Generation of Chaos Complete Bonus Soundtrack

[back cover]
Catalog Number: N/A
Released On: February 28, 2006
Composed By: Kenichi Kikawa
Arranged By: Kenichi Kikawa
Published By: NIS America
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 1 CD

01 - Dravanian Glory!
02 - A Tale of 10 Kingdoms
03 - Field March
04 - Perilous Journey
05 - Gallant Stride
06 - Quest for Justice
07 - A Stay Tuned Tune
08 - Triumphant Return
09 - Objective Composition
10 - Raging Dragons Roar
11 - The Battlefield Song
12 - Behold the Mighty Dragon King
13 - Fight for Life
14 - A Good Day To Die
15 - A Hero's End
16 - This Game of Mine (Long)
17 - This Game of Mine (Short)
18 - This Game of Mine (Mariachi Mix)
19 - Chapter
20 - The End of Light
21 - A Fairy's Melody 1
22 - A Fairy's Melody 2
23 - The Blessing
24 - The Gentle Song of Prayer
25 - A Bunny's Holiday
26 - A Stroll Through Upper Yard
27 - Betrayal of the Son
28 - GOC Elevator Theme
29 - Love Lost
30 - Retribution
31 - A Final Showdown
32 - Catastrophic Desperation
33 - Enraged Desperation Long
34 - Enraged Desperation Short
35 - The Last Stand
36 - The Test of Might
37 - A Serene End
38 - End of the Beginning 1
39 - End of the Beginning 2
40 - End of the Beginning (Polaris Remix)
41 - Escape From Roses
42 - Journey's End
43 - Justice Always Prevails
44 - Ominous Prelude
45 - Righteous March
46 - Freedom of Liberation
Total Time:

Previously released as part (the largest part) of "Generation of Chaos OST The Best," the music of Generation of Chaos IV can now be found in a bonus release from NIS America. That's right, the PSP GoC title is actually a port of the fourth game in the series...the first to come to America. What should we make of this interesting little bonus soundtrack?

Well, first, there are some problems with the way in which the music comes to us. Do the math: 31 minutes, 46 songs. Yeah, it looks like NIS America recorded these songs themselves and put fadeouts on them mighty early, because most tracks don't reach the one minute mark. Yikes. Even though these 46 tracks are many more than what was found on GoC "The Best", the shorter track lengths are a real problem.

The music itself is decent. It's certainly better than the soundtrack for the first Generation of Chaos title. The primary complaint I'd level against Kikawa-san is that many of these songs sound like the same thing with little variation. That's never a good sign. We get the idea: majestic imperial marches and symphonic-style battle themes. None of them hold a candle to, say, Final Fantasy Tactics OST. So, it's alright, but not great.

If you're looking for a PSP title that is new (to the US at least), this game may be the one to pick up. And, in that case, you may as well try and spring for the bonus soundtrack. Otherwise, collectors be warned: it's lacking in many ways, as I have already described.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, August 19
TBA • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Star Ocean: Second Evolution • 2:30pm PDT/5:30pm EDT
Persona 3 (CYOA) • 5:30pm PDT/8:30pm EDT

Persona 3 (CYOA) • 5:30pm PDT/8:30pm EDT

Kingdom Hearts - Re:Chain of Memories • 2:30pm PDT/5:30pm EDT
Persona 3 (CYOA) • 5:30pm PDT/8:30pm EDT

Final Fantasy IX • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Friday Super Variety Night • 6pm PDT/9pm EDT

Week in Review: Live Edition • 11am PDT/2pm EDT
Persona 3 (CYOA) • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

Retro Encounter Wants Your Emails!

Retro Encounter Mailbag Special

Cosmic Star Heroine OST Review

Cosmic Star Heroine OST

Retro Encounter 149

Retro Encounter 149

Tiny Epic Quest Board Game Review

Tiny Epic Quest

Board Game Review
Hyrule Warriors: Definitive Edition Review

Hyrule Warriors: Definitive Edition