Final Fantasy Vocal Collections II [Love Will Grow]

[back cover]
Catalog Number: PSCN-5041 (reprint NTCP-5041)
Released On: November 25, 1995 (reprint October 1, 2004)
Composed By: Nobuo Uematsu, Ririko Yamabuki
Arranged By: Masatsugu Shinozaki, Yoshiro Nakamura, Yuichiro Goto, Patrick Nugier, Haruki Mino, Risa Ohki, Kiyoshi Kobayashi
Published By: NTT Publishing
Recorded At: Sound Inn, Bazooka Studio 450, Pale Green Studio, Sunrise Studio
Format: 1 CD
Buy this CD from Play-Asia

01 - Long Distance (FFIV Main Theme)
02 - Yuukyuu no Kaze (FFIII Eternal Wind)
03 - Have You Ever Seen Me? (FFIII Tozas, the Dwarves' Village)
04 - Valse des Amoureux (Newly Released, Waltz of Lovers)
05 - GAIA (FFI Main Theme)
06 - Tooi hibi no nanokori (Traces of Days Long Gone, FFV Sorrows of Parting)
07 - Harukanaru Kokyou (FFV Faraway Hometown)
08 - Estrelas (Stars) (FFIV Gilbert's Lute)
09 - Kami no Yurikago (God's Cradle, FFVI Relm's Theme)
10 - Love Will Grow (FFII Finale)
11 - Prelude (Prelude)
Total Time:

This CD is the second of two "vocal" soundtracks that Square released for Final Fantasy's 1-6. Basically, tracks are taken from the first 6 FFs and arranged for vocals. In comparison to "Pray", this soundtrack is much better. It's hard to describe the feeling you get when you hear your favorite songs SUNG...But it's generally a good feeling. These songs vary in language, as they contain Japanese, English, French, Portuguese, and track 7 is unknown to me (though I've been told it's Native American). If I were to choose a favorite track (and I have) it's DEFINITELY Track 03, "Have You Ever Seen Me?", sung in English. The lightheartedness in this song is just so much fun, I can't get enough of it! Another incredibly well-written track is Track 06 "Traces of Days Long Gone".

I really cannot express how good this soundtrack is...I take that back, I can. I decided to break our own policy on sampling (5 tracks per disc maximum). I couldn't decide whether I wanted track 1 or track 5 more so I took both and I'm now giving out 6 samples for this CD, just as more enticement for you to purchase this thing! Also, many will probably question why I chose to take the last track (the lyrics are incredibly cheesy and make no sense). The reason is because Risa Ohki starts scat-singing right in the middle of the song! I've never heard a Japanese person scat-sing and I don't think I'll ever hear it again...Because of this, it had to be sampled.

Again, both Game Music Online and Anime Nation have this CD (I'm not putting up links, you should know where they are by now...hee hee! look up!). So go buy this CD, it's the best vocal collection I've heard to date!

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann