Final Fantasy VII Reunion Tracks

[back cover]
Catalog Number: SSCX-10012 (reprint SQEX-10042)
Released On: October 22, 1997 (reprint February 23, 2005)
Composed By: Nobuo Uematsu
Arranged By: Nobuo Uematsu, Shiro Hamaguchi
Published By: DigiCube (reprint Square Enix)
Recorded At: Sunrise Studio
Format: 1 CD
Buy this CD from Play-Asia

00 - One-Winged Angel Instrumental
01 - Opening Theme~Bombing Mission
02 - Valley of the Fallen Star
03 - Still More Fighting
04 - Farm Boy
05 - Rufus' Welcoming Ceremony
06 - Electric de Chocobo
07 - Honeybee Manor
08 - Cid's Theme
09 - Forested Temple
10 - Fighting
11 - Ahead on Our Way
12 - Golden Saucer
13 - Crazy Motorcycle
14 - Cait Sith's Theme
15 - Yuffie's Theme
16 - J-E-N-O-V-A
Orchestra Version
17 - FF7 Main Theme
18 - One-Winged Angel
19 - Aeris' Theme
Total Time:

Alright, let's start with the bad news. This CD consists of 16 tracks right off of the OST, no difference at all. So if you already own the OST, buying this CD just gave you 16 tracks of what you already own. However, depending on how willing you are to spend money, the last three tracks make all the difference.

Tracks 17, 18, and 19 are all completely orchestrated, and are in fact incredibly well-done orchestrations. My personal favorite of the three is the main theme (track 17), though many people prefer Aeris' theme the most. Also, rewind before the first track, and you get another version of One-Winged Angel (a karaoke version of sorts)! Another nice feature of this CD is the packaging. With all the usual Square goodies (stickers, interview with Uematsu), there is a very cute/humorous picture of Uematsu-san hangin' out with Cloud, Aeris, and Tifa. Some people are willing to pay $30 just for that!

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann