Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: The Crystal Bearers Music Collections
Catalog Number: SQEX-10175/6
Released On: December 9, 2009
Composed By: Hidenori Iwasaki, Ryo Yamazaki, Kumi Tanioka, Nobuo Uematsu
Arranged By: Hidenori Iwasaki, Ryo Yamazaki, Kumi Tanioka, Sachiko Miyano
Published By: Square Enix
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 2 CDs
Buy this album from Play-Asia

Disc One
01 - Moonlight Serenade
02 - Crystal Bearers Ramble
03 - The Sacred Haven
04 - Zu Ambush ~ Sky Dive!
05 - Trouble Up Ahead
06 - An Unlikely Guest
07 - Unknown Enemy
08 - Emergency!
09 - The Royal Army
10 - Alfitaria Capital City
11 - Althea
12 - Together On The Run
13 - Getaway
14 - Ruins
15 - The World Is Changing
16 - Lett Highlands
17 - Catch And Throw
18 - The Pioneer Spirit
19 - Neighborhood Tinkerer
20 - Bridge Town
21 - High Commander
22 - Chase The Hostile
23 - The Lost Tribe
24 - Bahamut Strikes
25 - Bahamut's Rage
26 - Prison Sands
27 - Snarky Tough Guy
28 - Surfin' Layle
29 - Selkie Guild
30 - Costa Faguita
31 - Girls, We Have To Win!
32 - Belle Handles It Solo
33 - Crystal Locomotive
34 - Authority
35 - Hide and Seek
36 - Dig! Dig! Dig!
37 - Jingle Medley
Total Time:

Disc Two
01 - Beyond The Horizon
02 - Raging Ambition
03 - The Awakened Beast
04 - Snowfields
05 - Freezing Heat
06 - Rivelgauge Monastery
07 - Vineyard
08 - Queen's Garden
09 - Kickerbaul
10 - Chocobo
11 - Infiltration
12 - Althea's Waltz
13 - Moonless Starry Night
14 - Veo Lu Sluice
15 - A Moment Of Repose
16 - Existence And Oblivion
17 - Moogle Woods
18 - Aerial Prison
19 - Blockade Buster
20 - The Taint of Power
21 - Narrow Escape
22 - Quiet Lament
23 - A Hero's Resolve
24 - Hidden Tales Of Adventure
25 - Ephemeron
26 - For The Kingdom
27 - Destiny
28 - Final Showdown
29 - Indomitable
30 - This Is The End For You!
31 - Kuule tää unelmain
32 - Majestic Theme
33 - Leave It To Me!
Total Time:

Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: The Crystal Bearers has a soundtrack that's hard to categorize. There's so many different kinds of music going on here that it could feel at times random and disjointed, though if you've spent any time with the game, you'll see how well this approach works. While not all-inclusive, I've found myself often saying that if you want to get an idea of the soundtrack's variety, you simply need to listen to the initial three tracks in order, which is why I included samples of each.

Starting things off, Moonlight Serenade is a short piece highlighted by horns that feels like it came out of the 1940s, and despite the range of musical styles I mentioned, this 'retro' feel comes up several times throughout the album. Next up is Crystal Bearers Ramble, which is also punctuated prominently (yay for alliteration!) by horns and piano to create a fun jazz feel. You can't help but smile a bit when listening to it, since it's just a bit wacky, and feels like something that would be featured as music in an old silent film. Third, and most importantly to me, is The Sacred Haven. This slow, moody orchestral piece is the game's title screen music, and is also used as the background music on the game's official website. Trust me when I say it's no exaggeration I've listened to the song hundreds of times–567 is my play count in iTunes right now. Prior to owning the soundtrack, I often would leave the website open in the background just to let the song loop, and it's the primary reason I bought the soundtrack. It's unfortunately short at under two minutes, but it's damn beautiful. Similar in terms of mood is the Moogle Woods song on disc two, which is another favorite of mine.

Okay, enough gushing from obsessive me, let's move on. To a certain extent, a handful of themes in the game are... shall we say, typical. The quiet, almost melancholy theme for Althea, the Ruins music which isn't bad, but is sort of just what you expect from "ruins music" in an RPG. Then suddenly we get to one of the game's several battle themes, and we feel like we're in a crazy wild west locale–which makes sense, because in the game, you *are* in a crazy wild west locale, complete with laser and jetpack-equipped scarecrows (because, why not?). Going down the list, we soon get to a light, tropical and exotic theme used in Crystal Bearers' surfing mini-game, and suddenly... elevator music! Well not really, it's played on the game's various trains, but it definitely has some elevator and smooth jazz to it and could put you to sleep if you're not careful.

As both the soundtrack and game progresses, the battle music leans more and more towards a heavier rock sound, something that's most prominent in the epic final battle music. Oh, but somewhere in the middle of that there's also a light-hearted battle song that I can only describe as music that would play in a forest full of lush vegetation, fairies and moogles. I hope that makes sense to at least one person, as I have no better way of describing it.

There's a handful of new arrangements on classic themes as well. Most notable to long-time Final Fantasy fans is the classic chocobo riding theme, presented here as–of course–a light, airy song with a bit of country-esque twang to it. While not accompanied by vocals this time, Moonless Starry Night makes an appearance, a nod to the original Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles for the GameCube. I didn't expect to hear the song here, so that was a pleasant surprise.

This being an RPG, you might expect there to be a vocal song near the end, and you'd be right. Kuule tää unelmain is a re-arranged rendition of The Sacred Haven (you might have heard me mention that one) accompanied by the vocal stylings of Donna Burke. I have no idea what she's saying, but I fell in love with her voice immediately upon hearing the original Moonless Starry Night, so having her back on this album was a perfect way to cap it off.

This whole review probably seems a little fragmented or disjointed. Or muddled. Possibly even wandering. Or even... sorry, having fun with the thesaurus. Just pick one of those adjectives and you'd probably be right. As I said earlier, the music goes so many different ways, I simply didn't see how I was going to write a completely coherent review. Considering I played the game before listening to the soundtrack on its own, I found myself liking most of it, mainly because I understood all of this diversity fit perfectly with the game itself. It may be hard to tell any one person that they'll definitely like the album as a whole, because of how all over the place it tends to be. By that same token though, it's probably safe to say anyone can find at least something here they'd enjoy.

Reviewed by: Mike Salbato


Twitch Schedule & Status

March 17: The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim w/Kyle • 10am PDT/1pm EDT
The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past w/ Mark • 1pm PDT/4pm EDT

Suikoden II w/Maxx • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT
Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth - Hacker's Memory w/Kat • 4pm PDT/7pm EDT

Kingdom Hearts III w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Final Fantasy IV: The After Years w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Mass Effect 2 w/Nathan • 10am PDT/1pm EDT
Final Fantasy IV: The After Years w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Tales of Vesperia - Definitive Edition w/Kat • 4pm PDT/7pm EDT
Final Fantasy IV: The After Years w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Super Robot Wars X w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Final Fantasy XIV Online w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Final Fantasy XIV Online w/Scott • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

The Stillness of the Wind

The Stillness of the Wind

Final Fantasy IX

Final Fantasy IX

God Eater 3 Review

God Eater 3

Retro Encounter 179: Lufia II: Rise of the Sinistrals Part I

Retro Encounter 179: Lufia II: Rise of the Sinistrals Part I

RPGFan Music of the Year 2018

RPGFan Music of the Year 2018

Special Feature