L2 Love × Loop OST
Catalog Number: MDMACD-2
Released On: September 26, 2009
Composed By: Yuki Sugiura
Arranged By: Heinrich von Ofterdingen
Published By: Muzzle Duzzle Musik Allerlei
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 1 CD
Buy this CD from Play-Asia

01 - Eli, lama asabthani? ~ My Lord, Why Have You Forsaken Me?
02 - Frontispiece
03 - Quiet
04 - Disturbance
05 - Reminiscence
06 - Village
07 - Impatience
08 - Chains
09 - Raid
10 - Intrusion
11 - Battle
12 - Desperate Defense
13 - Ruins
14 - Game
15 - Tea Harvesting
16 - Investigation
17 - Truth
18 - The O
19 - Passionate Love
20 - Intermission
21 - Status Elevation
22 - Shop
23 - Merchant
24 - Memory
25 - Magic Trick
26 - There's Light! Something's Calling, But From Where?
27 - Hard Shell
28 - Mother's Voice
29 - Thinker
30 - Toy
31 - Here
32 - Beautiful World -Panta Rhei.-
33 - Triumphal Return
34 - Demise
35 - L2 -Leidenschaft, die Leiden schafft-
36 - Beatitudes
Total Time:

L2 is one of many games on Idea Factory's "Otomate" label for graphic adventures. The game's concept and character art looks supremely interesting, but the real blessing here is that the soundtrack was done by Yuki Sugiura and his band, Heinrich von Ofterdingen. The opening track, "eli lama asabthani" has a very intentionally religious meaning behind it. Also rendered "eloi eloi lama sabacthani," this is the Aramaic phrase believed to be uttered by Jesus as he was dying on the cross, also found written by David in Hebrew hundreds of years before in Psalm 22: "My Lord, My Lord, why have you forsaken me?" So we have the goth undertones of religious allusion mixed with a dark rock sound. That should help give you an idea of what you're in for with the opening track and, indeed, the entire OST.

Not that the soundtrack is a big goth rock fest, or even entirely in a minor key (though most of it is minor). There's a lot of ambient/mood music across this soundtrack. But it's not bland. It's not vanilla. There's something in every track that gives a little bit of spice for your ears. And the faster tracks, the intense tracks? How do I describe it? Take a listen to track 12. Electric guitar is present of course. And two forms of percussion are present: the standard trap set, as well as a looped synth percussion built on a keyboard and/or tracking software.

If you wanna hear some cool ultra-synth groove pieces, stuff that reminds me of Shoji Meguro's "chill" tracks on the Persona titles, check out track 16. This is one of many examples of Sugiura's diverse compositional skills.

You'll also find some obligatory "Asian ethnic" tracks on here. Track 23, for example, sports tabla drums and a sitar. It also has hand claps on 2 and 4, so it's still a dance track, to be sure.

All in all, this is a wonderfully reflective bit of music. Seriously, the image that comes to mind is looking into a dark but clear pool of water. It's not necessarily a happy or fulfilling experience, but it is honest and unclouded. There are "filler tracks" on this 36 track OST, as is to be expected. But there's also a lot of great music, some of it rivaling the great Takeshi Abo from KID (Memories Off / Infinity series). Definitely a soundtrack worth picking up.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, June 24
The Misadventures of Tron Bonne • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Star Ocean: Second Evolution • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Ys VIII: Lacrimosa of Dana • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Alundra • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT
Ys VIII: Lacrimosa of Dana • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Ys VIII: Lacrimosa of Dana • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Detroit: Become Human • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Guild Wars 2 • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Ys VIII: Lacrimosa of Dana • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

Little Dragons Café Hands-On Preview

Little Dragons Café

Hands-On Preview
Shadows: Awakening Preview

Shadows: Awakening

Cyberpunk 2077 Preview

Cyberpunk 2077

Retro Encounter 141

Retro Encounter 141

Kingdom Hearts III Hands-On Preview

Kingdom Hearts III

Hands-On Preview