- RPGFan Music - Glory of Heracles ~ Greece Reminiscences


Glory of Heracles ~ Greece Reminiscences

[back cover]
Catalog Number: DC-0126
Released On: October 21, 1994
Composed By: Data East Sound Team, Shogo Sakai, Seiichi Hamada, Hiroaki Yoshida
Arranged By: Data East Sound Team
Published By: Data East
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 1 CD

From "Glory of Heracles IV ~Gift of the Gods~"
01 - Faraway Atlantis
02 - Endless Hope ~ The Beginning of the Journey
03 - Memories of Atlantis
04 - Attack
05 - Defeat
06 - Beyond the Horizon
07 - Battle with Monsters
08 - Investigation
09 - Encounter
10 - Deep Feelings
11 - Torn Feelings
12 - Traveling the Great Ocean
13 - Where the Sand Goes
14 - An Invitation from the Past
15 - Evening Sun
16 - Resonating Power
17 - Twilight Investigation
18 - Dwelling of the King of Death
19 - A New Time
20 - Destroyed City
21 - At Work...Dance
22 - The Wings of Pegasus
23 - The Truth
24 - Temporary Rest
25 - At the End of the Journey
From "Glory of Heracles III ~Silence of the Gods~"
26 - To Those Who Have Courage ~ Gaia
27 - Daily Rest
28 - Where Time is Lost
29 - City of Fragrant Olives
30 - Visitors From Another World
31 - Former Glory
32 - People of the Oasis
33 - Anguish of Atlas
34 - A Sigh of the Dead
From "Glory of Heracles II ~Titan's Downfall~"
35 - Wind in the Wilderness (SFC Sound Source)
36 - Across the Ocean (FC Sound Source & Synthesizer)
37 - All Are in a Myth
Total Time:

Glory of Heracles was Data East's only significant RPG series. They released four games in the series (2 NES, 2 SNES), as well as one Game Boy spin-off. None of these games came to Japan. After Data East went bankrupt in 2003, a developer named Paon picked up the rights to the series, and they recently created a DS title in the series, which will be the first time the series sees the light of day in North America.

An interesting bit of trivia is that the games' scenarios (all but the first game) were written by Kazushige Nojima, who also did scenario writing on many Sony-era Final Fantasy titles, starting with Final Fantasy VII. The Glory of Heracles games also play very similarly to the Dragon Quest series, and thus, there is a small but fervent following of this series in Japan to this day.

All of this helps make the promotional "Greece Reminiscences" soundtrack a pricey little item. This soundtrack was given away as a bonus item for people who bought special copies of Glory of Heracles IV for the Super Famicom: hence the Glory of Heracles IV logo on the soundtrack's front cover. It contains mostly (synth) arranged music from IV, III, and II (in that order). Some of the OST versions from IV and II appear on the soundtrack (the last two tracks, I know for certain, are from the Glory of Heracles II soundtrack). III never had a soundtrack published on its own, so this is the only place you can go to find music from III.

The soundtrack itself is a fantastic collection of music. Though, I must say, I am confused by the difference in sound quality. There is a slight upgrade in sound quality between the Glory of Heracles IV tracks on this album, and those on the OST released by Pony Canyon. Perhaps these are the original MIDI/sequenced versions before being compressed into Super Famicom chiptunes?

The only thing I really wish this promotional album had is music from the first Glory of Heracles, as well as the Game Boy soundtrack. But I'm complaining far too late (about 15 years too late) for anyone to care. Data East, as a company, is long gone, and this rare album has a market value of 50 to 100 dollars, though most buying and selling of this album takes place within Japan. Check out the audio samples though; you may find that you too will enjoy this tapestry of sounds. Japanese composers writing in a style they believe to be ancient Greek/Mediterranean is a truly enjoyable experience.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, July 1
TBA • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Star Ocean: Second Evolution • 2:30pm PDT/5:30pm EDT
Ys VIII: Lacrimosa of Dana • 5:30pm PDT/8:30pm EDT

Alundra • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT
Ys VIII: Lacrimosa of Dana • 5:30pm PDT/8:30pm EDT

Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep • 2:30pm PDT/5:30pm EDT
Ys VIII: Lacrimosa of Dana • 5:30pm PDT/8:30pm EDT

Final Fantasy IX • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
The Legend of Heroes: Trails of Cold Steel (Speedrun) • 6pm PDT/9pm EDT

Ys VIII: Lacrimosa of Dana • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

Our Favorite Features: Part Three ~ An RPGFan 20th Anniversary Feature

Our Favorite Features: Part Three

20th Anniversary Feature
Dragon Quest XI Preview

Dragon Quest XI

Little Dragons Café Hands-On Preview

Little Dragons Café

Hands-On Preview
Shadows: Awakening Preview

Shadows: Awakening

Cyberpunk 2077 Preview

Cyberpunk 2077