for my tastes. However, all of these vocals can also be found, split up, between Falcom Vocal Collections I and II: so if the vocal tracks were the only tracks you liked, you wouldn't have any need for Special Box '91.

The second disc, for me, was fairly disappointing. This FSB's successor, '92, had one of the best "Super Arrange Versions" Falcom has ever released. On this disc, jazzy arrangements are made of the unknown/unreleased tracks on the "original version" disc of the same box (disc 3). Besides some very well-performed solos (especially on track 5, for which we have no audio sample), there is little for me to praise. Standard, almost contrived jazz and rock come together to take some already boring melodies and turn them into something that is not much more than mediocre. I was not impressed by these arrangements, and I wish they had either chosen better original pieces or gotten someone else to do the arrangement.

The third disc again re-defines the "mixed bag" status of SB '91: original tracks from Ys, Ys II, Dragon Slayer, Dragon Slayer Family, and Xanadu! All I can say about this disc is that it's like owning a piece of history: it has some interesting stuff, but nothing extraordinary. Listen to the samples yourself: they're good, but in this context, they aren't very special. And considering each track is usually no more than a minute, they aren't substantial on their own.

Finally, an interesting choice indeed, Falcom released a "video single disc" for the song "To Make the End of Battle." This video features clips from a live JDK Band performance, as well as scenes from the animated feature "Ys: Heaven's Sanctuary". Beyond the two minutes provided above by RPGFan, there are also a few scenes presented from Ys and Ys II (in-game cutscenes, that is). Like the vocal disc, this video can be found elsewhere through Falcom products, namely through the reprint of Falcom JDK Band 1: "JDK Band". I believe the disc works like that of a VCD, but I just ran the AVI file on my computer to watch it.

The song is from the JDK Band arrangement, and it is indeed a catchy song. Featuring a new opening and ending riff, as well as a softer "breakdown" in the middle, the five minute arrangement fits well with the image one is exposed to while watching this hip video that reeks of 80s style and flair.

of all the Special Boxes I've reviewed up to this point, this one might be my least favorite. The vocals are solid, but I can get them from other sources (as I've previously stated). The arranged disc is bland, and the original synth work isn't anything I desire. This collection is not too hot, and I wouldn't recommend the reader spend any large amount of time, effort, or money in purchasing this collection (unless, of course, you're a "collector", in which case my review shouldn't even matter). If you really want a good taste of Falcom, get Special Box '92.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, January 27th
TBA • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Suikoden w/Maxx • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT
Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth - Hacker's Memory w/Kat • 4pm PDT/7pm EDT

Super Robot Wars X w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Grandia 3 w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Mass Effect w/Nathan • 10am PDT/1pm EDT
Grandia 3 w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Fire Emblem: Path of Radiance w/Kat • 4pm PDT/7pm EDT
Grandia 3 w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Super Robot Wars X w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Friday Super Variety Night w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Grandia 3 w/Scott • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

Kingdom Hearts ~A Beginner's Guide~

Kingdom Hearts ~A Beginner's Guide~

Special Feature
Tales of Vesperia: Definitive Edition Giveaway

Tales of Vesperia: Definitive Edition Giveaway

Enter Now!
Mario & Luigi: Superstar Saga + Bowser's Minions Review

Mario & Luigi: Superstar Saga + Bowser's Minions

Tales of Vesperia Definitive Edition Review

Tales of Vesperia Definitive Edition

Retro Encounter 171

Retro Encounter 171

Prescription for Sleep: Fight for Your Dreams Review

Prescription for Sleep: Fight for Your Dreams