Gyakuten Saiban Yomigaeru Gyakuten OST

[back cover]
Catalog Number: CPCA-10124
Released On: November 30, 2005
Composed By: Masakazu Sugimori, Akemi Kimura
Arranged By: Akemi Kimura
Published By: Suleputer
Recorded At: Sony Music Studio
Format: 1 CD

01 - Gyakuten Saiban - Prologue
02 - Courtroom Lounge ~ Beginning Prelude
03 - Gyakuten Saiban - Trial
04 - Examination ~ Moderate 2001
05 - Logic and Trick
06 - Ryuuichi Naruhodou ~ Objection! 2001
07 - Examination ~ Allegro 2001
08 - Investigation ~ Cornered
09 - Announce the Truth 2001
10 - Suspense
11 - Investigation ~ Cornered / Variation
12 - Jingle ~ It Doesn't End Here
13 - Search ~ Opening 2001
14 - Shinshuu Ryouri ~ Gyakuten Sisters' Theme 2001
15 - Police Cell ~ Jailers' Elegy
16 - Keisuke Itonoko ~ Itonoko Geijissu
17 - Reminiscence ~ True Evening of Grief
18 - Soranosuke Hoshikage ~ Age, Regret, Reward
19 - Congratulations Everybody
20 - Reminiscence ~ Light and Shadow at the Film Studio
21 - Oo-edo Soldier Tonosaman
22 - Reminiscence ~ DL6 Case
23 - Search ~ Core 2001
24 - Reminiscence ~ Classroom Trial
25 - Won the Lawsuit! ~ The First Success
26 - Gyakuten Saiban - End
27 - Gyakuten Sisters' Ballad
28 - Yomigaeru Gyakuten - Prologue
29 - Reminiscence ~ SL9 Case
30 - Akane Hozuki ~ Gyakuten Sisters' Theme 2005
31 - Taiho-kun ~ I Would Like to Protect You
32 - Kyosuke Saimon ~ Rogue Detective in the Wilderness
33 - Kaiji Ganto ~ Swimming, Anyone?
34 - Yomigaeru Gyakuten - End
Total Time:

The preorder bonus: a towel for wipin' off sweat in court. Hmm...makes me want to yell, "Objection!"

Note: "Gyakuten Saiban" is known in America as "Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney." The literal translation is "Judicial Reversal", and "Yomigaeru Gyakuten" can be translated as "Reversal Revival" or "Revival of the Reversal."

A special-order item from Capcom, the Yomigaeru Gyakuten soundtrack contains all 27 tracks from the first disc of the "Gyakuten Saiban 1&2 Original Soundtrack" (also a special-order item, one which quickly became hard to find), as well as seven bonus tracks for the DS title's added scenario. The 27 tracks from original game have been slightly upgraded and arranged for the DS remake, whereas the seven new songs are all original.

Working backwards, I have to say that I was not pleased with the added songs (tracks 28 to 34). The new Gyakuten Sisters' Theme is the worst of the four sisters' themes to date, taking an enjoyable musical theme and turning it into something mediocre. The only song I found even remotely enjoyable was Kyosuke Saimon's theme, which sounds like something out of an old Western (more specifically, it sounds a lot like the first Wild Arms soundtrack). Yomigaeru Gyakuten's End credits theme was not as enjoyable as the original Gyakuten Saiban End theme (which is a softer arrangement of the "Trial" theme). If you were looking to buy this soundtrack because you wanted these extra songs, let me tell you now: that's a bad reason to buy this soundtrack.

As for Sugimori's original 27 tracks (arranged by Akemi Kimura), these are some of the best chip-tune-style songs you'll ever hear. A lot of American fans have given rave reviews for Phoenix Wright's music, and there's no reason why I shouldn't join in the praise. Though low on sound quality, the songs have such catchy melodies that one is content to listen to the same song looped for a significant period of time. Many of the best songs reside within the first half of the soundtrack: Trial, Logic and Trick, the classic "Objection!" theme, Announce the Truth, Investigation / Variation, and the undoubtedly spectacular Gyakuten Sisters' Theme. Each and every one of these songs is ridiculously well-composed, though I do admit that I almost prefer the GBA original tracks to these re-done songs.

The second half of the album is less catchy, but there are still some very fun songs found here. "Oo-edo Soldier Tonosaman" mixes traditional Asian sounds with a catchy superhero-style fanfare and a slick guitar solo. The result is, as expected, quite good. The "Reminiscence" tracks remain some of the most boring songs, but they are quickly finished and the CD moves on to the much more enjoyable character themes. Also, as I said earlier in the review, the "End" song (track 26) is a beautiful arrangement of the trial theme; it doesn't move me to tears, but it's helped me sleep at night.

If you already own or intend to find the Gyakuten Saiban 1&2 OST, I'd have a hard time recommending this soundtrack to you. However, as this soundtrack is much more readily available (at least at the time of this review), and because the soundtrack includes all songs from the only Gyakuten title in the US thus far, I have to say that many VGM / RPG lovers ought to get to VGMworld.com (the only place I know that has it in stock) and pick up this special item.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann


Twitch Schedule & Status

April 21: TBA • 10am PDT/1pm EDT
The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past w/ Mark • 1pm PDT/4pm EDT

Suikoden II w/Maxx • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT
Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth - Hacker's Memory w/Kat • 4pm PDT/7pm EDT

Final Fantasy VIII w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Shin Megami Tensei: Digital Devil Saga w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Mass Effect 2 w/Nathan • 10am PDT/1pm EDT
Shin Megami Tensei: Digital Devil Saga w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Tales of Vesperia - Definitive Edition w/Kat • 4pm PDT/7pm EDT
Shin Megami Tensei: Digital Devil Saga w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Super Robot Wars X w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Final Fantasy XIV Online w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Final Fantasy XIV Online w/Scott • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Edge of Eternity Preview

Edge of Eternity

Pathway Review


Zanki Zero: Last Beginning Review

Zanki Zero: Last Beginning

Persona 4: Dancing All Night OST Review

Crowdfunding Chronicles Volume 10

Bi-weekly Column
Retro Encounter 183: Ys: The Oath in Felghana Part I

Retro Encounter 183: Ys: The Oath in Felghana Part I