The Legend of Heroes IV MIDI Special

[back cover]
Catalog Number: KICA-1186/7
Released On: September 5, 1996
Composed By: Sound Team JDK
Arranged By: Sound Team JDK
Published By: King Records
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 2 CDs
Buy this CD from Game Music Online

Disc One
01 - A Tear of Vermillion ~Memoria~
02 - A Tear of Vermillion
03 - Prayer
04 - The Heretic's Attack
05 - Cabin in Sight
06 - Leaving the Nest
07 - Traveling on the Road of Dreams
08 - When Will You Return?
09 - Stepping Lightly
10 - It's Over!
11 - Phildin's Capital
12 - Phildin's Castle
13 - Underground Waterway
14 - Mining Station
15 - Down in the Den of Darkness
16 - Lambada Labyrinth
17 - A Busy Street Corner
18 - Benecia Convent
19 - Through the Forest
20 - Primal Praise
21 - City of Iron ~Gia~
22 - Frozen Village
23 - Hold Me!
24 - High-Spirited Jason
25 - Rhythm of the Sea Breeze
26 - On the Ocean Wind
27 - A Tear of Vermillion ~Darling Emille~
28 - The Holy City
29 - Grateful Tomorrow
Total Time:

Disc Two
01 - Lunay's Wish
02 - Run, Avin!!
03 - Frozen Over
04 - Seeking the Truth
05 - Holding Back!
06 - Inheritance of the Ancients
07 - Other Regrets
08 - Sullied Spirits
09 - Haunted Temple
10 - To the Finish
11 - Rone's Thoughts
12 - Undersea Cave
13 - Sealed Earth
14 - Plane of Magma
15 - Gaps in Space and Time
16 - Okutum Shrine
17 - The Great Priest, Barias
18 - Okutum's Dream
19 - My Name is Beldus
20 - The End of Battle
21 - Avin's Determination
22 - Life's Blood
23 - And Afterwards
24 - A Tear of Vermillion ~The Smiling Faces of Friends~
25 - Journey Towards Hope ~Light~
Total Time:

You always feel a little guilty when you review an album to a game you've never played. Oh sure, you can do it, but you still get that feeling in the gut that you aren't doing the soundtrack true justice. It's always that the arrangement is a little off, or the balance is wrong, or that you were just plain expecting something else. This is more or less the mindset I came into when I first began listening to the Legend of Heroes IV MIDI Special. It is, however, most definitely not the one I came away with, as I was soon surprised at just how good the music here is; not that it doesn't suffer from the MIDI nature of it, but you knew about that from the beginning, right?

One of the main complaints I had about both the Legend of Heroes III and V albums were their balance of songs. Essentially, that I was going through droves after droves of slow, sappy stuff without anything to knock me back awake again. Not the case with this album, which has songs strategically placed to avoid just that. Oh sure, there's lots of sappy stuff, but you also have songs like "Stepping Lightly" and "Mining Station" to take you by the important bits and open your ears back up. While I won't say that the balance has been totally corrected, as the second disc of the album is still better put together, at least it won't bore you.

As far as the tracks themselves go, there's a few that hearken to other games and genres. "City of Iron ~Gia~" is especially notorious for this as it is just so very much like Wild Arms and in a good way. This isn't a weakness of the album at all, though, and I'd say it's in fact one of its strengths. Mostly, however, the music is uniquely Falcom in their prime. The first disc features some of their best plucky, sweet, and at times dark material. "On the Ocean Wind" and "The Holy City" are excellent tracks, the latter of which has its melody recycled for the latter part of the album.

However, as good as the first disc is, the second one is much better. It starts inauspiciously enough, a simple MIDI organ piece by the name of "Lunay's Wish." It's a decent track, though it doesn't promise the true excellence that's about to come. That duty falls to the next track, "Run, Avin!!" Personally, I love this track to death. Despite any MIDI instruments, it rocks along in all of its slightly-mysterious glory like there's nothing in its way at all. Two tracks later and we hit "Seeking the Truth," featuring a return of the whistle from "City of Iron" and an absolutely wonderful melody that possible one ups "Run, Avin!!" The disc is not without its sad melodies, of course, with "Other Regrets" making a beautiful entry. You just have to love well-done piano solos.

Going through more tracks, we come to my favorite one on the album, "Sealed Earth." Using the melody from "The Holy City" and putting it to, oddly enough, an electronica style, the tune again ignores its MIDI nature and goes straight for the ears with splendid results. It's somewhat reminiscent of Mega Man, yes, but that changes somewhat when the song hits its second section near the end of the track. The power of this track, though, is heavily challenged by "Okutum's Dream," which takes "The Holy City" and "Sealed Earth" and sets them to what I'm guessing is a battle. And trust me, is it ever well-done. It's songs like these that bring the second disc over and above not only the first disc of this album, but many other Legend of Heroes albums period. The track after this is also excellent, though in a completely different way, as it's more gothic. Honestly, many of the tracks nearing the end of the second disc are all wonderful, and which ones you'll like most depend mainly on the listener. After this, though, the album begins to wind down. While still entertaining, it lacks a little in emotional power compared to the rest of the second disc. Still, good stuff for the most part.

On a whole, I'd say this album is really quite nice when compared to other MIDI soundtracks. A non-MIDI album would probably blow it away, but the fact that the tracks here can stand on their own is testament to their strong compositions. As with all MIDI albums, I can really only recommend this to big Legend of Heroes devotees, but if you come across this album or tracks from it, give it a bit of your time for a listen. You might be pleasantly surprised, even if you haven't played the game.

Reviewed by: Derek Strange


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, July 22
TBA • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Star Ocean: Second Evolution • 2:30pm PDT/5:30pm EDT
Lunar 2: Eternal Blue Complete • 5:30pm PDT/8:30pm EDT

Octopath Traveler • 5:30pm PDT/8:30pm EDT

Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep • 2:30pm PDT/5:30pm EDT
Octopath Traveler • 5:30pm PDT/8:30pm EDT

Final Fantasy IX • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
The Legend of Heroes: Trails of Cold Steel (Speedrun) • 6pm PDT/9pm EDT

Octopath Traveler • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

Corpse Party: Haunting Melodies Review

Corpse Party: Haunting Melodies

Retro Encounter 145

Retro Encounter 145

Shining Resonance Refrain Review

Shining Resonance Refrain

Detroit: Become Human Review

Detroit: Become Human

Retro Encounter Final Thoughts ~ Lunar: The Silver Star

Retro Encounter Final Thoughts ~ Lunar: The Silver Star