Knights in the Nightmare: Symphony of Souls

[back cover]
Catalog Number: N/A
Released On: June 2, 2009
Composed By: Shigeki Hayashi
Arranged By: Shigeki Hayashi
Published By: Atlus
Recorded At: N/A
Format: 1 CD

01 - The Approaching Nightmare
02 - Knights in the Nightmare
03 - Gleivnir Kingdom
04 - Echoes Past
05 - Confrontation
06 - Hymnal of the Lost
07 - Call of the Moon
08 - Angel of Pride
09 - Angel of Hubris
10 - Judgement
11 - Cursed Knight
12 - King of Beasts
13 - Battle at the Gate
14 - Angel of Blinding Darkness
15 - Angel of Blinding Light
16 - The Terror Below
17 - Madman's Duel
18 - Duty on High
19 - Live for Vengeance
20 - Right the Wrong
21 - Wrong the Right
22 - Immortal Damnation
23 - Desperate Ambush
24 - Cry of the Innocent
25 - The Faithful One
26 - Ultima Ratio Regum
27 - Lord of the Underworld
28 - Lord of Oblivion
29 - The Bitter End
30 - Epilogue - The Nightmare Comes -
31 - Wings of Chaos
32 - A Valkyrie's Determination
33 - Ode to Destruction
34 - The Door to Heaven
35 - The Honorable End
36 - Knights of Valor
37 - Epilogue - The Nightmare Fades -
38 - Hidden Warrior's Knowledge
39 - Ep. 1, 2, 4 Fantasia
Total Time:

The two disc, complete OST for Knights in the Nightmare was published by Five Records last year. I think it was a little too much for me. The sheer amount of music was overwhelming, and there was a heck of a lot of "filler" music, particularly on disc one. So, for the first time ever, I'm endorsing a truncated soundtrack release over the full.

If you pick up Knights in the Nightmare from Atlus USA, you may well receive some "Atlus spoils" alongside. One bonus is a beautiful artbook. The other is this one disc soundtrack. It takes the best tracks from the game (mostly the battle themes from disc two, though some of the good music from disc one also appears).

Also, Atlus, "I see what you did there!" Note the names of the tracks. If you compare them to the Japanese tracklist, you may get a little confused. Basically, this is a "spoiler-free" tracklist. They don't mention anything about fighting Pische or Zolgonark in this tracklist. Instead, entirely new (and generic) names were picked for theme songs. Well, some of the names were clever.

In any case, Shigeki Hayashi's best tracks are found here. All of the really memorable battle themes are here, as are the better tunes from the repeated menu/event music that you hear so much throughout the game. Considering the cost of importing a soundtrack these days, you're really better off just picking up the game and soundtrack combo from Atlus USA instead of importing the two disc OST. That's my opinion on the matter.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, May 27
Final Fantasy XIV: Patch 4.3 • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Super Mario RPG • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Star Ocean: First Departure • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Ys: Memories of Celceta • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Alundra • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT
Ys: Memories of Celceta • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

MS Saga: A New Dawn • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Ys: Memories of Celceta • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Earthbound • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Guild Wars 2 • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Ys: Memories of Celceta • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

Ciel nosurge OST ~Reception Records of Sound and the World Sec.1~ Review

Ciel nosurge OST ~Reception Records of Sound and the World Sec.1~

Retro Encounter 137

Retro Encounter 137

Detective Pikachu Review

Detective Pikachu

Fantasy XV Windows Edition Review

Final Fantasy XV Windows Edition

This is Your Story: RPGFan Reader Tales ~ An RPGFan 20th Anniversary Feature

This is Your Story: RPGFan Reader Tales

20th Anniversary Feature