Kefka's Domain: The complete soundtrack from the Final Fantasy III video game
Catalog Number: SQ108
Released On: July 1, 1994
Composed By: Nobuo Uematsu
Arranged By: Nobuo Uematsu
Published By: Squaresoft
Recorded At: Sunrise Music
Format: 3 CDs

Disc One
01 - Opening Theme
02 - The Mines of Narshe
03 - Awakening
04 - Locke
05 - Battle Theme
06 - Fanfare
07 - Edgar & Sabin
08 - Kefka
09 - Mt. Koltz
10 - Returners
11 - Shadow
12 - Troops March On
13 - Cyan
14 - The Unforgiven
15 - The Phantom Train
16 - Wild West
17 - Gau
18 - The Serpent Trench
19 - Kids Run Through the City
20 - Under Martial Law
21 - Celes
22 - Save Them!
23 - The Decisive Battle
24 - Metamorphosis
Total Time:

Disc Two
01 - Terra
02 - Coin Song
03 - Techno de Chocobo
04 - Forever Rachel
05 - Slam Shuffle
06 - Spinach Rag

07 - Overture
08 - Aria de Mezzo Carattere
09 - The Wedding
10 - Grand Finale?

11 - Setzer
12 - Johnny C Bad
13 - The Empire "Gestahl"
14 - Devil's Lab
15 - Blackjack
16 - ??
17 - Mog
18 - Strago
19 - Relm
20 - Another World of Beasts
Total Time:

Disc Three
01 - New Continent
02 - Catastrophe
03 - The Fierce Battle
04 - Rest in Peace
05 - Dark World
06 - The Day After
07 - Searching For Friends
08 - Gogo
09 - Epitaph
10 - The Magic House
11 - Umaro
12 - Fanatics
13 - Last Dungeon
14 - Dancing Mad
15 - Ending Theme
16 - The Prelude
Total Time:

Note: this is the domestic release of the Final Fantasy VI OST. With exception to packaging, this is the exact same soundtrack. The domestic version is now much harder to find compared to the import release, which still has reprints circulating through most online stores.

Some argue that the first RPG to really pull in a mainstream audience was Final Fantasy VII, but I think of Final Fantasy III (VI in Japan) as the real start of it all. Packed with great gameplay, interesting characters, a killer plot and, of course, a Soundtrack that has gone down in history as one of the classics of all time, FF III was the most logical choice for Square to release an American OST (even though Secret of Mana's was released first). I'm pleased to say that Square certainly sold me on what they entitled Kefka's Domain.

Spanning three discs, Kefka's Domain is rife with everyone's favorite tracks: "Terra", "Celes", "Aria De Mezzo Carattere", and, of course "Kefka". The discs generally move chronologically through the game with Disc 1 covering the first third of the game, Disc 2 covering the second third, and Disc 3 containing the final portion. This gives the soundtrack a nice flow, and those who have played the game will be able to follow it as if they were progressing through the game.

Uematsu's genius shines forth in all of the pieces, and he makes great use of echo and the stereo capabilities of the SNES in "Celes" and "The Phantom Forest". The mournful cello in "Gau" was truly tear jerking, while the ragtime piano in "Spinach Rag" would have made Scott Joplin proud. I can't say that there are any tracks that I didn't enjoy; I had a mixed reaction to "Techno De Chocobo," though the ominous laugh was a throwback to the Doom Gaze in FFIV, which I thought was a nice touch.

Any fault in the soundtrack is made up for, amazingly, in the Opera scene, which spans the "Overture," "Aria De Mezzo Carattere," "The Wedding," and "Grand Finale?" That we get to see an opera (known as the Dream Oath: Maria and Draku) performed during the course of the game, even with the odd "singing" is very impressive and goes down in history as one of the defining moments of any RPG soundtrack.

Having been digitally remastered, the tracks all sound crisp and clear with no distortion at all. Though I've had the pleasure of hearing many arranged versions of parts of this soundtrack, from piano to techno/synth there's just something about the original renditions that manages to impress. Perhaps it's the fact that so much complexity was achieved with such comparatively primitive hardware, or maybe it's just nostalgia, but as far as OSTs for 16-bit RPGs go, Kefka's Domain is sure to wow you.

Reviewed by: Damian Thomas


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, May 20
Surprise! • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Sunday, May 27
Final Fantasy XIV: Patch 4.3 • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Super Mario RPG • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Star Ocean: First Departure • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Ys: Memories of Celceta • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Alundra • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT
Ys: Memories of Celceta • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

MS Saga: A New Dawn • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Ys: Memories of Celceta • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Earthbound • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Guild Wars 2 • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Ys: Memories of Celceta • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

This is Your Story: RPGFan Reader Tales ~ An RPGFan 20th Anniversary Feature

This is Your Story: RPGFan Reader Tales

20th Anniversary Feature
The Swords of Ditto Review

The Swords of Ditto

NieR: Automata Piano Collections Review

NieR: Automata Piano Collections

Retro Encounter 136

Retro Encounter 136

Random Encounter 144

Random Encounter 144