Grandia III OST

[back cover]
Catalog Number: TRCD-10048/9
Released On: August 26, 2005
Composed By: Noriyuki Iwadare
Arranged By: Noriyuki Iwadare
Published By: Two Five Records
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 2 CDs

Disc One
01 - The Legendary Pilot King
02 - Anfog
03 - Miranda's Theme
04 - Yuki and Rotts
05 - Tension 1
06 - A Trap Hidden in the Dark
08 - "All Right! We Made Another Breakthrough!"
10 - Fun Mushroom Hunting
11 - Sabatal
12 - Alonso's Theme
13 - The Gambler
14 - Gambling House
15 - A Sailor's Spirit
16 - Bianca's Theme
17 - Mendy
18 - A HOT CRASH!!
19 - Requiem of Birth
20 - Theme Arrangement 1
21 - Morning of Departure -for Piano-
22 - Where Is the Right Path?
23 - Morning of Departure -for Euph-
24 - Spread Your Wings, To the Heavens!!
25 - Believe in the Future
26 - Tension 4 / Emelious' Theme 2
27 - Arcliff Forest
28 - Sacred Soul
29 - Sacred Beast Gryph
30 - Forest of a Fantasy
31 - Tension 3
32 - Baccla
Total Time:

Disc Two
01 - To the Moon
02 - Alfina's Theme
03 - Alfina's Sorrow
04 - Attack with conviction!!
05 - "Will the Airplane Crash to the Ground!?"
06 - Landlady of the Inn
07 - Raflid -Crowded Town-
08 - What do you fight for?
09 - Caravans
10 - Terrarium
11 - ZETEC
12 - Requiem of Birth (reverse)
13 - ATTACK OF A FLASH -for Synth-
14 - "Hey, That Wasn't Possibly Serious, Was It?"
15 - Tension 2 / Emelious' Theme 1
16 - An Older Brother and a Younger Sister
17 - Surmania
18 - E VS D
19 - Decision in Moonlight
20 - Feeling Eternal Love...
21 - ATTACK OF A FLASH -for Orch-
23 - Raflid -Defeated Hope-
24 - Theme Arrangement 2
25 - The Pilot King
26 - Zone's Restoration
27 - Great Man Schmidt
29 - Theme Arrangement 3
30 - Thank You...
31 - Theme of GRANDIA III
Total Time:

Noriyuki Iwadare has never let Grandia fans down. Even the soundtrack to Grandia Xtreme was excellent (athough the game wasn't). The newest soundtrack, Grandia III does not disappoint. Fans of Iwadare will be pleased to know that he still has the "Grandia feel" down pat. GIII isn't quite as spectacular as the original Grandia, but it is still enjoyable to listen to and deserves a place in any Grandia fan's play list.

The majority of the album is very peaceful, and makes for great easy listening. In fact, most of disc 1 is calm and soothing, while disc 2 is more aggressive. On disc 1, "Peaceful" and "Where is the Right Way" are very laid-back, with a soft piano and a lush flute. There are also happy-go-lucky songs like "Miranda's Theme" and "Happy Mushrooming," which remind me of cartoons. There are also comical songs too, such as "Gambler's House," which makes me think of shady gangsters in a speak-easy. In general, disc 1 is good. There are a few filler tracks, but they don't get in the way of the disc as a whole.

Disc 2 starts off with "To the Moon," a new age vocal from Kaori Kawasu. The track starts off with a lot to be desired, but it quickly gains momentum, and becomes one of the highlights of the album. Kawasu's beautiful, yet haunting voice is complemented by strong strings and a humble acoustic guitar. Also near the beginning of disc 2 is "Attack with Conviction," which is a solid battle theme. It has the trademark piano and rhythm section that Iwadare is famous for, and it is well done. However, it isn't as memorable as past Grandia battle themes, especially those from Grandia Xtreme. The song's weakness is its melody, which isn't very memorable at all. Another song worth noting is "Caravans," which draws inspiration from Morocco and American jazz. It's an interesting combination, and the song is catchy, with a Middle-Eastern tabla (a cousin of the bongo) and a light acoustic guitar. The final battle theme, "The Great Assize," is probably the weirdest final battle theme I have ever heard. It doesn't sound like a battle theme at all; it sounds more like an epilogue or a cutscene score than a battle theme. It lacks the fervor and excitement of a final battle theme, but I can see what Iwadare was trying to achieve, and I like it. Sure, it would have been nice to have a more exciting battle theme, it was a nice change.

If there is one thing that I admire most about Noriyuki Iwadare's compositions, it's his piano work. It is simply spectacular, and it has become somewhat of a signature in his music. It can be appreciated the most in tracks like "Where is the Right Way," where it accompanies a Spanish guitar, or in "Peaceful," where it accompanies a flute, giving the listener images of peaceful days. I also enjoyed it in "Forest of Fantasy," where is plays behind the most gorgeous string orchestra I've ever heard.

My only disappointment with Grandia III is the track layout, particularly on disc 1. There are long stretches of soothing music with nothing in between to break up the pace. The music itself is great, but it would have had a better effect if it had been laid out in a different order.

Overall, Grandia III is a solid soundtrack that should please fans of the series. It's not as spectacular as the rest of the series, but it is by no means a terrible soundtrack. I'm giving it an 8 out of 10.

Reviewed by: Mike Wilson


Twitch Schedule & Status

April 21: TBA • 10am PDT/1pm EDT
The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past w/ Mark • 1pm PDT/4pm EDT

Suikoden II w/Maxx • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT
Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth - Hacker's Memory w/Kat • 4pm PDT/7pm EDT

Final Fantasy VIII w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Shin Megami Tensei: Digital Devil Saga w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Mass Effect 2 w/Nathan • 10am PDT/1pm EDT
Shin Megami Tensei: Digital Devil Saga w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Tales of Vesperia - Definitive Edition w/Kat • 4pm PDT/7pm EDT
Shin Megami Tensei: Digital Devil Saga w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Super Robot Wars X w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Final Fantasy XIV Online w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Final Fantasy XIV Online w/Scott • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Edge of Eternity Preview

Edge of Eternity

Pathway Review


Zanki Zero: Last Beginning Review

Zanki Zero: Last Beginning

Persona 4: Dancing All Night OST Review

Crowdfunding Chronicles Volume 10

Bi-weekly Column
Retro Encounter 183: Ys: The Oath in Felghana Part I

Retro Encounter 183: Ys: The Oath in Felghana Part I