Final Fantasy & Final Fantasy II OST

[back cover]
Catalog Number: SSCX-10071/2 (reprint SQEX-10032/3)
Released On: October 23, 2002 (reprint September 23, 2004)
Composed By: Nobuo Uematsu
Arranged By: Nobuo Uematsu, Tsuyoshi Sekito
Published By: DigiCube (reprint Square Enix)
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 2 CDs
Buy this CD from Play-Asia

Disc One
Final Fantasy
01 - Opening Movie
02 - Opening Movie + SE
03 - Opening Demo
04 - The Prelude
05 - Opening Theme
06 - Cornelia Castle
07 - Main Theme
08 - Chaos' Temple
09 - Matoya's Cave
10 - Town
11 - Shop
12 - Ship
13 - Underwater Temple
14 - Dungeon
15 - Menu Screen
16 - Airship
17 - Gurgu Volcano
18 - Floating Castle
19 - Battle Scene
20 - Victory
21 - Dead Music
22 - Save Music
23 - Church
24 - Ruined Castle
25 - Lute
26 - Bridge Building
27 - Deep Place
28 - Fanfare
29 - Crystal Revival
30 - Getting an Important Item
31 - Inn
32 - Inside a Boss Battle
33 - Boss Battle A
34 - Boss Battle B
35 - Last Battle
36 - Ending Theme
Total Time:

Disc Two
Final Fantasy II
01 - Opening Movie
02 - Opening Movie + SE
03 - Opening Theme
04 - The Prelude
05 - Battle Scene 1
06 - Revivification
07 - Reunion
08 - Rebel Army Theme
09 - Town
10 - Main Theme
11 - Castle Pandemonium
12 - Imperial Army Theme
13 - Chocobo Theme
14 - Magician's Tower
15 - Run!
16 - Ancient Castle
17 - Dungeon
18 - The Revived Emperor
19 - Victory
20 - Waltz
21 - Temptation of the Princess
22 - Dead Music
23 - Fanfare
24 - Added Companion
25 - Inn
26 - Battle Scene A
27 - Battle Scene B
28 - Battle Scene 2
29 - Finale
Total Time:

Back in 1987, Nobuo Uematsu took part in the game that saved Square from financial crisis: Final Fantasy. His music certainly had an impact of the success of the company as he became the main composer until a few more joined later. Final Fantasy II was released in 1988, and was as much as a success. 15 years later, Square decides to give the two first games in its ultra-successful series a complete remake treatment, but Uematsu has been watching several composers grow alongside him, he didn't feel like re-arranging both FF games on his own, so he had to choose a partner. In the end, he chose Tsuyoshi Sekito, the genius behind the above average scores to Brave Fencer Musashi and several other titles. Barely getting back from his composition for All Star Pro Wrestling II, Sekito was offered to work with Uematsu for arranging FF II, we can easily tell he did not refuse. Anyway, on with the review.

Final Fantasy was given a more classical/symphonic treatment, enough to rival Koichi Sugiyama's best works. This is evident in tracks like "Cornelia Castle" and "Dead Music", which has violin/cello samples. The "Main Theme" is far more epic now, while "Matoya's Cave" is as good as ever. Some themes like "Gurgu Volcano" and "Floating Castle" not only sound better but sound slightly different than its NES counterparts, which isin't a bad thing at all. An interesting thing here is that they added the new tracks from the WonderSwan Color port into the PSX version, meaning we finally get to hear boss and final boss musics in FF1, which is quite a treat. They are mostly based off the normal battle theme, but they have a very epic feel to them. "Final Battle" starts off with a bit of organ, than the main melody plays through with added effect, which shows off Chaos' might even more than ever. The Ending Theme is as sweet as it used to be, but it is obviously much more enjoyable this time around.

Final Fantasy II, which is arranged by Tsuyoshi Sekito, has a totally different feel and sound at points, clearly hinting his presence because of passages/techniques he used in Brave Fencer Musashi. The first noticeable track is "Battle Scene 1", which if you listen closely, you'll automatically recognise the drum patterns that Sekito used extensively in Brave Fencer Musashi. "Castle Pandemonium" also has the Sekito's touch sprinkled throughout the track. "Temptation of The Princess" is actually a passage from Tcha´kovski's "Swan Lake" piece, but Sekito added vocals to further the mood, which simply sounds fantastic. The piece which players will be reminded right off the bat of BFM is "Battle Scene B", it has the weird voice synth which Sekito used a lot in BFM, it is pretty light for a new battle theme, but still nice for all the Sekito fans. All in all, Sekito has done extremely well in arranging FF II, we can only hope Square will entrust him with a future FF score.

So the conclusion, should you buy this CD? If you are a hardcore FF fan, not buying it would be considered a sin. These new arranged pieces simply must be heard by anyone who barely enjoys video game music. Be sure to pick it up!

Reviewed by: Dragon God