Gyakuten Saiban 3 OST

[back cover]
Catalog Number: CPCA-1089/90T
Released On: March 31, 2004
Composed By: Noriyuki Iwadare, Masakazu Sugimori, Akemi Kimura
Arranged By: Noriyuki Iwadare, Sayaka Fujita, Shusaku Uchiyama, Masami Ueda
Published By: Suleputer
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 2 CDs (1 + 1 bonus disc)

Disc One
Gyakuten Saiban 3
01 - Gyakuten Saiban 3 - Prologue
02 - Courtroom Lounge ~ Neverending Overture
03 - Gyakuten Saiban 3 - Trial
04 - Examination ~ Moderate 2004
05 - Ryuuichi Naruhodou ~ Objection! 2004
06 - Examination ~ Allegro 2004
07 - Investigation ~ Cross-Examination
08 - Announce the Truth 2004
09 - Investigation ~ Cross-Examination / Variation
10 - Distant Traces of Beauty
11 - Godo - The Fragrance of Dark Coffee
12 - Jingle - Can't Turn Back to Everyday Life
13 - Search ~ Opening 2004
14 - 'Stolen Reversal'
15 - Takabishiya Department Store
16 - Police Cell ~ Elegy of the Captured
17 - Mysterious Masked Person ~ Please Listen!
18 - I Just Want Your Love
19 - Yahari Masashi ~ In the Shadows of the Government
20 - 'Reversal Recipe'
21 - Beauty Hermitage
22 - The Igarashi Officers - Inspection War Song
23 - Warehouse Tiger
24 - Reminiscence- I Begrudge You
25 - The First Reversal
26 - Reminiscence - Hazy Scenery from the Bridge
27 - Hazakurain
28 - Terujotko Ellis ~ Simple Melody
29 - Search ~ Middle Stage 2004
30 - Reminiscence - The Bitter Taste of Truth
31 - Pursuit ~ Cornered 2004
32 - Winning! - The Victory Does Not End
33 - Gyakuten Saiban 3 - End
34 - Arrival Melody / Godo
Total Time:

Disc Two
Gyakuten Saiban Reversal Bonus Disc
01 - SE - System Version
02 - SE - Courtroom Version
03 - SE - Psychological Descriptions Version
04 - SE - Character Version
05 - SE - Animal Version
06 - SE - Mechanical Version
07 - Mayoi Ryouri ~ Gyakuten Sisters' Theme (Arrange Version)
08 - Psycho Lock (Arrange Version)
09 - Gyakuten Saiban ~ 2003 Promotion Image Sound Tracks
10 - Gyakuten Saiban 3 ~ Special Blend Mix
Total Time:

The album's second print game with this bonus disc, catalog number CPCA-1090T.

Please note: This particular review is actually a reprint of the original Gyakuten Saiban 3 OST. This reprint included a special second disc. The original print, while having the same catalog number (CPCA-1089), does not include the second disc.

Noriyuki Iwadare replaces Akemi Kimura as the composer for the third game in the Gyakuten Saiban series. Again, due to hardware limitations, the entire soundtrack utilizes 16-bit samplings for all of its music. While some may be turned off by it, I find it extremely pleasant to listen to.

A few familiar themes find themselves back onto the game such as the "Courtroom Lounge", "Examination" and "Search". Also, for those familiar with the first soundtrack, "Pursuit ~ Cornered 2004" sounds almost exactly the same as "Investigation ~ Cornered". Unlike the other remixes, there is virtually no change to the tune. As much as I enjoyed that track, I couldn't help but be disappointed in just how similar the two tracks were.

The first third of the soundtrack seems to set an extremely fast pace for the overall sound, especially "Investigation ~ Cross-Examination (Variation)" and so hearing the slow, almost elegant "Distant Traces of Beauty" is a welcome change of pace from the soundtracks frantic beginnings. The rest of the soundtrack seems to follow this kind of rhythm. A few slower paced songs followed by faster ones and more dramatic ones before slowing back down again.

I thought "Stolen Reversal" was a particularly neat track, if only because it begins with this bluesy beat and suddenly rushes into a frantic whirlwind of notes, rapidly crescendoing into a dramatic finish. It reminds me of a lot of stuff I used to play while in band.

The second disc in this review included the various sound effects used in this game as its first 6 tracks. While somewhat entertaining to listen to, the sound effects got old really fast. I'm not sure why Capcom decided to include them on this CD. However the four bonus tracks after those are well worth it. All four of these tracks, minus the arranged version to "Ryouri Mayoi ~ Gyakuten Sisters' Theme" sound like they were recorded with real instruments and bring an extra amount of depth into the songs we are used to hearing.

The track "Gyakuten Saiban 3 - Special Blend Mix" is my personal favorite. It's an arrangement of several pieces already in the soundtrack. Hearing "Gyakuten Saiban 3 Trial" being played on an organ and "Investigation ~ Cross-Examination (Variation)" being played by an electric guitar is sheer coolness. This track alone is enough justification to get the reprint in my book.

This OST is more of the same kind of music that made the original Gyakuten Saiban soundtrack great but if you're looking for something radically new, this probably isn't the one you want.

Reviewed by: Rebecca Cheng


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, November 18th
World of Final Fantasy MAXIMA w/Kat • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Darksiders w/Maxx • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT
Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth - Hacker's Memory w/Kat • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Threads of Fate w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Zero Escape Trilogy w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE w/Nathan • 10:30am PDT/1:30pm EDT
Zero Escape Trilogy w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Kingdom Hearts II Final Mix w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Zero Escape Trilogy w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Fire Emblem: Path of Radiance w/Kat • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Friday Super Variety Night w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Zero Escape Trilogy w/Scott • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

Call of Cthulhu Review

Call of Cthulhu

observer_ Review


The Legend of Heroes: Sora no Kiseki the 3rd Evolution OST Review

The Legend of Heroes: Sora no Kiseki the 3rd Evolution OST

Retro Encounter 161

Retro Encounter 161

Random Encounter 153

Random Encounter 153