Gyakuten Saiban 5 OST
Catalog Number: CPCA-10313~4
Released On: September 25, 2013
Composed By: Noriyuki Iwadare, Masakazu Sugimori, Hideki Okugawa, Toshihiko Horiyama, Shu Takumi, Akemi Kimura
Arranged By: Noriyuki Iwadare
Published By: Suleputer
Recorded at: Unknown
Format: 2 CDs
Buy this album from CDJapan

Disc One
01 - Gyakuten Saiban 5 - Prologue
02 - Courtroom Lounge ~ Prelude to the Future
03 - Gyakuten Saiban 5 - Trial
04 - Cross-Examination ~ Moderato 2013
05 - Logic Trinity
06 - "The Depths of the Depths of the Heart"
07 - Naruhodo Ryuichi ~ Objection! 2013
08 - "Odoroki Attacked"
09 - Cross-Examination ~ Allegro 2013
10 - Suspense 2013
11 - Pursuit ~ Keep on Cornering
12 - Confess the Truth 2013
13 - "Breakaway"
14 - Jingle ~ You Should Rest at a Time Like This
15 - "Turnabout Night Parade of the Yokai"
16 - Nine-Tails Vale ~ Hometown of the Yokai
17 - Mysterious! The Legend of Tenma Taro
18 - Go Forth! Great Kyubi
19 - "The Murder Commited by a Yokai"
20 - Minuki's Theme ~ Child of Magic 2013
21 - Kizuki Kokone ~ Let's Do This!
22 - Ban Gozo ~ The Secret Word Is Justice!
23 - Investigation ~ Opening 2013
24 - Detention Center ~ Elegy of the Bulletproof Glass
25 - Biyouin Shuuichi ~ I Am Beauty
26 - "Prosecutor with Handcuffs"
27 - Yugami Jin ~ The Twisted Swordsmanship
28 - Odoroki Hosuke ~ A New Chapter of Trials! 2013
29 - Thought Route ~ Synaptic Resonance
30 - "Turnabout Academy"
31 - Private School Themis Legal Academy ~ Our Precious School
32 - "I, Kokone, Will Take on Your Defense"
33 - Boisterous People
34 - Suspicious People
35 - Difficult People
36 - Odoroki Hosuke ~ I'm Fine!
37 - Heart Scope ~ Begin the Psychological Analysis!
38 - Running Wild - Heart Scope ~ Get a Grip on Yourself
39 - "Proof of Friendship"
40 - Reminiscing ~ Wandering Heart
41 - Kizuki Kokone ~ Courtroom Révolutionnaire
42 - "Garyu Wave - Twilight Gig"
Total Time:

Disc Two
01 - "Turnabout up to the Stars"
02 - Ogawara Uchu ~ Head of the Center of the Cosmos
03 - Robot Laboratory ~ The Past That Doesn't Disappear
04 - "Turnabout to the Future"
05 - Investigation ~ Consideration
06 - Ayasato Harumi ~ Together with Hami-chan 2013
07 - Psyche-Locks 2013
08 - "A Splendid Visitor"
09 - Mitsurugi Reiji ~ Great Revival 2013
10 - Reminiscing ~ A Sad Memory
11 - Investigation ~ Core 2013
12 - Illegality of Fate
13 - "For Those I Must Protect"
14 - The Dark Age of the Law
15 - Phantom ~ UNKNOWN
16 - Pursuit ~ Keep on Cornering / Variation
17 - Won the Case! ~ Everyone's Victory
18 - Gyakuten Saiban 5 ~ Epilogue
19 - "Countdown to the Future"
20 - "Turnabout Great Pirates"
21 - Arafune Aquarium ~ A Refreshing Sea
22 - Pirate Sisters Ales ~ Adventures Across the Seven Seas
23 - "Pirate Show Song" ~ Kokone’s Sea of Adventure Is Here
24 - "Pirate Show Song" ~ The Writer Who Snatches Away the Truth
25 - Reminiscing ~ Departure from Regret
26 - Pursuit ~ Demo PV Version (Bonus Track)
27 - Pursuit ~ Last Promotion Version (Bonus Track)
Total Time:

It's no wonder the Gyakuten Saiban/Phoenix Wright directors keep bringing Noriuiki Iwadare back. Iwadare (who composed the music for Gyakuten Saiban 3/Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney: Trials and Tribulations, Gyakuten Kenji 2, and some of Gyakuten Kenji/Ace Attorney Investigations: Miles Edgeworth) is extremely talented in juggling genres while maintaining his own style. Between all the tense and triumphant courtroom songs, Iwadare constantly switches between traditional Japanese music, baroque music, and 50s American rock 'n' roll.

There are two clear factors of Iwadare's success. One is his amazing bass work, which really is unfortunate, as you usually can't even hear the bass unless you're wearing headphones. Even when you're just listening to the provided samples, please use headphones. If I had played the game once with headphones on, I never would have stopped. The bass parts are that good.

The other is the energy in his music. With such dark themes like murder, emotional abuse, and the "Dark Age of Law" that is the theme of Dual Destinies, there needs to be some sort of comic relief to relieve the tension. The game does this by creating ridiculous characters, such as a journalist living in a box and a samurai-obsessed convicted prosecutor, each with their own dramatic theme songs. When demons run amok in a village, wham! The Amazing Nine-Tails and his dramatic theme song, "Go Forth! Great Kyubi" comes out of nowhere! Whenever you need to investigate the crime scene, wham! In comes the groovy "Ban Gozo ~ The Secret Word Is Justice!" The writers and Iwadare are nothing less than masters of timing.

For long-time fans of the Phoenix Wright series, Dual Destinies includes new renditions of familiar tracks, such as the themes of your favorite characters like Apollo, Edgeworth, and Trucy, as well as various courtroom songs like "Suspense 2013." For both old and new fans of the Phoenix Wright series, there are plenty of brand new songs: themes for all the shiny new characters like Athena Cykes, Simon Blackquill, and Yuri Cosmos, as well as the tense song that plays with the new mechanic of the Mood Matrix.

As my first Phoenix Wright game, the music of Dual Destinies satisfied me. Iwadare does an amazing job matching the atmosphere, both tense and light. I stressed, rejoiced, and laughed, and the music was right there with me.

Reviewed by: Brigid Choi


Twitch Schedule & Status

April 21: TBA • 10am PDT/1pm EDT
The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past w/ Mark • 1pm PDT/4pm EDT

Suikoden II w/Maxx • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT
Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth - Hacker's Memory w/Kat • 4pm PDT/7pm EDT

Final Fantasy VIII w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Shin Megami Tensei: Digital Devil Saga w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Mass Effect 2 w/Nathan • 10am PDT/1pm EDT
Shin Megami Tensei: Digital Devil Saga w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Tales of Vesperia - Definitive Edition w/Kat • 4pm PDT/7pm EDT
Shin Megami Tensei: Digital Devil Saga w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Super Robot Wars X w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Final Fantasy XIV Online w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Final Fantasy XIV Online w/Scott • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Timespinner Original Game Soundtrack Review

Timespinner Original Game Soundtrack

Retro Encounter 184: Ys: The Oath in Felghana Part II

Retro Encounter 184: Ys: The Oath in Felghana Part II

Edge of Eternity Preview

Edge of Eternity

Pathway Review


Zanki Zero: Last Beginning Review

Zanki Zero: Last Beginning