RPGFan Discord Server

Langrisser III OST
Catalog Number: POCX-1033
Released On: September 26, 1996
Composed By: Hiroshi Fujioka, Hiroshi Iizuka, Noboru Iwata, Hiroaki Shibata, Noriyuki Iwadare
Arranged By: Hiroshi Fujioka, Hiroshi Iizuka, Noboru Iwata, Hiroaki Shibata, Tomohiro Endo
Published By: Polygram
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 1 CD

01 - To Tomorrow (Short Version)
02 - Main Theme
03 - Ruin's Theme
04 - Jessica's Theme
05 - Sophia's Theme
06 - Tiaris's Theme
07 - Liffany's Theme
08 - Luna's Theme
09 - Flaire's Theme
10 - NPC Theme A
11 - NPC Theme B
12 - Artemueller's Theme
13 - Dark Knight's Theme
14 - Barrell's Theme
15 - Velzeria Main Character's Theme
16 - Velzeria's Theme
17 - Shika's Theme
18 - Federation Main Character's Theme
19 - Federation Character's Theme
20 - Lovin' You
21 - Main Theme
22 - Menu Before Game
23 - Federation Theme
24 - Velzeria's Theme
25 - Monster Army
26 - Shika's Theme
27 - NPC Theme A
28 - Time Up
29 - Holy BGM
30 - Salvation
31 - Reinforcement Squad
32 - Before Departure...
33 - The Song of Unrighteousness
34 - The Song of Balance
35 - The Song of Correctness
36 - The Song of Righteousness
37 - The Final Song
38 - Dark Knight Requiem
39 - Sophia Requiem
40 - Flaire Requiem
41 - Epilogue
42 - Scenario Clear BGM
43 - Ending
Total Time:

A long story behind this OST...And my experience with Langrisser in general. Back way before I joined RPGFan, I had a personal site called "The Monkey's Nest Gaming Section" (which is actually how I got hired here). I had sections for different series' of games. After beating Langrisser II's ROM for Genesis, I decided that Langrisser ruled. Now, I had a MIDI file on each page of my site, but I couldn't find one for Langrisser. Well, eventually I did. But I never knew what it was from, all I knew is that I REALLY liked it.

Years later, about a month before this review was written, someone offered to sell me the Langrisser III OST for a cheap $25, I was like "SWEET DEAL!" and bought it. Well, I found my MIDI track on this CD. It ended up being...a vocal track! That's right, track 20, the ending vocal track, happened to be my favorite Langrisser song of all time! WOO HOO!

With that being said, that song alone was reason enough for me to purchase this OST. The opening vocal is also good. As for the rest of the tracks, I'm not THAT fond of them, though some of the less "loud" tracks are pretty darn cool. I would have to say that a lot of the last-few-level tracks are sweet. However, surprisingly enough, it ends up that Iwadare did very few of these tracks...it seems some sort of sound team of relatively unknown composers did the majority of this soundtrack. Even so, the tracks sound similar to previous Langrisser OSTs, which were primarily Iwadare compositions.

With all Langrisser soundtracks being hard finds, the only way to get this OST is to check the standard auction sites. If you're a big Iwadare or Langrisser fan, this CD is right up your alley. Check out the sample tracks (ESPECIALLY 1 and 20, the vocals) because they are simply amazing.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann


Twitch Schedule & Status

Tales of the Abyss
Sunday, March 18 • 10am PST/1pm EST

On Break
Mondays • 6pm PST/9pm EST

Tuesdays • 12pm PST/3pm EST

MS Saga: A New Dawn
Thursdays • 3pm PST/6pm EST

Secret of Mana Remake
Fridays • 3pm PST/6pm EST

Tales of Vesperia
Tues-Wed-Thu • 7pm PST/10pm EST
Saturdays • 5pm PST/8pm EST

Featured Content
Retro Encounter 127
Retro Encounter 127
Random Encounter 140
Random Encounter 140
Secret of Mana Review
Secret of Mana
Ni no Kuni II: Revenant Kingdom Hands-On Preview
Ni no Kuni II: Revenant Kingdom
Hands-On Preview
Retro Encounter 126
Retro Encounter 126
Yakuza 6: The Song of Life Review
Yakuza 6: The Song of Life