Tamamayu Monogatari 2 OST
Catalog Number: ABCA-82
Released On: October 30, 2001
Composed By: Kimitaka Matsumae
Arranged By: Kimitaka Matsumae
Published By: Absord Music Japan
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 1 CD
Buy this CD from Otaku

01 - Seed of Commandment
02 - A Tiny Memory
03 - Prelude
04 - Faerie Cocoon
05 - Legend
06 - Blessing
07 - Birth
08 - Resurrection
09 - Man of Valor
10 - The Hunter's Proof
11 - Merchant
12 - Negotiations
13 - Door
14 - Heeeya!
15 - Servant of the Forest
16 - Traveler
17 - Enlightenment
18 - Uneasiness
19 - Gatekeeper
20 - Conflict
21 - Wish
22 - Egg
23 - Commandment
24 - Decision
25 - Mimicry
26 - Woodsman
27 - The One Who Hunts the Dark
28 - Judgmental Truth
29 - Elrym's Divine Protection
30 - Gem
31 - Chord of Darkness ~ Summoning
32 - Awakening
33 - Hope
34 - Disciple of Darkness
35 - Dark Vow
36 - Holy Ground
37 - Reunion
38 - Disciple
39 - Eternal Repose
40 - Trial
41 - Stray
42 - Sacrifice
43 - Purification
44 - Will and Testament
45 - Holy Gronds ~A New Legend~
46 - Pride of the Hunter
47 - Tenka Musou -Peerless-
48 - White and Black
Total Time:
As with most soundtracks I buy, I had never played Jade Cocoon and thus had to base my opinion of its music on the merits alone. So, when I picked up the Tamamayu Monogatari OST (Jade Cocoon in the US), I listened intently to the melodies, and I found something there that was magical and enjoyable. With hopes that Tamamayu Monogatari 2 (Jade Cocoon 2) would provide much the same, especially since Kimitaka Matsumae returned for the composing duties, I was very much looking forward to the music in this second installment of the game series. And after experiencing what was offered, I have to admit that I was mildly disappointed. I'd expected that the music would inherit the creativeness of the first, and wholly, it does not.

Now, I'm not saying that a composer should not try to compose for different styles, because I know that when one does not experiment to some extent the music tends to become stale and monotonous. However, when a composer does stray from what he excels at, the end result should at least try to be something exceptional. Unfortunately, in the case here, most of Matsumae's compositions are simply put unremarkable. I can't say that they're altogether bad, but they're just not on the same level as those from the first game.

It actually took me awhile to pinpoint exactly what was missing from the music to this sequel, but when I narrowed it down I realized it was the absence of the moody, mystical undertones that made the first so memorable. There's just not enough character to the music to keep me interested. Perhaps the brevity of the tracks, which does not allow you to become very familiar with most of the tracks, is to blame. However, if a piece is truly outstanding, track length should not impact the listener's appreciation for the composition.

I did find it interesting, though, how Matsumae incorporated futuristic-sounding samples in some of the compositions. Tracks such as "Faerie Cocoon" and "Resurrection" sound similar to something you might hear from Phantasy Star Online. It was also nice to hear the "Main Theme" of Tamamayu Monogatari pop up again in a few pieces. But unfortunately, the good tracks, which on a whole are mostly average, are few and far between.

When it comes down to it, I can only recommend this album to those who have played the game and are familiar with the music. Anyone else may find themselves getting bored with it, especially if you're a fan of the first game's OST. For those of you who are still interested, though, it's available through Otaku for only $25.

Reviewed by: Lucy Rzeminski


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, May 27
Final Fantasy XIV: Patch 4.3 • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

TBA • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Star Ocean: First Departure • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Ys: The Ark of Napishtim • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Alundra • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT
Ys: The Ark of Napishtim • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

MS Saga: A New Dawn • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Ys: The Ark of Napishtim • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

TBA • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Guild Wars 2 • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Ys: The Ark of Napishtim • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

Ciel nosurge OST ~Reception Records of Sound and the World Sec.1~ Review

Ciel nosurge OST ~Reception Records of Sound and the World Sec.1~

Retro Encounter 137

Retro Encounter 137

Detective Pikachu Review

Detective Pikachu

Fantasy XV Windows Edition Review

Final Fantasy XV Windows Edition

This is Your Story: RPGFan Reader Tales ~ An RPGFan 20th Anniversary Feature

This is Your Story: RPGFan Reader Tales

20th Anniversary Feature