Hanjuku Hero 4 -The 7 Heroes- ~Sound Collection~
Catalog Number: TGCS-2682/3
Released On: May 26, 2005
Composed By: Nobuo Uematsu, Kenichiro Fukui, Hirosato Noda, Tsuyoshi Sekito, Naoshi Mizuta, Kenichi Mikoshiba, Ai Yamashita, Kenji Ito, Ludwig Van Beethoven (2-17)
Arranged By: Nobuo Uematsu, Kenichiro Fukui, Hirosato Noda, Tsuyoshi Sekito, Naoshi Mizuta, Ai Yamashita, Kenji Ito, Michio Okamiya (1-01)
Published By: Square Enix
Recorded At: Bernie Grundman MASTERING
Format: 2 CDs

Disc One
01 - Still More Fighting! Hanjuku Hero
02 - Legend...
03 - Peaceful Kingdom
04 - Alma's Moon Walk
05 - Kingdom Conditions Monthly
06 - Barrage Ring Battle
07 - Hondara Egg Musical Dance
08 - You're Not Wanted Here
09 - Wandering in a Different Space
10 - Katori's Raging Blood
11 - A Blooming Rose Which Sings
12 - Love and Dream Egg Musical Dance
13 - Changing Heartbreak Into a Blade
14 - Big Egg Battle
15 - Symphonic Matoya
16 - Let's Go! Crimson Jacket
17 - Hot Blood Hondara Egg Musical Dance
18 - Groar! This Hot Desire
19 - Western Pandemonium
20 - Dreaming of the Lost Kingdom
21 - Dead Spirits Egg Musical Dance
22 - Praying for the Prophecy
23 - Xylophone Mist Dungeon
Total Time:

Disc Two
01 - Hidden Research
02 - Egg Musical Dance Smeared with Blood
03 - Reckless Blood Manipulations
04 - Frightening Melody
05 - Vibraphone Crystal Cave
06 - Cyber Sound Orchestra
07 - Techno Egg Musical Dance
08 - Get the Research Data!
09 - Minimal Crystal Tower
10 - A World Where Elephants Bark
11 - Legendary Egg Musical Dance
12 - Awakening -Legendary Power Kept Secret-
13 - 4 Rice Rivers
14 - We Are the World
15 - Jet Black Hatred
16 - Sad Egg
17 - Gaia Symphonia -Chorus-
18 - Hanjuku 6x9 (=54)
19 - Next Week's Hanjuku Hero
20 - Hanjuku Party
Total Time:

The insert booklet reveals the members of the "Hanjuku Mages," a tongue-in-cheek reference to the Black Mages.

Yeah, I know what you're thinking. What the heck? Where did this soundtrack come from, and furthermore, who would ever want it? Allow me to answer your questions.

When Hanjuku Hero 4 -The 7 Heroes- was released in Japan, there was a "Limited Edition" release (no surprises there) that came with a two-disc soundtrack and an insert manual giving all the detailed credits to the "Hanjuku Mages", a pseudo-Black-Mages band that would excel at making parody themes of old Final Fantasy (and SaGa) tunes.

The two disc set starts with a new (updated lyrics) version of the "Fight! Hanjuku Hero" first found on Hanjuku Hero VS. 3D. This song is a humorous classic, and it's still good. The next nine tracks are songs that have appeared in other Hanjuku Hero games, and are "classic" tunes that don't really change much. Silly and simple synth is the key in these songs. Personally, I don't like them. The "Hondara Egg" song is the original version that gets arranged many times on this soundtrack: the song itself is only 30 seconds long, but the different versions are (again) fun and silly. Silliness is the key to this entire soundtrack.

Disc 1, track 11 makes a musical reference to the Romancing SaGa opening theme, and is the first really "respectable" song musically on the album. Good work, Kenji Ito!

Some classic FF tunes you'll hear rearranged include Matoya's Cave, Mist Dungeon, Crystal Cave, and OtherWorld. Among these, my favorite arrangement is the "Xylophone Mist Dungeon." Ai Yamashita does a great job adding a whole new section to the song, while retaining the original parts of the song and making the song less mysterious and more bouncy. I found the OtherWorld arrangement ("We Are the World") to be absolutely hilarious. For those of you that don't know, "yon" means the number four in Japanese. That's about all you need to know for that joke song. Another joke song is the Gaia Symphonia, taking some classic Beethoven work and adding some silly lyrics about Hanjuku Hero. Yeah, it's silly. Silly silly silly. That's all this soundtrack is, really.

Most of the new and original songs are pretty boring: I sampled Mizuta's "Hidden Research" to give you an idea of what these songs are like. I liked "4 Rice Rivers", but this was an exception and not a rule. As a rule, I didn't like most of the other songs.

So, among these 43 tracks you'll find a few interesting arrangements to classic FF tunes, some funny vocal tracks, and then otherwise a very mediocre score. There's a reason why this album didn't get an official print. Don't worry about hunting it down: just enjoy the samples and the knowledge with which I have now provided you.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann


Twitch Schedule & Status

Dragon Quest Builders
Sunday, April 22 • 10am PST/1pm EST

Mondays • 6pm PST/9pm EST

Tuesdays • 12pm PST/3pm EST

MS Saga: A New Dawn
Thursdays • 3pm PST/6pm EST

Fridays • 3pm PST/6pm EST

Persona 4 Golden
Tues-Wed-Thu • 7pm PST/10pm EST
Saturdays • 5pm PST/8pm EST

Retro Encounter 132

Retro Encounter 132

Healer's Quest Review

Healer's Quest

Gone Fireflies Review

Gone Fireflies

Random Encounter 142

Random Encounter 142

Hylian Highlights: Celebrating The Legend of Zelda

Hylian Highlights: Celebrating The Legend of Zelda

Special Feature