FolksSoul ~The Lost Folklore~ OST

[back cover]
Catalog Number: KDSD-00141~3
Released On: June 27, 2007
Composed By: Kenji Kawai, Shinji Hosoe, Ayako Saso, Hiroto Saitoh, Yuriko Mukoujima
Arranged By: Kenji Kawai (2-12, 2-13)
Published By: Team Entertainment
Recorded At: Sound City, Aube Studio, Zizz Studio
Format: 3 CDs
Buy this CD from Play-Asia

Disc One
01 - Beginning of the Journey
02 - A Mysterious Door
03 - The Netherworld
04 - Solitude
05 - Resolution
06 - Awakening
07 - Rumbling
08 - Mystery
09 - Waltz of the Fairy
10 - Crisis
11 - It Comes from Legend
12 - Scattered Flowers
13 - A Voice from the Past
14 - The Past Emerges
15 - Communication with the Dead
16 - Neverending Battleground
17 - Threat
18 - Avalon
Total Time:

Disc Two
01 - Breath of Antiquity
02 - Plan
03 - Shock
04 - Visited by Tragedy
05 - Land of the Gods
06 - Living History
07 - An Ordeal
08 - The Serpent's Lair
09 - Sorrow
10 - Distant Memories
11 - Forgotten Village
12 - Irish Lullaby
13 - Danny Boy
14 - Between Life and Death
15 - Rest
Total Time:

Disc Three
01 - To the Unknown World
02 - Etched in Time
03 - Map of Penfield
04 - In the Land of Judgment
05 - Courtroom
06 - The Judge, and the Judged
07 - The End of Memory
08 - Showdown
09 - The Darkness Within
10 - Truth
11 - Determination
12 - Under the Falling Stars
13 - Of A Kingly Caliber
14 - Skilled Spear
15 - Transfiguration
16 - The One You Should Fear
17 - Beginning of the End
18 - Collapse
19 - Wherever the Soul Goes
Total Time:

Released in the US simply as "Folklore," Game Republic's action/adventure/RPG "FolksSoul ~The Lost Folklore~" was one of the earliest PS3 RPG releases. The game's creative team was impressive; this includes its sound team. The composers come from a variety of backgrounds. Kawai, who handled much of the soundtrack (including the "main themes") has written music for many high-profile animes, as well as some top-notch titles from game developer Koei. Hosoe and Saso have worked together on many projects in the past, sometimes under the SuperSweep label. The same can be said of Hiroto Saitoh, whom we've seen compose music for games such as Berwick Saga and Palais de Reine. Finally, there is Ms. Yuriko Mukoujima, a famous "guest musician" who's appeared in a vast array of musical projects across the globe. The two tracks she contributes add a special flair to the album.

The musical styles found in this three disc set are as strange, wondrous, and imaginative as that of the game "Folklore" itself. The mellow, down-to-earth pieces do well to reflect on the European "folk" style, incorporating ancient wind instruments with modern percussion samples. Then there are the melodies, which we generally find played by piano, large string sections, or the aforementioned woodwinds. Though re-used many times, there are three or four central melodies to this game, and they are so beautiful and haunting, I simply cannot get them out of my head. And frankly, I'm happy to let these melodies remain where they are.

When in the surreal "netherworld" game areas, the soundtrack takes on a whole different scope. Battle music, mostly penned by Hosoe and Saso, are the weakest groupings of music on the album. There are some great battle themes, but there are also some that do too good a job at creating cacophony. In other words, they're bound to induce some serious headaches. This is a typical "problem" that only the most die-hard Hosoe fan would argue against. I'm not a die-hard Hosoe fan, so I'll just say that while the battle compositions stand out, sometimes they stand out for the wrong reasons.

I listened to this soundtrack once before playing the game, and while I was impressed, there was no initial impact. After having played the game, the meaning behind the melodies is much stronger. Certainly, the composers did well at the task of "setting the mood" for the game. But despite the early notion I had that this was an Elfman-like film score for a Burton-like story, I now see something much more powerful in the main melodies. Most of them can be heard in the ending track "Wherever the Soul Goes."

Though I would not go so far as to call the soundtrack a Danny Elfman wannabe project, there is little doubt that the soundtrack resembles a film score. What with the high-quality recordings of many live instruments, one would be hard-pressed to find a more film score-esque VGM project than this, especially from Japan. And though I am usually prone to complain about such things, in this particular case, I do not consider it to be a "bad" thing.

Do "too many cooks spoil the broth?" Not in this case. Three discs, five composers, fifty songs, one fantastic soundtrack. Do take the time to learn more about this music, and the game for which it was written.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, January 20th
Kingdom Hearts 0.2 Birth by Sleep -A fragmentary passage- w/Kyle • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Suikoden w/Maxx • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT
Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth - Hacker's Memory w/Kat • 4pm PDT/7pm EDT

Super Robot Wars X w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Grandia 3 w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Mass Effect w/Nathan • 10am PDT/1pm EDT
Grandia 3 w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Fire Emblem: Path of Radiance w/Kat • 4pm PDT/7pm EDT
Grandia 3 w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Super Robot Wars X w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Friday Super Variety Night w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Grandia 3 w/Scott • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

Retro Encounter 171

Retro Encounter 171

Prescription for Sleep: Fight for Your Dreams Review

Prescription for Sleep: Fight for Your Dreams

RPGFan Games of the Year 2018

RPGFan Games of the Year 2018

Special Feature
Toriyama's Toil: Exploring Three Decades of Art with Dragon Quest Illustrations

Toriyama's Toil: Exploring Three Decades of Art with Dragon Quest Illustrations

Art Book "Review"
YIIK: A Postmodern RPG Review

YIIK: A Postmodern RPG

Tales of Vesperia Definitive Edition Review

Tales of Vesperia Definitive Edition